Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A practical and inspiring book for all teachers in KS1 & 2, 25 Nov 2000
This review is from: Making Books (Paperback)
This is an exciting book and one which will inspire and excite you if you are currently teaching literacy to pupils aged 4 - 11! Children need inspiration to write whilst they learn the skills involved in writing - there is also a requirement to 'build in' cross curricular links with litercy. This book enables the primary teacher to encourage and inspire children to write, make writing fun and explore design technology in a practical and real way. Paul Johnson covers a range of ages and types of book, ranging from very simple [for both teacher and child] to some very complex pop up books. He uses simple, step by step instructions to show you how to make each book and his illustrations and photographs give you a clear 'picture' of what each book involves. There is a section showing how the process of making books is linked to the national curriculum and a good section on planning books. A section on evaluation helps teachers to evaluate children's achievements. This is a book for all primary teachers - it offers a range of bookmaking projects which get you started and then encourage your creative talent to flow! Buy it! It is worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really useful resource, 12 July 2009
This review is from: Making Books (Paperback)
This book was a fantastic resource for my year 5 class as they created their own books. Having shown the children some of the straightforward pop up methods myself, the children then used the book independently as they collected ideas for their own pop up pages. The designs were easy to construct, and the results for the class were hugely satisfying - one child said that their books looked like 'real' books on the shelf. It has been a stunning outcome for a literacy task, and has filled me with inspiration for next year's planning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teachers' book but fine for parents and kids, 27 April 2011
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Making Books (Paperback)
I got this book out of the library as I was desperate to make a simple book for my own drawings, and I didn't get it back from my 7 year old for some time. As Johnson says, in comparison to other written and art work, when a child creates a book of their own they become more engaged and more likely to successfully complete the task.

Johnson includes 32 projects for children to make books. In the introduction there is a table of projects, their range and text level skills for teachers, some basic books forms and a section on planning, drafting, storyboards, materials, safety and tips for success. At the very end is a template for a personal record book which enables the child to record their thoughts about the book making process.

Each project is clearly marked with an age range next to the title, the projects increase in age range from the first (age 5-6) to last (age 10-11). There is an 'aim' box giving the book and project form and a clear indication of preparation requirements and time needed for the project. Instructions to make each book are in clear diagrams, and there are pictures and text on how to use the project. At the end is a section on more ideas.

A really well constructed deeply inspirational book that doesn't require any specialist equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very useful at all levels, 22 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Making Books (Paperback)
I borrowed this book from the library and now feel that I must add it to my own collection.I have recommended it to a teacher as essential reading.I like the timescales given for projects, and the age groups for ability levels. It will be the third book of his in this subject that I use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paul johnson is fab!, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. L. Henshall (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Books (Paperback)
Paul delivered an inset to our staff at school today and brought his books with him including this one, we made loads and loads of his book ideas and had chance to look through his books too. They are really effective ways of encouraging structured yet creative writing. I will be buying one of each of his books at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for the classroom!, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: Making Books (Paperback)
Brilliant and 'doable' ideas especially for the least creative of us out there. Will be using ideas from this book in my classroom. The children will love it.
Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good fun with great educational benefits, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Books (Paperback)
I rated this highly because this book delivers what it promises. The books range from easy to the more challenging and progresses nicely through the various age groups starting at 4-5 years up to 11 years. They are fun to make with good instructions. My children are 6 and 8 years and I have found this book an enjoyable and educational craft idea for them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Books
Making Books by Paul Johnson (Paperback - 29 Feb 2000)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews