Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration !
Fantastic book for the textile artist. Covers great new techniques for creating spectacular creative embroideries. Each technique is clearly explained with step by step instructions. Ideas use many mixed media techniques, for example: ultra thick embossing enamel, thermo modelling material, straws, felt beads, glue gun relief motifs, puff paint, soluble fabrics and wire...
Published on 14 Jan 2004 by Miss Jowyn N. Jenson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars misleading title
This book has very little to do with machine embroidery - indeed, in this book, stitch of any kind is only as a starting point for the uses of many other materials, products and embellishing techniques.
Published 20 months ago by bonymarony


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration !, 14 Jan 2004
By 
Miss Jowyn N. Jenson "jowynj" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book for the textile artist. Covers great new techniques for creating spectacular creative embroideries. Each technique is clearly explained with step by step instructions. Ideas use many mixed media techniques, for example: ultra thick embossing enamel, thermo modelling material, straws, felt beads, glue gun relief motifs, puff paint, soluble fabrics and wire. Boasts wonderful full colour photography. Includes a comprehensive list of suppliers of all materials mentioned. This is the best creative embroidery book I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raising the surface, 20 Nov 2009
By 
E. Tilley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery (Paperback)
Whilst this book has excellent coverage of the different techniques that can be used in embroidery; I was disapointed that there was little information on machine embroidery. The book is well illustrated, with clear sketches and lots of georgeous colour photographs. Maggie Grey is certainly a creative and imaginative textile artist, and many of the techniques and ideas can be adapted for readers own projects. An excellent choice for embroiderers on City and Guild courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raising the Surface, 30 Mar 2009
By 
Janet Shaw (Wakefield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery (Paperback)
Cannot praise this enough. Informative and easy to follow with very clear instructions. It is an insparation, as are all Maggie Grey books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something new, 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery (Paperback)
loved this book, so many good and modern ideas, even my textile teacher loves it,(in fact she has borrowed it!)a good bargain, too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An informative and exciting, inspirational book, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery (Paperback)
As a textiles designer I am always on the look out for new and inspirational ideas. The front cover of this book excited me, lots of texture and colour- which is exactly what Im after and the book itself did not dissapoint.
It's very infomative and gives step by step instructions in how to produce someting similar to what the artist has made.
It's set out nicely, in chapters and leads you through the processes to get to the final product.
Its colourful, and interesting and very helpful.
I would highly recommend to anyone who wants some new inspiration or wants to learn how to make new things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 27 Jan 2012
This review is from: Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery (Paperback)
Many thanks to Maggie Grey for the generosity with which she has shared such a richness of ideas; almost every paragraph gives a new hint or tip. I particularly liked the way she has structured the book - raising the surface ever higher until we come to fully three-dimensional constructions. The instructions are clear and sufficiently detailed, and the photographed examples gorgeous. As I'm working outside the UK, it is very helpful to have a description of materials not just their trade name. The index could perhaps be a little more comprehensive, but this is a minor quibble. I recommend this book whole-heartedly to anyone interested in textile arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have !, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery (Paperback)
Fantastic book.....I am so thrilled that I bought it ! Explains techniques in detail... leaves the reader, enthusiastic and excited about experimenting with just about every type of material, from silk to plastic bags !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery (Paperback)
A useful book. Lovely illustrations. Very informative and full of good ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, 1 Mar 2014
By 
S. Brown "Sue4books" (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery (Paperback)
Has Maggie ever published a less than wonderful book?!!!
Book contains details of how some of her latest work was made and techniques to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars embroidery ref book, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery (Paperback)
Good ref book to encourage new practices and stimulates new ideas. Good for textile artists and for creative ideas Useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery
Raising the Surface with Machine Embroidery by Maggie Grey (Paperback - 1 Jun 2006)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews