Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy guide to wild flowers
We have looked at several guides to wild flowers and we find that to search by colour is a much quicker way to identify the particular flower you are looking for. This book has proved very useful to us and we bought another copy as a Christmas present for our friends.
Published on 31 Jan 2009 by R. Selmes

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wild flowers by colour
a very pretty book. beautiful illustrations. very little information. and i find the listing by common name unhelpful. (you find the latin name under common name in the index). if i had seen this book in real life before purchase i wouldn't have bought it.
Published on 20 Jun 2009 by pinnih


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy guide to wild flowers, 31 Jan 2009
By 
R. Selmes (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification (Paperback)
We have looked at several guides to wild flowers and we find that to search by colour is a much quicker way to identify the particular flower you are looking for. This book has proved very useful to us and we bought another copy as a Christmas present for our friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last !, 11 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification (Paperback)
A good basic field guide. easy to use a must on the short list for thouse looking for one" wild flower book"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Flowers by Colour, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification (Paperback)
This is a very useful little book to take out on wild flower trips, particularly for beginners like myself as it is easier to try and identify a flower by its colour if you have no idea of its origins. It is small enough to carry around and the colours are marked on the corner of the page so you find them quickly. This is my second copy - my first copy got very wet in the rainy summer last year but is a worthwhile investment. I have a number of Marjorie Blamey books - she is so knowledgeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wild flowers by colour, 20 Jun 2009
This review is from: Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification (Paperback)
a very pretty book. beautiful illustrations. very little information. and i find the listing by common name unhelpful. (you find the latin name under common name in the index). if i had seen this book in real life before purchase i wouldn't have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So easy to use!, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification (Paperback)
I've been looking for a book like this for ages. It is so simple to use and the way it is laid out is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification (Paperback)
I live in France and I sent this book to my daughter, along with Richard Lewington's Pocket guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland, for her to take out on walks with my my six and four year old great grand daughters The children love
identifying the flowers and butterflies and enjoy their walks even more, whilst gaining knowledge of the countryside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a great deal of botanical information, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification (Paperback)
This is full of species/varieties. Not a great deal of botanical information, but good for an initial 'look' at any unknown plant. Marjorie Balmey's other referebce books give much more detail about plant families and characteristics of individual plants. As an 'easy guide' adequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy identification of plants., 11 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification (Paperback)
This book makes identification of flowering plants much easier than books in order of families. It is also beautifully illustrated and can be enjoyed for that reason alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easiest on for Identifying plants, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Nosquirrels" (North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification (Paperback)
Always have difficulty with identifying wild flowers.
Most books require you to know the family at least to find the info on them.
This you only have to know the colour of the flower and at least it reduces the number of pictures to look at.

So all in all worth getting to assist the identification of wild flowers if you are a complete novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but not brilliant., 1 July 2013
By 
Jeremy Holmes (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification (Paperback)
By colour IS the best way for us amateurs. But we 'field tested' this with a knowledgeable friend yesterday and it's not as good as we hoped. There's no sense of size 'on the ground'. And the pictures are quite close together on each page and not as detailed as expected. The size thing is really important. I strongly feel now that a good guide would give you groupings (within colour) by typical mature height at flowering. And the heights would be average human ones, eg ground, ankle, knee, hip, taller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification
Wild Flowers by Colour: The Easy Way to Flower Identification by Marjorie Blamey (Paperback - 1 May 2005)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews