Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased
We needed this for my sons english class at school, although we purchased item second hand the condition was excellent so very pleased.
Published 7 months ago by h baggott

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Tis Pity She's a Whore
I read this play over a week ago. Incest was a dark subject during the seventeenth century and remains such in modernity, therefore to describe it as an enjoyable read would be perverse. The protagonists are Giovanni and Anabella (brother and sister respectively), who are indulging in a sexual relationship. Readers may assume that equal responsibility for the brother...
Published on 28 Aug. 2011 by Onora


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Tis Pity She's a Whore (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
We needed this for my sons english class at school, although we purchased item second hand the condition was excellent so very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Study text, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a text for A-level English Literature, the e-book was bought for home reference.
It isn't very well set out for Kindle - line numbers appear in the middle of dialogue and odd words of dialogue are shifted into the character name area, but the notes are present and it seems complete. A little annoying though - I wish I'd ordered the paperback, but trying to cut back on all the books around the house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacobean at its Best, 16 Sept. 2007
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 'Tis Pity She's a Whore (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this play, my first foray into Jacobean literature. Revenge, incest, etc. this play has everything to keep you hooked. I don't as a rule read many plays (Shakespeare excepted) but I thoroughly enjoyed it, now I want to see it on stage it was so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Mar. 2009
This play is one of the best I have read in a long time. I'm not usually a fan of classical work, but this kept my interest and left me wishing there was more after each page. A beautifully written and well interesting story for anybody.

This play is especially good for drama students looking for new plays to add to their collection or for audition speeches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best current edition of Tis Pity - clear, insightful glosses on the text and a very interesting introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Tis Pity She's a Whore, 28 Aug. 2011
This review is from: 'Tis Pity She's a Whore (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
I read this play over a week ago. Incest was a dark subject during the seventeenth century and remains such in modernity, therefore to describe it as an enjoyable read would be perverse. The protagonists are Giovanni and Anabella (brother and sister respectively), who are indulging in a sexual relationship. Readers may assume that equal responsibility for the brother and sister's inappropriate relationship ought to be allocated to Giovanni and Anabella. However Ford gives appraisal to Giovanni, but attributes a harsh and biblical attitude towards female characters of the play, namely Putana who is Anabella's tutor/governess, who has knowledge of the inappropriate relationship encourages it and says nothing but ends up admitting what she knew and is treated in typical biblical, barbaric fashion (without giving too much information!). Anabella is blamed for 'giving into her lusts', and meets a tragic end. For readers of Greek tragedies, 'tis Pity She's a Whore is not so dissimilar to Sophocles' Oedipus Trilogy (all of which I have read!! This play is not humourous, but it has depth and illustrates most painfully the fragility of life. 'Tis Pity She's a Whore is a most sensible and worthwhile read and I have no hesitation in recommending it. This play was and remains controversial. All that remains to be written is that the play concludes with the title 'Tis Pity she's a Whore, guess who it is aimed at!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only one Bard, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting comparison with Shakespeare,a collection of " mishmash and flagrant plagiarism "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars English Alevel, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Tis Pity She's a Whore (New Mermaids) (Paperback)
Well what can I say. Hated it to begin with, LOVE IT now, really good even if you are not studying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent synopsis and introduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant play, 5 May 2007
By 
This a a brilliant and unique play which deals with a theme which many playwrights would not. It is a classic story of revenge, betrayal and love with disastrous consequences. Although it deals with the difficult theme of incest it does so in a way that by the end you do not find it as shocking as you may expect. In fact there are other much worst happenings within the plot which include murder and corruption in many different forms.

This is really a text which you need to use your own interpretation to understand. The characters are written in such a way that they can be viewed from many angles: both good and bad. It is really a personal choice whose sides you take within the play but it is certainly one that will get you thinking.

'Tis Pity She's A Whore' is a play very typical and representative of the time in which it was written. The women of the play seem to be the main victims whereas the men can easily display some truly terrible behaviour without a second thought. It is a very clear depiction of society and the social hierarchy within the seventeenth century and in my opinion is well worth a read.

I read this as an a/s level text and am so glad I did as I have now discovered the brilliant talent of John Ford. I will definitely be going on to read more of his work. Pick up this book- you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

'Tis Pity She's a Whore (New Mermaids)
'Tis Pity She's a Whore (New Mermaids) by Martin Wiggins (Paperback - 29 Aug. 2003)
£7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews