Customer Reviews


3 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect ?!
This book is exactly what I wanted with precise and detailed indications... I don't rate it 5 just because il's a bit difficult to find rapidly where the places are, which area etc.
Published on 7 Mar 2010 by Vincent Merand

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it sounds
We took this book on a bird watching holiday to various parts of Scotland. The information given about some sites was sometimes out of date or we could not find the site. Many of the "Additional sites" were not known either to local people or to staff in the Visitors' information Centers. It is advertised as 4th edition 2002 but revision did not seem to have been very...
Published on 18 Oct 2009 by H. ELSMERE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it sounds, 18 Oct 2009
By 
H. ELSMERE (London (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where to Watch Birds in Scotland (Where to Watch Birds) (Paperback)
We took this book on a bird watching holiday to various parts of Scotland. The information given about some sites was sometimes out of date or we could not find the site. Many of the "Additional sites" were not known either to local people or to staff in the Visitors' information Centers. It is advertised as 4th edition 2002 but revision did not seem to have been very thorough. The other problem is that there is no overall index to places. The arrangement into Regions is fine but difficult to use if you don't know Scotland very well. The details on each site is good and includes Habitat, Access and names of species seen there at various time of the year. It did sometimes turn out to be rather over optimistic and we often travelled many miles only to find a few gulls and crows. Better than nothing but rather disappointing and if only we had had access to the internet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful Guidebook, 15 July 2010
This review is from: Where to Watch Birds in Scotland (Where to Watch Birds) (Paperback)
I had this guidebook in my last visit to Scotland and read it almost everyday during the trip. The idea of this book is great and it provides very useful birding information to the foreigner. It can be even better if the information about accessing the birding sites can be more explicit and up-today. The layout & presentation of this book are both out of the current fashion but still one of the useful guidebooks in the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect ?!, 7 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Where to Watch Birds in Scotland (Where to Watch Birds) (Paperback)
This book is exactly what I wanted with precise and detailed indications... I don't rate it 5 just because il's a bit difficult to find rapidly where the places are, which area etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where to Watch Birds in Scotland (Where to Watch Birds)
Where to Watch Birds in Scotland (Where to Watch Birds) by Mike Madders (Paperback - 29 Nov 2002)
Used & New from: £18.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews