Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an absolutely amazing book, 17 Oct 2005
Fantastic book and surely the most indepth look at football kits ever. Every club in the 2005-06 Premiership is featured as this book analyses every home, away and third kit that they have sported since 1980. The classic kits are all here from Arsenal's infamous yellow "bruised banana shirt" to such unique kits as Blackburn's seldom seen purple away kit in 1999-00 and Bolton's centenary shirt worn for just the one match in 2002. Each kit is lovingly represented in full colour complete with sponsor, designer and year that the kit was worn. Also present for each kit is a list of some of the more memorable players and matches to have been associated with each kit. Its a football fans dream and 256 pages of pure magic. The only downside is that more teams arent present (fans of top flight mainstays such as Leeds, Southampton and Coventry ,who have been relegated in recent seasons, may feel hard done by at their team's abscence) but the book is hefty and comprehensive enough as it is to compensate for this small discrepency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb second volume. Hurry up and write volume 3!!!, 26 Jan 2007
By 
J. F. Ward "Napkeeper" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved volume 1. I wanted more. I wanted John Devlin to cover more teams. I wanted more football kit history and illustrations. But I didn't think it would happen. I thought I'd have to make do with that one fascinating, memory-jiggling book. Then I spotted volume 2!!! More teams. More kits and the stories behind them in the same beautifully depicted, page-turning format. Come on, John! Get volume 3 written and don't stop till you've completely covered every single team, domestic AND international. I'd buy them all. And if your publisher won't risk the 'lower' teams, then make a website. But really, I'd prefer more volumes on my bookshelf. Excellent. Both books brought back so many memories and it was great to see how the kits evolved through the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I see your true colours, shining through..., 3 Nov 2005
By 
Sickbobby (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Considering the importance football jersies in terms of its identity and its importance as a source of income for clubs, I'm surprised that this is the first comprehensive book there is covering the history of football shirts.
Authour John Devlin has done an awesome job covering the histories of each of the 2005/06 Premier League Clubs' home, away 3rd and European shirts since 1980.
We follow the simple beginnings of shirts which consisted of basic club colours, club badge and manufacturer's logo, witness the introduction of third party sponsors (go Commondore!), cringe at the "busy" designs of the early to mid 90's (where Umbro was the main culprit) to the current period with its uniform but technologically assisted designs.
Simple but effective computer images illustrate the shirts in question, which feature the names and logos of the clubs, manufacturers and sponsors, adding to the sense of authenticity and officialness. Little tidbits of knowledge (rumour was Umbro kept its large collar design in the 90's to appease Eric Cantona's fondness for turning up the collar!) and brief historical background (the key matches that the shirts were worn and which players wore it) round off the comprehensive effort of the book.
As a "designer, illustrator and huge football fan", Devlin successfully presents the importance of football shirts in terms of the identity for the club and its supporters, and its place in fashion and pop culture. One complaint that can be made is the absence of goalkeeper kits. Such an absence feels like a big chunk of football kit designs have been totally ignored.
Overall, this is a fantastic book for all football fans who have shed blood, sweat, tears and ridiculous amounts of money for their favourite club's football shirt. Put on your favourite kit and kiss your club's badge with pride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware - No Rangers or Celtic kits, 4 April 2007
By 
Colin McGhee "Magsman" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just received this book and contrary to the synopsis on the Amazon website there is no Rangers or Celtic kits. Apart from that it's a great book and I'd recommend buying both volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No top flight fan should be without this!, 5 Feb 2006
This book is brilliant - quite simply. From the painstaking research, the beautiful, easy to read layouts and of course the past twenty years kits of all the current Premiership big boys (to do a book on all 92 league clubs in this detail would make the thing about a foot thick!) I'm sure you all have a favourite replica from the past somewhere in your memory bank. With this you can relive the best (and worst) kit designs that your clubs' players have sported. Being a Man Utd fan It'd be remiss of me not to mention a certain Grey effort in the mid nineties, not only did it look awful, but United never won a single game whilst wearing it! (And yes that's the one that Sir Alex scrapped during the 6-3 pummeling against Southampton - (and did you know that United still shipped 3 goals in the second half without it!) But for every "eeeeurrrrrgggghhhhh!" there's a kit that may evoke sweet memories of glory, or just a design that you feel is really smart. Again the Treble winning kit of 1999 comes to mind there :) Oh and you can answer the long standing argument with this book - just how many kit changes have the clubs' fans forked out for over the past 20 years? And who is the worst culprit (It's NOT Man Utd!!) Actually according to the book, Liverpool have had more strip changes than anyone. Also in a nice touch, alternate versions and once off kits are featured too - such as Bolton Wanderers Centenery shirt that aired in only one Premiership game, and Charlton's centenery shirt from last year as well. My only gripe is that Keepers' kits are not shown - shame remembering the eye catching paint factory explosions our custodians have had to wear in the past (Ian Walker's lovely orange and blue deckchair outfit from Spurs' 96-97 season?)
Overall barring that, there is nothing negative about this book - though I do hope the author does at least attempt a follow up with other clubs included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars True Colours: Football Kits, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked reading this book on football kits ranging from the 1980's to the present day. This would be ideal reference for someone who collects football strips or other football memorabilia. My own criticism is on the non mention of Scottish, Irish and Welsh football teams so unless a book featuring these teams is due publication, perhaps the author can include these in future. 4 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Colours, 7 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Paul Robinson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic book,not only football kits but also snippets of history and information about the clubs and players.First class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Football Kit Enthusiasts shall not be disappointed., 30 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. D. J. Reid (Gillingham, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book, as I have always liked football replica kits. I only wished that kits from the lates 70's could have been included. My personal favourite from the 70's was the Manchester United Away shirt, with the 3 black stripes down the left hand side. They had a tracksuit top version too. I am actually a Sheffield Wednesday fan. Seen and bought volume 2. Can't wait for volume 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Watch Out For V2 published soon, 30 Jun 2006
By 
If you are dithering about buying this book - don't it is great. I can't add much about the format as it is covered pretty conclusively elsewhere on this page.

What I particulary like is that the socks are also featured - something that not a lot of books/websites do. A rear view of some kits would have been nice as not all kits are the same on the back! But that is a minor gripe.

I must comment on a fellow reviewers comment about the team with the most kits. The culprits are not Liverpool, Man Utd have about 8 more, as are featured in this book. It is clear he can't count as he also said that Man Utd let in 3 goals in the 2nd half of their infamous kit change match against Southampton. They did in fact lose 3-1 not 6-3.

Super book - get yourself one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Colours: Volumes I & II (Slipcased)
True Colours: Volumes I & II (Slipcased) by John Devlin (Hardcover - 31 Oct 2006)
Used & New from: 23.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews