Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice and informative
At the time of buying this book, I was thinking about doing a History of Art course and thought that this book would help me along the way.
It is a very informative book, that is seperated into several colour codes sections so it's easier to read and use.
The sections are:
Renaissance, Baroque & Rococo, The 19th Century, Modernism, and Post-Modernism...
Published on 14 Aug 2010 by i4colour

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit like the top trumps of art
This book appeared to be what I wanted. I enjoy art galleries, but I have no art background and only a limited understanding of art history and I wanted something that gave me some insight into the different isms, and this is ok. But it is quite superficial and really would have benefited from more depth in its writing, at least on the major isms.
Published 2 months ago by tiredoldgit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice and informative, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: Isms: Understanding Art (Paperback)
At the time of buying this book, I was thinking about doing a History of Art course and thought that this book would help me along the way.
It is a very informative book, that is seperated into several colour codes sections so it's easier to read and use.
The sections are:
Renaissance, Baroque & Rococo, The 19th Century, Modernism, and Post-Modernism.

The book is well laid out, and even has instructions on how to use it!!
The book looks at some different paintings and artists of that era and discusses the meanings of the isms. It showcases a selection of work from that time and includes the name of the artist and a short description about the painting.
As well as the painting in hand, it offers names of other work that you may be interested in.

It's a great size as well so could easily fit into a handbag or rucksack if you wanted to take it to galleries as a reference guide.

I am really happy with this book, and although it may not 100% benefit the history of art course, it will certainly give me a better understanding of isms and the understanding of the terms.

I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent jargon-buster, 13 May 2007
By 
Mark Meynell "quaesitor" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Isms: Understanding Art (Paperback)
academics and historians are always on the look out for categories, labels and jargon - fair enough at one level, i suppose. The problem is that their jargon can all too easily create a distance from the art they describe for the mere mortals who inhabit the normal world - which is ironic because the greatest artists nearly always wanted to communicate with real people, because they were communicating truth and reality. this book is a great antidote to all the jargon and isms - and helps the total novice to get a handle on the different 'isms' by actually looking at some headline pictures that epitomise them. Easy to use, easy on the eye and an easy book to pick up and glance thru. Good job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT INTRODUCTION TO THE MAJOR THEMES OF WESTERN ART, 4 Aug 2005
A little masterpiece! This quirkily written book by the novelist Stephen Little is something I'm determined to slide into all my friends stockings this Christmas! His style is whimsical, edgy, informative, direct, sometimes surprising and deliciously slick. I'm eagerly awaiting the arrival of something more weighty by the same author on the bookshelves. It's rare that a writer can grab a movement by the balls and slap it down on paper as succcinctly as this. If you're on a flight to any one of Europe's capitals, pop this in your seat pocket and your trip will be all the richer because I guarantee you'll be off to Art Gallery as soon as your feet hit the tarmac! JM-L (Artist)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant first book from erudite art historian, 22 Sep 2006
This review is from: Isms: Understanding Art (Paperback)
equally great for those wishing to brush up on their isms or new to isms entirely...never have art movements been so succinctly and adeptly dealt with...a great resource for the classroom or living room

like jonathan9523 i can't wait to see what Mr. Little writes next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD SUMMARY, 11 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Isms: Understanding Art (Paperback)
Very practical book to have a brief but acurate idea of art styles. It is very synthetic, maybe too much as each chapter gives the information in the minimum possible words, but as at the beginning it is explained the meaning of the utilized symbols, it can be followed as soon as you get familiar with a couple of styles. It is like art dictionary to be consulted at any time, not to be read in any specific order. It is worth having it but don't expect any deep analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a bit like the top trumps of art, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isms: Understanding Art (Paperback)
This book appeared to be what I wanted. I enjoy art galleries, but I have no art background and only a limited understanding of art history and I wanted something that gave me some insight into the different isms, and this is ok. But it is quite superficial and really would have benefited from more depth in its writing, at least on the major isms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for art lovers, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isms: Understanding Art (Paperback)
Great little book, which is easy to understand and has a few images as examples on each ism. I would recommend this to anyone just starting out. l bought it for uni and its not to big and heavy, just the size of a normal novel but with fewer pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good quality, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isms: Understanding Art (Paperback)
is a good companion for any art course college or uni it shows time line of all the art periods as well as an explanation and examples
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Isms, 17 Feb 2014
By 
V. Thomas-Mellor (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a Christmas present. The recipient was very pleased. Clear explinations of the movements and principal players in art history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art teacher must have, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isms: Understanding Art (Paperback)
A must have for art teachers and schools, quick easy to read information and examples in order which makes contextual studies a breeze
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Isms: Understanding Art
Isms: Understanding Art by Stephen Little (Paperback - 4 Oct 2004)
8.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews