Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Field Guide for Galapagos
This book was invaluable on my recent trip to the Galapagos Islands. The photographs are very good and the book is easy to follow with good referencing throughout. The section on identifying the differences between the Darwin finches is particularly good.
The only annoying issue I have is that the book includes too many photos of birds which are classified as...
Published on 16 Feb 2009 by Bertie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing
Not one of the best field guides I have seen, although probably the best Galapagos guide. It is a bit disappointing that one of the 7 Lava Lizards is not illustrated, but there are many vagrant birds illustrated that have only been seen once. In addition, of the 10 Gecko species (3 introduced), only 2 are illustrated.
Published 8 days ago by Elinvar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Field Guide for Galapagos, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Bertie (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Birds, Mammals, and Reptiles of the Galapagos Islands: An Identification Guide (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
This book was invaluable on my recent trip to the Galapagos Islands. The photographs are very good and the book is easy to follow with good referencing throughout. The section on identifying the differences between the Darwin finches is particularly good.
The only annoying issue I have is that the book includes too many photos of birds which are classified as vagrant, recorded once. I've more chance of winning the lottery than seeing any of these!
Overall the book is highly recommended and would appeal most to birders with around 90 out of approx 160 pages devoted to birds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Galápagos wildlife guide you want, 5 Sep 2006
By 
Christopher J. Sharpe "Chris Sharpe" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds, Mammals, and Reptiles of the Galapagos Islands: An Identification Guide (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
Andy Swash (photographer) and Rob Still (computer design wizard) have conspired to produce the handiest and most authoritative guide to the wildlife of these enchanted islands. They have pioneered the use of computer enhanced photographs, which combine the advantage of a photograph as an accurate record of an individual, with the artists ability to stress those features that are representative of the species. In one pocket-sized, 168 page, full-colour photographic guide you have all you need to identify almost all of the archipelago's wildlife including every living species of bird, mammal and reptile.

This second edition differs from the first as follows:-

* it includes new species for the islands, such as Green Heron and Grey-headed Gull

* all range maps have been revised and updated

* the cetaceans section has been completely revamped

* a new section on "electronic media" is provided

* the species checklist has been brought right up to date

And since WILDGuides are a non-profit organisation which supports conservation throughout the world, you are helping ensure that the wildlife you enjoy today will still be there for others to enjoy tomorrow. Check out their other titles on Amazon.co.uk, all of which share the enhanced photography approach.

The perfect guide for the curious visitor and expert alike. Look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Galápagos guide you want, 30 Nov 2005
By 
Christopher J. Sharpe "Chris Sharpe" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Andy Swash (photographer) and Rob Still (computer design wizard) have conspired to produce the handiest and most authoritative guide to the wildlife of these enchanted islands. They have pioneered the use of computer enhanced photographs, which combine the advantage of a photograph as an accurate record of an individual, with the artists ability to stress those features that are representative of the species. In one pocket-sized, 168 page, full-colour photographic guide you have all you need to identify almost all of the archipelago's wildlife including every living species of bird, mammal and reptile.
And since WILDGuides are a non-profit organisation which supports conservation throughout the world, you are helping ensure that the wildlife you enjoy today will still be there for others to enjoy tomorrow. Check out their other titles on Amazon.co.uk, all of which share the enhanced photography approach.
The perfect guide for the curious visitor and expert alike. Look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds, Mammals, and Reptiles of the Galapagos Islands: An Identification Guide (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
Not one of the best field guides I have seen, although probably the best Galapagos guide. It is a bit disappointing that one of the 7 Lava Lizards is not illustrated, but there are many vagrant birds illustrated that have only been seen once. In addition, of the 10 Gecko species (3 introduced), only 2 are illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book for Galapagos trip covers al widlife, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds, Mammals, and Reptiles of the Galapagos Islands: An Identification Guide (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
This book was recommended by the travel company I an going with to Galapagos and Ecuador. Expensive if the headline price is paid. Publishers are a well thought of company Christopher Helm but contents very disappointing.

Bird images I expected to have been made by the authors but appear to have been obtained and patched over unhelpful backgrounds from an image library. The endemics and vagrants should have been separated, images of the latter in some cases do not depict the juvenile plumage seen on birds reaching the islands.

Overall, seems 'padded out' with information not required. Useful compact size. Line drawings of the birds would have been better than the images. Indication of relative sizes of the birds is expected in a bird book to aid identification. Better than nothing but needs a root and branch review of the text and images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds, Mammals, and Reptiles of the Galapagos Islands: An Identification Guide (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
I am going to the Galapagos soon and needed a guide that was comprehensive but not too large or heavy. This is just the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birds mamals and reptiles of the galapaglos islands, 8 Mar 2013
By 
D. Bland (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds, Mammals, and Reptiles of the Galapagos Islands: An Identification Guide (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
Seems just what i needed, now to try it out on our visit there, at the end of May 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews