Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weather Picture Book
A great pocket guide for those who like to get out and about in all weathers. I'm a biker and like to know whether to take my waterproofs and thermal gloves or if I can wear a lighter jacket etc. Hence my fascination with weather and predicting it's course.
This book has some lovely photos of typical clouds for particular weather formations. They're...
Published on 22 Nov. 2005 by Ms. S. Gyseman

versus
85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You need other books to make sense of this
I found this book interesting but, for me, flawed in several respects. The book contains some very brief information on cold, warm and occluded fronts - what they mean and how they behave. It also gives you a very handy cross section of a front, and shows you where the cloud formations you can see pictured in the book are likely to occur in the front.
But really...
Published on 15 Jan. 2003 by Nigel Collier


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You need other books to make sense of this, 15 Jan. 2003
By 
Nigel Collier (Hull) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book interesting but, for me, flawed in several respects. The book contains some very brief information on cold, warm and occluded fronts - what they mean and how they behave. It also gives you a very handy cross section of a front, and shows you where the cloud formations you can see pictured in the book are likely to occur in the front.
But really any background information which put the cloud photos into context ends there. Unless you know a reasonable amount about how weather 'works' and interrelates, this book ain't going to help you much. To get the most out of this book, you're going to have to have read a basic book on general 'weather' first. That's not really a criticism of this book which after all doesn't claim to be a general book on the weather, but just a warning that it's of limited use on its own...and that perhaps it would have been much better with just a little more contextual background information.
More seriously flawed are the photos themselves. You get a photo of, say, cirrus clouds and then a description of the clouds' telltale characteristics and what significance they have for the forthcoming weather: "notice the fallstreaks striating towards the west on the upper cirrostratus...". The trouble with this is there is a photo of a whole skyful of layer upon layer cloud...there is absolutely no indication of which part of the picture the description is referring to, just some simple numbered circles on the photos would be useful so you knew which part of the sky the description is referring to. It's a little like giving someone a 1:25,000 scale map and telling them to look at the 'church with a spire'...there are dozens of 'em.
Finally, there's no indication at what time of the day, nor which direction the photos were taken which is fairly important.
I think in summary, using this book you'll be able to identify a cloud formation and even stab at a decent forecast from it...but crucially YOU WON'T KNOW WHY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weather Picture Book, 22 Nov. 2005
By 
Ms. S. Gyseman (Northampton, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great pocket guide for those who like to get out and about in all weathers. I'm a biker and like to know whether to take my waterproofs and thermal gloves or if I can wear a lighter jacket etc. Hence my fascination with weather and predicting it's course.
This book has some lovely photos of typical clouds for particular weather formations. They're quite useful for predicting how a day will turn out if the previous day end with certain clouds or if the wind is in a particular direction.
A recommended read for hill walkers, bikers, sailors and farmers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant review of instant weather, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Instant Weather Forecasting (Paperback)
Instant Weather is something I got having read the Kindle edition and missed the wonderful colour photographs Yes it's good and easy to follow if you don't mind going back to the keys at the beginning a few times but I made it to the end now it sits on my desk at home and has been useful so far and so far hasn't let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good my husband intends to take it sailing!, 20 Mar. 2010
By 
Kristin "I read so I don't kill people!" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instant Weather Forecasting (Paperback)
A good guide to the subject. There are many more comprehensive guides out there, but if you are a beginner, and just want to look up something similar to the sky at that moment in time, this book is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WYSIWYG, 14 Aug. 2002
By 
Olivia Blair "climatic_fanatic" (Aberfeldy) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Sounds like a con doesn't it? well it isn't. If you have a degree of meteorological nous then this book can help you forecast weather. Great pics and a simple process. This book may not allow you to tell your pal if her wedding is ok 7 days hence but it will demystify a lot of skies and greatly enhance your understanding of the weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars instant weather forecasting, 21 Jun. 2009
Perfect for beginner sailors like ourselves who are trying to understand weather forecasting. Good pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book. Clear explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Planning for Picnics, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why rely on the TV weather forecasts when you can do it yourself? See if you can beat the professionals with the help of this well-written and easy to understand guide to our fickle weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Instant weather, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present and appears to be very popular with the recipient
Bought as a present and appears to be very popular with the recipient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I should find it helpful but since I have had it the weather has been overcast since so I have not been able to put it to test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Instant Weather Forecasting
Instant Weather Forecasting by Alan Watts (Paperback - 18 Jun. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews