Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2004
I have always been a keen cyclist (I cycled across the Alps when I was 16) but only recently decided to take it a bit more seriously and this book has already proved both inspirational and incredibly useful.
The intelligent design of the book makes the huge amount of information it contains both easily digestible and accessible enough to make it suitable as a handy reference. It's written in an entirely non-patronising style that is very easy to read and features loads of detailed, labelled diagrams that both illustrate and explain - plus gear size charts, training graphs and tables, conversion tables, a useful glossary, lots of helpful addresses, and loads more...
The extensive and detailed hints and tips for training and nutrition are flexible enough to suit a wide range of needs, whether you aim to take part in a few casual 50 mile-plus rides or want to tackle something much more ambitious such as a 600km randonnee or a long-distance multi-stage tour.
The author is a very experienced cyclist but he doesn't need to state his authority - it just shines through in the depth of practical advice and information he gives in the pages of this wonderful book.
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2008
I've been cycling for years, mainly off-road, but now have plans for more long distance road cycling; so thought I'd read up on the subject. This book is well written and contains a wealth of information to build fitness levels and ride long distance comfortably. A great book that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to all but the most advanced cycle athletes.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2002
A commuting cyclist since 1972, now doing 5000+ miles/year including events, I found this book invaluable. Best of all is advice on how to prevent "discomfort" on the bike. Nothing I knew for certain was contradicted, but a great deal of valuable new information is there - so much so I went through with a highlighter to ensure it could be picked out easily when needed later.
So, technically it is excellent. And the epic achievments are pretty inspiring, too!
I see this as a "standard text", a "sourcebook" for riders - those just beginning, and those (like me) who want to do more. Not many cyclists will know so much they will not benefit. Most (if not all) will learn a great deal and enjoy it a lot.
See you up the road.
Ed Lehmann.
11 comment|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2005
The book is a great reference source for those contemplating longer rides either in Audax events, endurance rides or long distance touring like Land's End to John O'Groats. All aspects of preparation are covered including:
nutrition
hydration
mechanics
clothing
fitness
Although it's of most benefit for those contemplating longer rides (50+miles per day) it's also useful as a comprehensive tick list for those about to embark on another long distance adventure.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2001
A comprehensive and easy to read introduction to the art of long distance cycling. Doughty covers everything the beginner needs to know, from equipment and bike set-up to developing a simple training program. This is the ideal book for those wishing to make the transition from the occasional weekend ride and the odd painful charity event to touring holidays, 100 mile events and randonneur riding. If you want to become more adventurous, this is the book you've been looking for.
For the more experienced racing cyclist there's nothing much for you, as the author's emphasis is on randonneur riding. However, if your longest race was less than 50 miles there's some useful advice on how to get started on the longer events. If you're an experienced cyclist, I'd only give it 2 stars
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 November 2001
This is an invaluable book for anyone wanting to ride a bike greater than 50 miles. It has a very easy to follow structured approach, but builds from the basics through every aspect that needs to be considered, to provide a comprehensive guide for even the most experienced of long distance cyclists. The overwhelming thing is that you know Simon has really done these things himself - I should know I rode 1215 km with him on the Paris-Brest-Paris, and still found the book added to my knowledge. There is no other book that covers this ground in such a digestable and easily followed way.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
This book is full of straightforward information and tips on distance cycling. However not all of them are useful, some are not so up-to-date and at least 75% of the knowledge is so obvious that you don't need to spend much time and money to figure it out yourself. I'm fairly disappointed with this book despite some good reviews. If you had spent some time in the saddle you might find most of the chapters quite boring.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
great book wit good comprehensive coverage of all areas.
divided in three broad parts: get read: Bike details, and equipment; Get Set: health and safety of long distance riding, and GO: training principles, and riding long events.
this will prepare me well for my planned longer rides.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
Good book for the serious cyclist. Gives all sorts of hints and tips and good training regimes to follow. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
For someone who does a fair bit of cycling but is looking to ride further - multi-day rides - this is a good, sensible book, well written and easy to read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)