Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2004
Fantastic book for the textile artist. Covers great new techniques for creating spectacular creative embroideries. Each technique is clearly explained with step by step instructions. Ideas use many mixed media techniques, for example: ultra thick embossing enamel, thermo modelling material, straws, felt beads, glue gun relief motifs, puff paint, soluble fabrics and wire. Boasts wonderful full colour photography. Includes a comprehensive list of suppliers of all materials mentioned. This is the best creative embroidery book I have ever read.
0Comment|109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
Whilst this book has excellent coverage of the different techniques that can be used in embroidery; I was disapointed that there was little information on machine embroidery. The book is well illustrated, with clear sketches and lots of georgeous colour photographs. Maggie Grey is certainly a creative and imaginative textile artist, and many of the techniques and ideas can be adapted for readers own projects. An excellent choice for embroiderers on City and Guild courses.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
Cannot praise this enough. Informative and easy to follow with very clear instructions. It is an insparation, as are all Maggie Grey books
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
loved this book, so many good and modern ideas, even my textile teacher loves it,(in fact she has borrowed it!)a good bargain, too
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
Many thanks to Maggie Grey for the generosity with which she has shared such a richness of ideas; almost every paragraph gives a new hint or tip. I particularly liked the way she has structured the book - raising the surface ever higher until we come to fully three-dimensional constructions. The instructions are clear and sufficiently detailed, and the photographed examples gorgeous. As I'm working outside the UK, it is very helpful to have a description of materials not just their trade name. The index could perhaps be a little more comprehensive, but this is a minor quibble. I recommend this book whole-heartedly to anyone interested in textile arts.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
As a textiles designer I am always on the look out for new and inspirational ideas. The front cover of this book excited me, lots of texture and colour- which is exactly what Im after and the book itself did not dissapoint.
It's very infomative and gives step by step instructions in how to produce someting similar to what the artist has made.
It's set out nicely, in chapters and leads you through the processes to get to the final product.
Its colourful, and interesting and very helpful.
I would highly recommend to anyone who wants some new inspiration or wants to learn how to make new things.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Fantastic book.....I am so thrilled that I bought it ! Explains techniques in detail... leaves the reader, enthusiastic and excited about experimenting with just about every type of material, from silk to plastic bags !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
There have been so many innovations and new techniques developed over the past few years that it can be hard to keep up. This book is a great starting point for developing your own personal style showing how you can push your work forwards. The pictures are beautiful and the instructions easy to follow. The techniques range from textured surfaces (which are gorgeous by themselves) through to detailed three dimensional embellishments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
I am really enjoying getting to grips with the ideas in this book. Great for any textile/ mixed media artist. As I am quite new to this way of working there are some new (to me) and interesting techniques in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
This book is fantastic for experts and novices alike ( novice being appropriate for me) It has wonderful step by step guides with amazing pictures and tells you exactly what materials to get and what works best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)