Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lessons from the experts..., 12 July 2009
By 
Sallie (STONE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques (Paperback)
Some outstanding technique instructions on Crewel, Blackwork, Goldwork/Metal thread and Silk Shading. Not the book for those looking for basic overall embroidery "how to". Very well illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very inspiring guide to several embroidery types, 9 Oct 2004
This review is from: Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques (Paperback)
I enjoy this book enormously and find it very helpful. There are 4 sections: Silk shading, crewel work, blackwork and goldwork, each with about 5 projects you can work. There is also an interesting introduction to each style with information about the history of the technique and comprehensive stitch instructions are given at the back of the book. There is also a little background information about the RSN itself and a general guide to equipment and design transfer.
I've given it 4 rather than 5 stars as not many of the projects appeal to my more traditional tastes, but there is a good cross section of both modern/abstract and traditional designs. Also, I think that goldwork would cost a small fortune! Some of the designs use an enormous variety of threads, so be prepared to either expand your stash considerably, or adapt freely.
Also, the book is not *really* suitable for beginners though as, although there are 'Beginners Exercises', they are still rather large projects and don't produce anything you can do something with. For instance, a small, simple flower that could be put into a small frame or card would have been a better beginners exercise in silk shading than the usual 'tile' design.
On the whole though, well worth adding to your collection and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars royal school of needlework, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques (Paperback)
A book that will satisfy the novice and the experienced embroiderer. Detailed work covers shading,crewel work incl jacobean,blackwork and goldwork. For beginners there are 4 projects covering the different stitches and materials, for the experienced, there are projects that you will be eager to do. Plenty of illustrations, easy to follow and understand. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting and informative book, 20 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques (Paperback)
This is a very beautiful book. It has some lovely illustrations, but as a novice was rather too advanced for me as I am not into Goldwork or great family heirlooms. I think this book would be appreciated by an advanced embroidery person. Clare - Coleraine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful reference book, 12 Mar 2010
By 
J. Mullett (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques (Paperback)
This is a serious reference book from the royal school of needlework. They teach you the very basics and then go into the beautiful pictures further on. The four topics they discuss are silk painting, crewel work, blackwork and goldwork. The stitch reference at the back of the book is,nt very good but most embroiderers will have there own stitch books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book is very interesting and arrived in good condition and I am pleased with my purchase., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques (Paperback)
The book is very interesting and arrived in good condition and I am more than pleased with it and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Four basic techniques - limitless possibilities!, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques (Paperback)
This book completely met my expectations with clear diagrams and good advice and tips. Having attended various RSN day courses, it is good to have a text book that you can refer back to if you forget what you were shown on the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Wow, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques (Paperback)
Well firstly its the RSN so I dont really need to say much more, but even so it really is the mopst wonderful book. Clear diagrams, wonderful photos, brilliant instructions. My favourite bit is that it has the same iris design in four different techniques. Now all I have to do is find the time to make said iris!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 3 Feb 2013
This review is from: Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques (Paperback)
Good for all levels, clear stitch diagrams, photos of embroidery and list of supplies of haberdashery. Any keen embroidress should have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques, 7 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques (Paperback)
One of the better books I have purchased and very descriptive detail for the stitching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques
Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques by Sally Saunders (Paperback - 5 April 2003)
16.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews