Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Well-Written, Snappy & Useful Poker Paperback
I've enjoyed Lou's articles in many magazines, so decided to give this book a try, even though I wondered if it would add anything to my library of more advanced poker books. I'm pleased to say that it did - not necessarily just because of the content, but in the way he simply, but effectively, gets a lot of fundamental points across, so you remember them. The 52 tip...
Published on 11 Sep 2007 by Karn9evil

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not satisfied
too short, too vague, no math, just some good ideas here and there. Not what I was looking for ...
Published 15 months ago by IOANNIS KALDIS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Well-Written, Snappy & Useful Poker Paperback, 11 Sep 2007
This review is from: 52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online (Paperback)
I've enjoyed Lou's articles in many magazines, so decided to give this book a try, even though I wondered if it would add anything to my library of more advanced poker books. I'm pleased to say that it did - not necessarily just because of the content, but in the way he simply, but effectively, gets a lot of fundamental points across, so you remember them. The 52 tip format (one a week) is obviously perfect for future syndication purposes, but it also has the benefit of allowing you to dip into a particular tip from time to time when a reminder is needed.

The book is pitched at the intermediate player. Although it initially tries to get the beginner on-board in the first few pages, I think the strength is for those 'reasonable' players who want to improve their game another notch or two. At no stage will you necessarily find the depth of strategic analysis that some books have - but it's not meant to be comprehensive in that way. The tips are snappy and stay in the mind, and the common sense in Lou's approach to poker and his easy writing style makes you feel you've got him as a personal tutor for a few minutes looking over your shoulder.

He covers everything from betting, raising, pre-flop starting requirements, pot odds, drawing, tells etc. and I particularly liked it when he is realistic about when you stay in a hand. All too often the new breed of aggressive-style writers stress that you keep the continuation bets and re-raises going even if you only just catch part of the flop. When he states the importance of the 'fit or fold' approach to most flops, and makes it clear there is no shame in letting go of AK or a premium pair when the board and the betting implies you're behind and won't get the correct odds to draw to them, it's a really refreshing change and great advice too. I like the short section of 'betting patterns' as well - none of it new, but explained so concisely and effectively.

Well done Lou - I think you've brought together a series of short articles that will stabilise and improve any intermediate player's play and help them avoid trying to emulate the all-ins and off-suit 'Gus Hansen'/'Phil Ivey' gambles seen on the TV or at the micro-stake games on-line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, to-the-point book, 12 Jan 2010
By 
J. Duckering (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online (Paperback)
By far one of the better poker books. i bought 4 and this is easily the best. It explains all the tips that the others do, but in one place. i.e some of the others only have brief explanations and also miss out some of the important parts that this one provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have clear and concise book, 26 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online (Paperback)
The books simple and coherent layout makes it a must-have item for any poker player, whether they be experienced or not. The book simply has a page or two for each poker tip, from 1-52. The book handles live and on-line playing, discussing odds, reads, betting patterns and anything else that is necessary for any poker player. A must have 'clear and concise book'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dip in whenever book!, 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: 52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online (Paperback)
Leant to me by a friend who I play with regularly this book is a great book for targeting your weaker game play areas as it allows the novice, intermediate or advanced player to get the author's take on so many common situations, how to play them and fantastic examples of how the game can change throughout each tip almost prompting you to think more in depth about each hand that you play to maximise your position even if that means folding! A much friendlier poker book than some of the guides and thoroughly recommend to anyone with an interest in the game. You will certainly won't be the short stack after reading these tips!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quick and easy advice for all levels of poker players, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online (Paperback)
great book and a must have especially for beginners explains all the critical fundamentals you'll need for playing poker brilliantly written and easy to read very usefull book for any poker book collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful!, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online (Paperback)
Good book for intermediate poker players! All tips are useful, most of which the intermediate player will already know. However, this book stresses the importance of positioning which has improved my game significantly. It also explains pot odds which again is another huge bonus to have in your game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and Sweet, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online (Paperback)
A good little read with useful tips and tricks and once making a point goes through it in more depth. Covers all kinds of play from cash to tournament to sit n go's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many tips & such great help, 2 Mar 2013
By 
James S. R. Wilson "I'm seen when I need to b... (uppingham, rutland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online (Paperback)
When I started to learn how to play poker only a few weeks ago I had afew books which claimed they could teach me but sadly I was still confused on how to but then I found this book and thought ah it has tips maybe this will help, then low and behold it did more it taught me on how to bluff properly, which hands would win more & when I should fold in order not to loose my cash. I understood so much more about poker from this book than any other one I had, it was alot easyer to understand how high hands worked and what cards you should use when you have them or they appear on the table. If you want to know how to play poker and win some money this is a book well worth getting as it will help you 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my first poker book aaaaaaaaaaaaaah, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: 52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online (Paperback)
i bet i know a lot more about poker after i read this nice compact but filled book easy to read easy to understand.i went online and won a few hands sadly it was only pretend money bit i certainly had a better understanding of the game,also the game seem far more interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Wojciech (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online (Paperback)
A cheap but good introduction to poker. It is my first book on poker and it allowed to improve my game a lot. I will play a bit more and come back to this book in some time for more recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online
52 Great Poker Tips: At Home, at Tournament and Online by Lou Krieger (Paperback - 13 Mar 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews