Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2009
Firstly I did not buy the book for myself but for my wife who is a great bird (and wildlife) enthusiast..
All I can say is that it has been read from cover to cover at least once & my wife is absolutley delighted with it.. I've lost count of the times I've seen it open so I guess it achieved its aims!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2008
A must for any birder who wants to find out a bit more about the birds of Britain. Very informative text and beautifully illustrated make this a highly recommended read.

Was this review helpful to you?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
This is the second book in a series which also includes 'Secret Lives of Garden Birds' and 'Secret Lives of Garden Wildlife', and is a difficult a book to review for the simple reason that it frequently alternates between the good and the bad.

There are 12 sections each featuring particular habitats for birds. The first half of each concerns a basic overview of the habitat and the animals that live therein. This bit is frankly quite boring and is basically a glorified list of the birds found in the area.

The second half of the sections are far more interesting. Three or four birds are chosen from each habitat, each having their own chapter focusing on an aspect of their lives unique to that species. This usually takes the form of migration, breeding or feeding behaviour and delivers detailed info in a light-hearted, enthusiastic and humorous fashion.

The layout of the text is not overly appealing and the photography is not of a particularly high standard. However these drawbacks are made up for by the artistry. Peter Partington is by far Britain's best avian artist and these drawings add more for the appreciation of the birds and understanding of their behaviour than any of the photos.

Overall this is a frustrating book. When it focuses on what it is supposed to be about it is fascinating and enjoyable, and the pages fly by. However the long habitat descriptions at the start of each section are hard-going and I found myself struggling to finish the book, which shouldn't have been the case.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 October 2006
Beautifully writen cameos of the private lives of the UK's birds. Dominic shares his passion and exposes the secrets. There isn't a birder in Britain that couldn't learn something new for this book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Very informative and entrataining read. It is narrated like a series of tales about different environments and what birds live in them. Their habits, food choices and species various attibutes togheter with other interesting facts are not presented in a scientific or indexed manner but in a light hearted conversational way. Great for entratainment and to get close to the subject in an informal way. Certainly a stimulation to go and find more formal material elsewhere if you are so inclined after an pleasant panoramic on lives of birds.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
The illustrations in this excellent book are absolutely beautiful and very skillfully executed. The text provides real eye openers with lots of unexpected information. Really recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
Absolutely fascinating and written in an accessible and easily readable way. It makes even the most common birds like wrens and dunock interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
This is a wonerful book to let us into the secrets about how birds behave. Wonerful for the expert as well as the novice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Wonderful illustrations in this book accompanied by informative and enjoyable bird information - would recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Beautiful book, very useful information, just what I needed. Thank you *****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)