Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars11
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2011
This is an excellent book, very easy to use and a pleasure to own. Its most obvious benefits are the clear illustrations which I have used repeatedly to identify birds quite new to me. Each page of pictures is placed immediately adjacent to an equally simple distribution map, a layout which has repeatedly got me out of trouble and allowed me to differentiate between similar birds with different ranges. At the front there is a nicely written section explaining how the guide works and helping with identification. I am not a bird watcher, but I live in Nigeria and spend a lot of time in the garden with camera, binoculars and the book. Very strongly recommended by me, the amateur, and equally so by my semi-professional mentor.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
On a recent visit to the Gambia our Gambian guides enthused about this book - apparently the colours are very true to life, better than any other book. We had a trainee guide with us, and I actually gave him my book as he needed to do more study before he was fully 'fledged', and had hinted that this was the book he would really like! He was obviously very thrilled. I had to order another copy to replace mine, as I wouldn't be without it for future trips.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Great plates, comprehensive and fairly compact. Range maps aren't always on the same page as the plates, but they're always within a page or two away. Plates are the same as those from Birds of Western Africa (Helm) with some reworked and improved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2010
I was off to Ghana and I need a book to swat up on the birds of that area and there are a few around, and out of all of them this stood out as the best. So I brought it and it was perfect and came in very usful. I do have problem though its only a small one and it might be me just being picky or showing off depending on how you look at it.
The cover shows a pair of Yellow-headed Picathartes with one sat in the nest and it is attacted to a branch of a tree. Our group got to see 5 of these very rare endangered birds when we visited a nest site, and the nest are like large House Martin nest stuck to the roof of caves, not on a branch of a tree which explains their other name Rock Fowl, Like I said it's just me being picky.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
The illustrations are really excellent compared to some of the other guides I've seen, the coverage is very comprehensive, lots of helpful detail in the diagnostic texts - perfect companion to the region.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
amazing field guide purchased for work offshore Western Africa, really clear descriptions and excellent colour plates worth every penny would not travel to Western Africa without it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Excellent bird identification pictures and species distribution maps. Author did well to get all 1306 species into a single volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
I have now dragged this book around six different West Africa countries, and everyone knows it and reveres it! Great guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
great book, got here on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
V good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)