Customer Reviews


11 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Skull Beneath The Skin, 30 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
T.S Elliot described Webster's Jacobean works as exposing "the skull beneath the skin", a statement that resonates within his masterpiece: The Duchess of Malfi. Set in an Italian court, the play is a tragedy in which a Duchess must resist the dark, corrupt and incestuous motives of her brothers in the pursuit of a liberal and just existence. Webster's play is at times delicately evocative, with subtle imagery and regular dark humour, and at others is unequivocally direct in exposing the struggle between corruption and decency in the land. I found this copy of the play such a joy to read that I am doing so for a third time! If you wish to analyse the text, there is a lengthy introduction including a useful thematic analysis of the different ways in which the cast of the play would execute their roles and the interpretations of audience members during Webster's time. If you are new to Jacobean plays, The Duchess of Malfi is an excellent place to begin as the language used does not hinder the communication of the themes to the modern day reader as Webster writes with fewer of the complex English language conventions than his formally educated contemporary, William Shakespeare. I strongly recommend this New Mermaids copy of the text to all and especially to those trying to decide which copy to purchase for educational purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars revision aid, 6 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids)
I bought this for my granddaughter to revise for her English A Level. It is one of the set texts. I know she found it helpful - how helpful we wont know till results are out - but to her surprise, she njoyed the play more than she had during class sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and blood-soaked, 16 Jun. 2011
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
Malfi is Webster's masterpiece, a dark tragedy set in a world that is brooding, bloody and corrupt. None of the characters come off well: not the incestuous and mad Ferdinand who imagines himself a werewolf; the adulterous Cardinal; the vacillating Antonio; or even the Duchess herself who woos and marries a courtier who serves her.

Despite Webster's attempt to offer hope and redemption at the end, this is a play that is soaked in blood. The light shines through it in Webster's jewel-dark poetry and the unrelenting pace, and this is fitting companion piece to the best of Marlowe and Shakespeare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't have considered it before..., 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
I studied this play for my A2 English Literature course, and to tell you the truth, when I started to read it I expected that I would find it quite dull. However once I'd read the rest, I put it down with an entirely different opinion.

If you do get to read this play, don't be dismissive of it as soon as you see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Like New', 14 July 2011
This review is from: The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
This book was is excellent condition and at a great price. I tried looking for a while for this book but because a lot of A Level students need it, prices had gone up.
Thank you to the seller, this came really quick and in time before I went away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great play, great read., 13 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
Fate and belief, reality and fantasy, love, death and betrayal are all topics covered in this book which are prominent features of plays. If you enjoy playwrights and such stories then I would recommend this book to read. Enlightening, sad and fierce. A very good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 24 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
Quick enough delivery and item arrived well packaged.
Very pleased with this purchase & would definitely recommend as a buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very user-friendly for a modern reader., 4 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. Philip Terry (Dumfries, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
Fine edition - extremely helpful introduction and notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
Well laid out play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids)
The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) by John Webster (Paperback - 29 Aug. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews