Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars inspirational
As a textiles fanatic who has experimented a lot with embroidery, but stuck to patterns as far as knitting is concerned, I have been fired up to experiment with this book. Full of inspirational ideas for using knit techniques as a creative form, and not just for wearables and household stuff. Inspirational ideas - get it and enjoy letting yourself play
Published on 22 Dec 2007 by experimentalist

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars badly illustrated
This book has some interesting techniques explained. Unfortunately, the the samples are knitted up in such multi coloured swatches that it is very hard to see how the stitches are worked. A few more simple swatches would help along side the more creative uses of the techniques.
Published on 27 Mar 2008 by G. Dexter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 22 Dec 2007
This review is from: Contemporary Knitting For Textile Artists (Hardcover)
As a textiles fanatic who has experimented a lot with embroidery, but stuck to patterns as far as knitting is concerned, I have been fired up to experiment with this book. Full of inspirational ideas for using knit techniques as a creative form, and not just for wearables and household stuff. Inspirational ideas - get it and enjoy letting yourself play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 24 Jan 2010
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contemporary Knitting For Textile Artists (Hardcover)
This book explores knitting techniques and the ways in which to use them in textiles. Interesting materials are used for knitting and knitting is also shown in the round. Taking knitting to the edge and beyond, this book should fire up your ideas and imagination and lead you to experiment with your own creative ideas. Beautifully illustrated and excellent instructions are given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very inspirational!, 21 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Contemporary Knitting For Textile Artists (Hardcover)
Having explored making jewellery using knitted wire, this book has been a real inspiration to explore lots of other possibilities as well as giving me some ideas for new jewellery designs.

I like the way the book is set out, although some of it can be quite technical which doesn't always suit me so well as I prefer to experiment more. Having said that, I would love to do a course given by the author though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars badly illustrated, 27 Mar 2008
By 
G. Dexter "gabydexter" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contemporary Knitting For Textile Artists (Hardcover)
This book has some interesting techniques explained. Unfortunately, the the samples are knitted up in such multi coloured swatches that it is very hard to see how the stitches are worked. A few more simple swatches would help along side the more creative uses of the techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 7 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contemporary Knitting For Textile Artists (Hardcover)
There is not much in this book apart from the nice images, not very useful really... I opened it once and never again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contemporary Knitting For Textile Artists
Contemporary Knitting For Textile Artists by Ruth Lee (Hardcover - 31 Oct 2007)
Used & New from: 14.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews