Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book!, 4 Dec 2006
By 
Hazel (Ashford, Kent (UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Plants (Paperback)
This is a brilliant guide to capturing plants accurately in drawing and painting. Unlike many other botanical painting books, it is written by someone who is very knowledgeable about the plants she is painting. I have learnt so much more about botany in this book than from any of the other botanical painting books I own (and I own quite a few!). This book contains a lot of scientific information about the plants themselves. A refreshing change...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drawing and Painting Plants by Christina Brodie, 19 July 2009
By 
N. Vonkhorporn "budding artist" (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Plants (Paperback)
This book is about "knowing your subject before lifting your brush". The first chapter discusses plant kingdoms and plant parts in plain English. The following chapters are about scientific approach to drawing & painting plants of each kingdom. It includes detailed illustration on how to dissect plants, how to scale down and up, how to handle various media and how to present finished works. It is a book for serious botanical artists who want to learn more about botany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully illustrated and written book, 26 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. W. J. M. Owen "plant lover" (portishead UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Plants (Paperback)
This book is a delight to have and I will be looking at the subject matter and wondering how you can possibly create the illustrations for a long time to come. I am sure this will make a valuable reference for students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Plants (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to all people interested in botanical art.As well as numerous lovely colour painting of plants, flowers, leaves and fruit there is also a wealth of botanical information. And a good amount of guidance on making the initial drawing for preparantion for painting. And also chapters on monochrome drawing. It does cover a lot of ground and is presented very well indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Plants (Paperback)
This is a lovely book with some great hints and tips for embarking on botanical paintings.
I have enjoyed it thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drawing techniques., 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Plants (Paperback)
This book has excellent drawing techniques including scaling and symmetry. It has dissection and microscopy information also. There is also a huge variety of interesting plants. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars painting and drawing plants, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Plants (Paperback)
I am enjoying reading this book as the style is different to the way I was taught to approach things and I think that it does one good to explore different ways now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift idea, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Plants (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift for my mum as she is often drawing and painting all the plants in her garden, she said its really helpful and has some wonderful illustrations in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawing and Painting Plants
Drawing and Painting Plants by Christina Brodie (Paperback - 15 Oct 2006)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews