Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical guidance on the hard work of good content
Gerry has a blog with sensible views on web marketing and his new book "Killer Web Content" focuses precisely on the important feature of web sites. OK, there are a few basic hygiene factors for web sites such as page title and seeded related key words, but really the whole point is content and how it is delivered to meet the needs of the visitor to the page. He tells you...
Published on 12 Dec 2006 by P. O'Beirne Systems Ltd

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More killer and less filler please
I found this book to be quite poor. I bought it based on the recommendation of Amazon readers (most gave the book 5 stars). The problem I found was that the book talks about writing killer content (and not filler content), but the book itself is guilty of this as it contains loads of filler content and hardly any "killer" content (i.e. what I bought the book for in the...
Published on 12 Aug 2007 by cescob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best I've read for advice on web content that works, 3 Jan 2008
This review is from: Killer Web Content: Make the Sale, Deliver the Service, Build the Brand (Paperback)
There's a lot being written about writing for the web, but much of it isn't backed up by hard evidence. This book gives essential facts with real examples of what works and what doesn't - check out the aer lingus case study. Too many people seem to forget all they ever knew about marketing when faced with the technical possiblities of web sites. This book brings you right down to earth, and shows you how to focus on the customer and their needs. If everyone involved in making websites read this book, the world would be a better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Content Book is a Killer, 16 Jan 2007
By 
F. O'Byrne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Web Content: Make the Sale, Deliver the Service, Build the Brand (Paperback)
Gerry McGovern's book should be required reading for anyone even obliquely involved in content creation, production, editing or consumption. It delivers clear and concise advice in a no-nonsense format, complete with astute observations and examples. If you are in the content business then read this book. If you lay claim to be a website owner then read this book. If you want to create great web content then read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Web Content drives value for your business, 29 Dec 2007
By 
P. Shemilt "www.relevantandvalued.com" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Web Content: Make the Sale, Deliver the Service, Build the Brand (Paperback)
The premise of McGovern's simple, effective book is that there is value to be exploited for marketers who understand that 'the Web runs on content' and that it's a small percentage of this content that makes the biggest difference to achieving business goals. McGovern's mission is to convince us that time spent on developing quality, impactful content is a worthwhile investment. The analogy he uses is that we should treat content on the Web as 'a hidden asset, its gold', not as 'coal - a low-grade, low-cost commodity best published in bulk.' Put simply: Killer not Filler!
Killer Web Content is packed with infectious, memorable maxims, practical ideas and lessons that you'll commit to memory and find yourself quoting and applying frequently to day-to-day business challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mistakes we make in building web sites, 19 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Maurice Coleman (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Web Content: Make the Sale, Deliver the Service, Build the Brand (Paperback)
Every now and again you come upon a book which deserves repeated reading. This is one such book. In fact the first three chapters are a book in themselves. In Gerry's words these are real number one singles. They are so relevant to the work we undertake daily in writing and updating our sites. The focus on the customer is relentless - but I suppose this is not new. What is new is the vivid explanation of why precisely content matters - and how to make it sell for you.

This seems simple and it is. But it is not easy. Many good managers and web designers have tried and failed. That is why this book is essential reading and rereading for you and your staff. If you are going to make one investment in training this year buy your staff a copy of this book - by that I mean a copy for each staff member. Come back in a month's time and look at the state of the book - that will give a good idea of who has read it or merely glanced it. Relate this to the performance of these staff. Watch the improvements!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - can't recommend this highly enough!, 12 Jun 2007
By 
Yvonne O'neill (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Web Content: Make the Sale, Deliver the Service, Build the Brand (Paperback)
This book is by far the best book on web copywriting I've ever bought. It's very comprehensive, covering everything you need to know if you are involved in website copywriting. It's written and designed in a very reader-friendly style and is easy to follow. `Killer Web Content' is a virtual bible for anyone who needs to write web content. The book is suitable for those starting out or those more experienced web copywriters.

I've also read two of Gerry's other books 'Content Critical' and 'The Web Content Style Guide' which I would also recommend reading for anyone who needs to write for the web.

Basically, if you need to write web content and want to learn as much as possible in a handy, easy to follow guide, you need to buy 'Killer Web Content'!

Yvonne O'Neill, Cork, Ireland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top book on the subject, 10 July 2007
This review is from: Killer Web Content: Make the Sale, Deliver the Service, Build the Brand (Paperback)
I've read other books on the subject and this is easily the best. It is readable, thought provoking and I think, brilliant.

If you only read one book on Web Content then read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killer Web Content: Make the Sale, Deliver the Service, Build the Brand
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews