Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mould makers Bible
I found this book a really useful tool, whilst trudging through moungs of model making books I began to despair until I found this treasure. It is great for the beginner to the advanced and tells you everything you need to know about the type of materials you use for making the mould, the best types of casting agents to use for that mould and then cross references which...
Published on 1 Nov 2004 by Miss

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmmmmm
Whilst there are some interesting tips and reasonable step-by-step demos in this book, I thought that some of the information was if not obsolete, then of interest only from an historical perspective.I also thought that some of the techniques recommended were ill-advised, possibly leading to serious problems (e.g the loss of an original sculpture) for those trying them...
Published on 21 Nov 2007 by J. P. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mould makers Bible, 1 Nov 2004
By 
Miss "bertieob" (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mouldmaker's Handbook (Paperback)
I found this book a really useful tool, whilst trudging through moungs of model making books I began to despair until I found this treasure. It is great for the beginner to the advanced and tells you everything you need to know about the type of materials you use for making the mould, the best types of casting agents to use for that mould and then cross references which release agents you should use in the appendix at the end. This is all accompanied with descriptions and illustrations of the various processes.
Great for the hobbyist, professional and student.
It has reaaly opened up my imagination as to what I can do with mould making and has made me consider starting my own business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mouldmaking with French flare, 4 Sep 2006
By 
J. Ward (Brecon Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mouldmaker's Handbook (Paperback)
As you may have guessed this a translation of a book originally written in 2001 in French by Delpech, who teaches at the University of Paris, and Figueres another French artist and teacher. It seems to be a reasonably good translation by Sasha Wardell, a British ceramicist who trained in Limoges. It is a largish modern format book, glossy paper, colour photos on every page, accompanied by blocks of relevant text. The book generally takes the helpful step by step approach to the various moulding techniques demonstrated. You will detect a definite French verve and style in the accomplished writing and professional approaches employed, although the book is universally valid for all cultures, not just France. The many mouldmaking and modelling techniques they demonstrate can be applied to almost anything and for any purpose: eg. making sculptures, repairing pottery, restoring picture frames, etc. The first part of the book focuses on the model, discussing the basic principles of making models using plasticine, clay, polymer clay, wood filler, wax, and synthetic foams, as well as hollow moulds, waste moulds, piece moulds, The numerous various release agents and sealers available are discussed. The second part deals with mouldmaking: how to choose the right mouldmaking technique in relation to the model, alginate moulds for faces and even babies, plaster bandage moulding of the human form, plaster moulding itself, latex, RTV silicone rubber, polyester resin counter moulds, one-piece moulds, and multi-piece moulds etc. The third part deals with the techniques of casting: with plaster of course, reconstituted stone, polyester resins, fibreglass, clear casting resin, epoxy resin, and polyurethane resin. Next is wax, small scale lost wax techniques, casting wax, low-melt metals. Solid casting techniques, layered casting, hollow casting, and brush-on casting are all demonstrated well. Finally there is a section on patinas and imitation effects. There are some useful materials appendices and a glossary at the end. As you can see virtually every modern material and mouldmaking technique is comprehensively included. The authors are at the height of their profession and are passing on their experience and insight to the rest of us in a well organized, easily understandable way. A useful, practical book with considerable flare that will appeal to both the professional and amateur equally. Slightly expensive but a quality book that is probably worth its price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmmmmm, 21 Nov 2007
By 
J. P. Jones "maker" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mouldmaker's Handbook (Paperback)
Whilst there are some interesting tips and reasonable step-by-step demos in this book, I thought that some of the information was if not obsolete, then of interest only from an historical perspective.I also thought that some of the techniques recommended were ill-advised, possibly leading to serious problems (e.g the loss of an original sculpture) for those trying them out. To end on a positive note, the table showing the required release agent for a wide range of materials was very handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted with the book, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mouldmaker's Handbook (Paperback)
A great resource, well laid out easy to follow and a work of art. I'm going to enjoy using this book as a resource and research tool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the 1st choice in its class, 31 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. J. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mouldmaker's Handbook (Paperback)
This is the best reference book of its type. It covers all aspects of the techniques and skills required to produce a range of mould types. Clearly written and illustrated by 2 persons who know there subject inside out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mouldmaker's Handbook
The Mouldmaker's Handbook by Marc-Andre Figueres (Paperback - 30 Jan 2004)
22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews