Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best bird guide to East Africa's avifauna there is
There are four main field guides to East Africa's avifauna. The oldest, the Collins Guide to the Birds of East Africa, is annoyingly spartan with its pictures, forcing the reader to identify birds via the text. In any case, not all of East Africa's birds are illustrated. Bird distribution is described in the text, and not via more simple to use maps. It was with precisely...
Published on 29 Nov 2001 by Kim Geheb (daktari@source.co.ug)

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very quick despatch, damaged copy
Very quick despatch, unfortunately the so-called 'new' book had a bad oily mark across all the pages at the bottom and some pages stuck together as a result. The oil was inside the packaging too. I have had to reject this copy
Published 13 months ago by pangolin444


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best bird guide to East Africa's avifauna there is, 29 Nov 2001
There are four main field guides to East Africa's avifauna. The oldest, the Collins Guide to the Birds of East Africa, is annoyingly spartan with its pictures, forcing the reader to identify birds via the text. In any case, not all of East Africa's birds are illustrated. Bird distribution is described in the text, and not via more simple to use maps. It was with precisely these shortcomings in mind that Van Berlow set out to illustrate every bird in East Africa (in this case, Somalia, Uganda, Ethiopia, Kenya and Tanzania). His volume, The Birds of East Africa, does indeed contain a full set of plates, and provides extensive distribution maps. The pictures, however, are often small and difficult to discern, and the maps, all located in the back of the guide, accessible only via a rather complicated plate and species number system. The third contender, Zimmerman et al.'s excellent Birds of Kenya and Northern Tanzania falls short of requirement - in this case - because of its limited geographical range (through no fault of its own!). Another concern is the location of its distribution maps all placed in the text, often well away from the illustration of the bird. When standing in the field with a small and unremarkable avian in front of you, having to flick between illustration and distribution map is increadibly annoying, particularly when the bird then flies off.
Stevenson and Fanshaw's new volume is the fourth guidebook to enter this market and is by far the best. The illustrations are clear, distinct and beautifully detailed; distribution maps (covering Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi) are located alongside each illustration, as is a short and succinct description, so no faffing about between illustration and text. The volume's hard cover makes it an excellent companion on tough birding safaris. I could not recommend this volume more warmly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accuracy and ease of identification, 3 Dec 2002
By A Customer
I've bought several field guides to the birds of this region and this is by far and away the easiest to use for identifying your encounters on travels in East Africa. The plates are clear, with illustrations of male/female and immature variants. Also the description/narrative lies on the page facing the illustrations - this may sound obvious - but it isn't obvious to those who designed the page layout of the Collins field guide. The Collins has the plates on the centre pages and the narratives at the front and back of the book - this layout makes flicking through in the space of time your bird will sit still quite a challenge! Most of us don't have that kind of time, and would prefer to focus on the bird through our "bins", rather than keep our head in the book looking up several different page references.
I only have one criticism of this Stevenson & Fanshawe guide and that is that the goshawk illustrations somehow show the bird with v short legs, when the long legs are one of the key features you notice when you stumble across one.
I know this guide is more expensive than some of its competitors, but it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great leap forward, 19 Jan 2005
By 
This field guide is superb and an enormous improvement on the other guides of the area that fall short with poor illustrations, less extensive geographical coverage and/or inadequate text. Critically it brings together in one place excellent illustrations, good maps and most importantly very detailed text. I found the text carefully crafted enabling even members of some of the more difficult groups (e.g. bulbuls and allies) to be relatively easily identified with clear notes to key field marks. It is a pleasure to use for extended periods in the field. My only suggestion for improvement would be to add a few more reference points to the maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide for the region, 29 Oct 2007
By 
J. Groom (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds of East Africa: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
I own the previous edition of this book before it was published by Helm and Iam assuming that it is the same book (same cover!!)
I was inspired to write this review as I noticed that this book was not getting any love, compared to its nearest rival by Zimmerman. I used this book exclusively during 3 months travelling Kenya and Tanzania and though I did get to look at Zimmerman during this period I think this book is superior in a few small ways:
1. It has text and illustrations on opposites pages rather than a separate plates section. I realise that this is down to personal preference but when using a book as a field guide - having to flick back and forth from plates to text is a no-no for me!!!
2. The illustrations are better. Again subjective but I feel that they are more lifelike and vibrant.
3. It also covers Rwanda, Uganda and Burundi.
Needless to say this is a fantastic book and though Zimmerman is good, I would recommend this one - I certainly made lots of use of it. It was a constant companion and though quite big and heavy it was certainly robust enough to withstand intensive use in the field. This is possibly the 2nd best guide have owned and definately the best African guide I have seen (it also compares favourable with the Struik guides where they cover the same birds - the illustrations are much better in some cases).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best option if you're serious..., 16 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Birds of East Africa: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
It's a fairly weighty reference book to carry with you but then there are rather a lot of bird species in East Africa! Format is similar to many other best in market field guides: good quality drawn images with sex/juvenile variations, summary of identification, location/habitat and activity traits plus a thumbnail image of the region showing distribution overview. Just right amount of detail to make it a readily usable field guide before, during and after a trip. Going to East Africa and keen on birdlife? Has to be the second thing you pack after your binoculars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the field, 22 Dec 2008
By 
David Sewell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of East Africa: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
Others have already compared this book to the other East African field guides available, and I agree with them. It combines the high standard of illustrations of the old Collins guide (the same artist, Norman Arlott, was involved in both) with an excellent layout. In paperback version at least, it is sufficiently light enough to use in the field. We all seem to have plates that niggle us slightly, for me it is the birds with irridescent plumage, sunbirds and starlings, that don't seem quite right. Having said that, the illustrations are fine for identification which is, after all, the purpose of the book.

If you are heading to East Africa to watch birds, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review from the field, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Nicholas E. Ford "Plodderslot" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds of East Africa: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
We recently undertook a safari to Tanzania. Taking in the sights of Lake Manyara, Ngorogoro Crater & the Serengeti. We wanted a publication to identify the very varied birdlife we expected to see on our trip. It claims to contain details of 80% of almost 1300 species of the East African area, so this makes it a hefty but comprehensive tome. This proves to be both it's worth and its nuisance. On the negative, it is heavy so takes up most of your baggage allowance and if your not familiar with the types of birds, you can spend more time thumbing through the book rather than looking at the bird. But this is because it covers such a vast area. On the positive, it proved invaluable for identifying & confirming the variety of types. To be fair it was one of the first books to appear on the search and looked exactly want we wanted. There are books available specific to Tanzania, Collins do a good one, which may suit some who are just going to the one country. However, when there is a need to make detailed comparisons to positively identify species, this book was invaluable. My tip, if your a novice or going to one country, get something simple & specific like the Collins or get familiar with the layout of the book and the variety you will see, it will save you time in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your search is over..., 10 Jan 2008
By 
E. Jenner (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds of East Africa: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
This is the best field guide to the birds of East Africa. What more to say? Superb illustrations and succinct summaries have made this book invaluable for all my East African trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive but heavy, 9 Sep 2010
By 
M. Green (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of East Africa: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book for a safari holiday in Tanzania. At first I wasn't sure I had made the right choice. There were a daunting number of species included, and it was a bit big and heavy. I couldn't fit it into a jacket/waistcoat pocket like my usual European guides. But as the holiday developed it became a friend - something to flick through as you sat back after a drive, as well an occasional reference during the drive. Anyway since most of the time we were in a vehicle, the weight didn't matter that much. It had exactly the right balance of detail, and its comprehensiveness was a real asset. The identification notes are brief but very to the point and helpful. One of our drivers - and the keenest on bird identification - used a copy as his main reference..and the book became a resource for our whole group (well those interested in the birds!).

Apart from the size (too many species from rainforest, etc, cluttering things up), I had only minor niggles. Sometimes names don't match other usage (it has no "masked weaver" mentioned anywhere, though this bird turns up on bird lists - I think this is an alternative to "lesser masked weaver" in the book). Maps sometimes give too broad a distribution, (eg marking all of Tanzania red, when clearly this could not be the case because of habitat restrictions). Overall very pleased with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birds of East Africa - Stevenson, 11 Feb 2009
By 
WB Adams (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds of East Africa: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
Without doubt the best ornithological field guide for the East African region. It makes one wonder why it has taken so long for this to arrive on the market - I've been travelling there for 25 years. At least I won't have to take my southern African guides along anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birds of East Africa: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi (Helm Field Guides)
24.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews