Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Course Primer
Very well written and provides the key elements of the RYA Day Skipper course . I read it before the course and it all made sense and was a big help on my early outings in the boat. Though it is not a substitute for the course .
Unless you get a copy of the complete RYA course notes , it pulls together the course material and hence is a good point of reference.
Published on 19 Oct 2004 by Rod W- Engineer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More of a novel but a manual of information is required for a novice
Nice hard back cover but Reeds Skipper's Handbook is the best. Pity I bought this first! Not suitable to carry on board but looks good on the bookshelf.
Published on 15 Jun 2012 by D. Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Course Primer, 19 Oct 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written and provides the key elements of the RYA Day Skipper course . I read it before the course and it all made sense and was a big help on my early outings in the boat. Though it is not a substitute for the course .
Unless you get a copy of the complete RYA course notes , it pulls together the course material and hence is a good point of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Day Skipper, 6 July 2009
By 
R. Rowe (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Day Skipper: Skippering with Confidence Right from the Start (Hardcover)
I needed a book that would get me up and running with minimal faffing around with unnecessary history etc. This was it. Very easy to read and understand; good diagrams and pics and well organised.
Aimed just right so that a person with only a little experience could get going.
The writing is very positive - encouraging the sense of adventure and yet providing the right balance of caution where necessary.
An absolute must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ideal Christmas Gift for Sea -Goers, 8 Dec 2009
By 
D. L. Ashcroft-nowicki "SOL" (Jersey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a much loved son in law who loves to sail. He looked a little askance at this and patiently explained that he knew how to sail... then he opened it!

No matter how much you know, no matter how often you sail... there are always new tricks to learn and more importantly things to remember that, as your experience grows you tend to forget. This book is worth its weight in gold to the beginner and the experienced sailor because it not only tells you what to do and how to do it.. it gently reminds you of the things you may think you know but often forget. ( like casting off before you actually start!!!! or just exactly when to duck that swinging boom!!)great value
Dolores Ashcroft-Nowicki
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 24 Aug 2010
By 
Yes a great read but beware this author as he can seriusely damage your wealth.
I read Tom's Astro Navigation book then went out and paid 400 for a sextant. I have now completed the above book which I enjoyed immensly but am now often seen looking up boats.
I dont sail and it may seem a little odd for me to read such a book but as always this guy writes so beautifully and it got lots of nice pictures and is damn interesting
Anyways I have finished the book and going to re mortgage the house just in case. Have you seen the price of boats? :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Day Skipper, 9 April 2008
By 
S. Smith (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Day Skipper: Skippering with Confidence Right from the Start (Hardcover)
I found this bookto be very well written and informative, he certainly knows his stuff and whilst the book has been around for a while it is still very relevant and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview of required Day Skipper knowledge, 24 Dec 2012
This book was a very good purchase - a great read in it's own right and invaluable as a break from the drier material in the RYA Day Skipper course. It's easy to read and has given me plenty of insight and alerted me to gotchas that weren't covered in the RYA course. I feel much more confident about sailing by myself after reading this. However, references to Noah, Gods and Heaven found in the book are jarring and not welcome. Perhaps it should be called "The Complete Godbothering Day Skipper." Regardless, I recommend this book and will carry it onboard my yacht.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent material, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Atha Fokias "Athas" (Leuven) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this as a brush up and revision just in case but found a wealth of new information in it.
I like the style and layout which is well researched and written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read and very informative., 27 May 2011
By 
Philip Fryer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many books with this title and this is the best by far. Its easy to read and covers all of the day skipper syllabus and more. Some of the guidance is a little different to the current day skipper specification and you should compare it to the current RYA Practical guide. However this doesn't really detract from this excellent well written book.

His metallurgical advice 'stainless steel is magnetically inert' is a little sweeping, try putting a stainless steel knife blade on the fridge door magnets, most will stick. It will effect a compass! However most yachting stainless steel is not magnetic and his advice may not cause you a problem. However this does make you wonder what else may be wrong as this is the third edition and this error has not been removed!

Despite this I have recommended this great read to all my friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, missing some practical exercises, 25 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Agree with other comments, book is well written and easy to understand even for a non native speaker (most of the time). The only thing that's missing is some practical exercises to test your knowledge at the end of each chapter. Especially on the navigation parts, it would be great to have some exercises to check that you really understood it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the cover, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read cover to cover, engaging and easy to follow. Passed my Day Skipper on first attempt. This is a definite buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Day Skipper: Skippering with Confidence Right from the Start
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews