Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bags with Paper and Stitch
If you don't buy any other book buy this one, its full of exciting techinques which can be used for all applications. I did see the bags that Isobel Hall has made and they were delightful. A must have book.
Published on 25 Oct 2007 by ChrisEvans

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots to look at.
This beautifully produced book is crammed with enticing photographs of Ms Hall's very skilled work. Her colour combinations are a feast for the eyes.

To reproduce the bags from the instructions needs a reasonable grounding in bag making and I found the same to be true if you wish to make the silk papers, too. For someone as practised as the author, it must seem...
Published on 30 Mar 2009 by Z. Herbert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots to look at., 30 Mar 2009
By 
Z. Herbert "solaan" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bags with Paper and Stitch (Hardcover)
This beautifully produced book is crammed with enticing photographs of Ms Hall's very skilled work. Her colour combinations are a feast for the eyes.

To reproduce the bags from the instructions needs a reasonable grounding in bag making and I found the same to be true if you wish to make the silk papers, too. For someone as practised as the author, it must seem strange anyone needs to be told how in more concrete terms than 'some' fibres and 'some' glue. No doubt with lots of practice and application, one can find the path Ms Hall proves is there.

I did not find this book as helpful or as accessible as Margaret Beal's book, 'Fusing Fabric' (q.v.) which is excellent, but there are some interesting starting points and, of course, the lovely photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bags with Paper and Stitch, 25 Oct 2007
This review is from: Bags with Paper and Stitch (Hardcover)
If you don't buy any other book buy this one, its full of exciting techinques which can be used for all applications. I did see the bags that Isobel Hall has made and they were delightful. A must have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, 25 Oct 2007
By 
P. Morris "bookaholic" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bags with Paper and Stitch (Hardcover)
a must have book for anyone interested in textiles, mixed media and bags of course, full of exciting techniques to explore and expand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bags galore!, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bags with Paper and Stitch (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I wanted some inspiration to restart my own work and so far it's worked! It is a visual treat for any person interested in art/craft work. The descriptions of the work are good and if you wanted to replicate the artwork shown it would be easy to follow. There are useful web addresses and suggestions for stockists. My only wish is that I would have liked a wider selection of textiles usage, but to be fair the book does not set out to make fabric bags so it is my own fault for being seduced by the lovely photographs. This is only a minor problem! If you are a crafter you will value this book for its factual information- if you are like me and love books for their visual treats I would recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bags with paper and stitch, 30 April 2010
This review is from: Bags with Paper and Stitch (Hardcover)
Unfortunately not my kind of book - it is using paper as it says - but I prefer to use fabric. Very intuitive and good instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bags with paper and stitch, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bags with Paper and Stitch (Hardcover)
I did a course with Isobel and this books brings it all back to me. I really recommend it to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bags with Paper and Stitch (Hardcover)
Great book, lovely lady and her husband at workshop I attended . The book is well written and inspirational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bags with Paper and Stitch
Bags with Paper and Stitch by Isobel Hall (Hardcover - 10 Sep 2007)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews