Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great handbook from the series
This series of printmaking handbooks are brilliant. This one on monoprinting covers it all, lovely case studies and photos for inspiration and some step by step instructions, good for the artist starting out in printmaking as well as the experienced printmaker.
Published on 25 May 2009 by A. Thomas

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A useful starting point
I found this book interesting and it certainly is a useful starting point, with chapters devoted to various print making techniques and some general instructions. There are several inspiring examples of prints created using techniques outlined however I think some of the images were included more to demonstrate a process rather than for their brilliance or originality. It...
Published on 23 July 2010 by Kate


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great handbook from the series, 25 May 2009
By 
A. Thomas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monoprinting (Printmaking Handbooks) (Paperback)
This series of printmaking handbooks are brilliant. This one on monoprinting covers it all, lovely case studies and photos for inspiration and some step by step instructions, good for the artist starting out in printmaking as well as the experienced printmaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A useful starting point, 23 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monoprinting (Printmaking Handbooks) (Paperback)
I found this book interesting and it certainly is a useful starting point, with chapters devoted to various print making techniques and some general instructions. There are several inspiring examples of prints created using techniques outlined however I think some of the images were included more to demonstrate a process rather than for their brilliance or originality. It would have been interesting to see larger images too and a more inspirational selection. Perhaps this book is dedicated to technique rather than the individual artists featured, but it is rather general and often the instructions are less than accurate. The book is fine for someone who wants to muddle through and teach themselves various ideas, or indeed would be helpful to an art student, perhaps A level or adult education. The book's layout is not aesthetically brilliant and the binding makes it tricky to open to read easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monoprinting, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Monoprinting (Printmaking Handbooks) (Paperback)
Very good book for renewing my knowledge of this form of printmaking and also introduced me to some different techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars monoprinting, 31 Aug 2010
This review is from: Monoprinting (Printmaking Handbooks) (Paperback)
The book is smaller than I imagined. Could be a good portable guide if you prefer smaller books, but quite pricey therefor even with the discount. Not enough good monoprinting books out there so would recommend it for its' content. The instructions are good and easy to follow. Size makes illustrations less pleasing to look at and this was disappointing. Overall, a good buy and authoritatively written by females which is another plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A technical guide, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monoprinting (Printmaking Handbooks) (Paperback)
Lots of technical tips - many of which I have yet to absorb and try out but I'm sure I will do so in the future. For me, I think it will be a book into which I dip for advice, rather than one I read from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written full of ideas, 15 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monoprinting (Printmaking Handbooks) (Paperback)
An excellent book for the experienced print-maker to the student. There are some fascinating illustrations and clear and concise guidelines for print-making success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 9 Dec 2014
By 
Cass (North Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monoprinting (Printmaking Handbooks) (Paperback)
During my fd in fine art I have an allowance for books and went crazy buying any art book that took my fancy. I really enjoyed reading this book and it'll alway have a spot on my shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monoprinting (Printmaking Handbooks)
Monoprinting (Printmaking Handbooks) by Dee Whittington (Paperback - 31 May 2006)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews