Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - an definite guide to Raptors !
...you might hesitate before buying this book. Well, let me tell you that as soon as I saw the book I knew I had to buy it! I've always found it frustrating that there had been, until now no book that covered all the raptors in the world. The book stands on the quality of its artwork, and I have to say the plates are superb, no stiffly posed portraits here! They are...
Published on 7 Oct. 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't download for Kindle!
The text is excellent, however the plates are ruined. The resolution is far too low and so the images become pixelated when enlarged. A thorough waste of £20. As this is supposed to be a field guide, the digital download version renders it useless.
Published on 3 Dec. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - an definite guide to Raptors !, 7 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
...you might hesitate before buying this book. Well, let me tell you that as soon as I saw the book I knew I had to buy it! I've always found it frustrating that there had been, until now no book that covered all the raptors in the world. The book stands on the quality of its artwork, and I have to say the plates are superb, no stiffly posed portraits here! They are beautiful to behold as well as detailed and informative. I particularly liked Philip Burton's plates of the Gyr Falcon, including a scene of the frozen north putting the bird into its lanscape. But remember, this is an identification guide and the plates do concentrate, as they should, on depicting the birds in such a way as to aid comparison. I haven't had much of a chance to read the extensive text, but it follows the same format as other books of this series, with very informative chapters on such things as age and sex. All very tricky aspects of raptor id.
All in all, this is a huge book, in both weight and value: so don't hesitate, treat yourself, it's fantastic value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are into raptors - don't miss this great book, 25 Oct. 2001
This fantastic book covers all the raptors of the world. The book is extraordinary good in the descriptions of the birds of prey, and the plates are fantastic. The book includes illustrations of adults, juvenile, male and female birds, and all the illustrations are great.
Furthermore there is introdoctionary chapters on identification of raptors, on their migration, breeding patterns etc.
It's great finally to have a single book covering all the raptors of the world, especially when the book is as great as this one. Everybody who have an interest in raptors simply needs to own it.
The only problem as far as I can see is, that it's impossible to take the book with you into the field, so I guess you still need your normal fieldguide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book.., 17 Jun. 2002
You really will thank yourself every time you pick up this book and open it's pages.The birds contained range from the familiar to the exotic.This is the only reference book I own that I treat with respect..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't download for Kindle!, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The text is excellent, however the plates are ruined. The resolution is far too low and so the images become pixelated when enlarged. A thorough waste of £20. As this is supposed to be a field guide, the digital download version renders it useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Low resolution graphics, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like a lot of people I was very excited to be able to download Helms Field Guides.
However, I have to agree with the reviewer who commented that the low res graphics render identification
impossible.
The text is astonishing, as with all Helms work, but the Kindle version is not fit for purpose.
If there were a method of returning my purchase, I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outdoors friendly version of 600 page classic, 9 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Raptors of the World: A Field Guide (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
Yesterday I managed to buy a copy of the Ferguson-Lees and Christie Raptors of the World Field Guide. I skimmed through it on the train back from York and can thoroughly recommend it. It has become a useful and portable version of the huge tome that came out in 2001, having half the number of pages!
There are several new aspects to the book. It has new plates by Alan Harris, updated maps and an annotated list of all raptors. There are 25 extra raptors, these being elevated to full species level.
After just an hour's train journey skimming through it I can definetely recommend it for anyone's Christmas list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How heavy, 16 April 2010
I will start by saying this is not a field guide as it contains nearly 1000 pages. It is more of a reference book, and what a reference book it is. It contain all the raptors of the world but does not cover Owls, well we can't have everthing. On the whole this is a excellent book the tex is thorough and the artwork is perfect showing each bird in all its plumages adult, juvenile and in the case of Buzzards shows all the main colour differences.
A must have for any keen birder / world wide travaling birder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raptors Guide, 31 Dec. 2009
By 
Despite the bad reviews from obvious 'experts'this is the only comprehensive guide to all of the worlds species. Such a venture is never going to be perfect. The use of the modern (changed )names for some species is confusing. Some plates could do with some top views and not just inflight undrside views.

The second edition could be be reviewed to to make some of the text more reader friendly and some of the plates revised to improve some image sizes and less clutered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Looks great but dissappointing, 1 Dec. 2012
By 
Ms. M. Y. Harkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raptors of the World: A Field Guide (Helm Field Guides) (Paperback)
I was really looking forward to receiving this book to help me with my study on birds of prey, but it was rather too technical; i.e. a lot of data but very little on the natural history of North American species. It was not cheap either! It is a lovely book to have in my collection, but there are better one's ot there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the only ID guide for raptor watchers. Great book, great service, great price. Bought 2nd hand, excellent condition, arrived earlier than expected. 1st class service all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raptors of the World: A Field Guide (Helm Field Guides)
Raptors of the World: A Field Guide (Helm Field Guides) by David A. Christie (Paperback - 24 Nov. 2005)
£20.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews