Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars64
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
62
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2007
This is a fantastic little book not only because of the wealth of information about polymer clay but also as a creative arts book in its own right! There are so many good photographs, its well laid out with hardly any blank spaces yet full of concise easy to read instructions. There's as much information in this small book as many others, two or three times the size. Well done to the designers and publishers. If you are looking for one book on the subject buy this one. Its a great gift for someone who is at all artistic just to keep in their library.
0Comment|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2007
Well-presented and very comprehensive, I found so much useful information in this book. The photographs are clear, the instructions concise and the gallery work is enough to activate the greatest procrastinator. The author is generous with advice and tips, as well as including a short section on how to use the beads one makes. My only slight quibble would be to say fuller instruction on veneering with feathered patterns would be helpful. But that is minor; I am delighted I bought it. The sections on faux finishes alone are well worth having.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2007
This beautifully presented book gives all the information required to create eye-catching polymer clay jewellery. It is suitable for beginners, as the basics of working with polymer clay are covered, but it also contains many ideas for anyone with experience in this craft medium.

The style of the book allows for a great deal of information to be conveyed in the minimum of space, each page consisting of many small but very clear photos accompanied by pertinent text. Excellent step-by-step instructions show one how to colour, shape and decorate beads using a wide range of methods, and there is a whole chapter devoted to convincing faux techniques.

At the end of the book there are instructions for using the beads to make pieces of jewellery, some excellent tips on design and a gallery section with some inspirational pieces by other polymer clay jewellery makers, complementing the author's own superb work.

I particularly like the way the book allows plenty of scope for one's own ideas and imagination; by combining different elements of the methods covered, truly original and unique pieces of jewellery can be created.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
I have quite a collection of books on polymer clay now, but I think this one is one of the best I have.
There are sections on materials and techniques, faux effects and a gallery at the end. I think this is an excellent book crammed full of brilliant ideas- it covers so many subjects with detailed explanations and detailed pictures to match, as well as a list of tools and materials at the side.
I would highly recommend this book to anybody seriously interested in using a variety of techniques to make polymer clay jewellery, as it is rich in ideas and is a great source of inspiration.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
I highly recommend this book. It's clear and well laid out, with plenty of photos to illustrate every technique. It covers the process from start to finish, with sections for materials and equipment. It also tells you how to replicate the effects of various semi precious stones, wood, ivory etc. At the end is a section to advise on findings, stringing and generally making your beads into jewellery and includes a gallery of beautiful photos of polymer clay jewellery for inspiration.
As a newcomer to polymer clay though not to jewellery making I found this book was perfect. I believe that for a newcomer to both clay and jewellery making this book would be just as good. It makes no assumptions about the readers abilities but is far from simplistic.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2008
The other reviewers have already extolled the virtues of this beautiful book. Being a novice I was delighted to find that several techniques I tried out of the book turned out acceptably well. One small niggle is that I would have liked to have seen a section on creating complex canes such as flowers, butterflies etc.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
This is a beautiful little book. The projects are all very inspiring and well explained. There is a good introductory section describing the materials and techniques needed and also a section on what to do with the beads when you've made them. The best part though is the large section on faux techniques - how to make the malachite beads on the cover, for example, plus turquoise, coral, pearls and many others. I really don't feel the need to buy any more books before getting started - there is plenty of interest, information and inspiration in this one.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A fabulous book for beginners to advanced beautifully illustrated. The author takes you through the whole process of making some fantasticly different and unusual beads showing you step by step in pictures. She shows you how to create effects such as veined marble, wood, leather, coral, jade, ivory and bone to mention but a few and goes on to bringing the project together using different findings and tools. A gallery section at the back of the book shows what can be created with the stunning beads that you can make.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
I can not Express enough how WONDERFUL & INSPIRING this book is.

She (Carol Blackburn) shows how to start from the beginning taking you further to more advanced ways of using Polymer Clay to make Beautiful and Special Beads, in different Shapes, Colours & Textures.

What I liked as well was the FAUX techniques: Leather, Wood, Onyx, Veined Marble, Ivory and Bone, Coral, Mother-of-Pearl and so on.

Its a GEM, that you won't regret buying. I am sure you wont lent it to anyone, because this book is The One to go back to it for Help & Inspirations.

Enjoy it. ;-)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
Great book with clear instructions and beautiful photos but just to let crafters know the new book Making Polymer Clay Beads: Step-By-Step Techniques for Creating Beautiful Ornamental Beads by Carol Blackburn is exactly the same book only different publisher and cover. I know because I ended up buying both!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)