Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars want to know about gardening under cover? here's the book
The book is a comprehensive guide to growing under plastic,including fleece, black plastic, cloches of all different materials, cold frames and finally showing you how to erect a Polytunnel. It's easy to follow instructions make it simple for a beginner like me to follow.It includes a comprehensive guide to the growing of flowers and vegetables, taking cuttings and...
Published on 5 Jan 2002 by Mrs. Vivian Henshall

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very very basic
As a keen but amateur allotmenteer with around 10 years experience, I found this book very disappointing. I don't consider myself an expert by any means but there was little I learnt from this book. It's a combination of common sense and the occasional opinion.
I have given it 2 stars because I suppose a beginner might learn something from it but it's certainly not...
Published on 4 July 2012 by Erick McDerrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars want to know about gardening under cover? here's the book, 5 Jan 2002
By 
Mrs. Vivian Henshall "susieanna" (Winsford,, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gardening Under Plastic: How to Use Fleece, Films, Cloches and Polytunnels (Cloche Gardening) (Paperback)
The book is a comprehensive guide to growing under plastic,including fleece, black plastic, cloches of all different materials, cold frames and finally showing you how to erect a Polytunnel. It's easy to follow instructions make it simple for a beginner like me to follow.It includes a comprehensive guide to the growing of flowers and vegetables, taking cuttings and overwintering tender perennials. It is a must for gardeners new to Polytunnel culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold for the polytunnel gardener, 23 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Gardening Under Plastic: How to Use Fleece, Films, Cloches and Polytunnels (Cloche Gardening) (Paperback)
This book is everythign the polytunnel gardener needs to get going.

It starts with an in depth guide to plastis for the garden - clochs, polytunnels and a range of others.
Then the real treasure begins - a very well illustrated guide through all the stages from seed planting to bug prevention. And if that isn't enough there is a plant by plant guide through the vegtables you can grow, when to grow and how to grow.

If you own or will own a polytunnel this is essential on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference for Old Hands & New Gardeners Alike, 31 Aug 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardening Under Plastic: How to Use Fleece, Films, Cloches and Polytunnels (Cloche Gardening) (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my husband who has had his nose buried in it ever since! He is an experienced gardener but his recently acquired polytunnel has brought new challenges and this book has helped him out tremendously. Now I will get the chance to sit back and enjoy the abundant crops that I am sure this book will help him achieve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars polytunnel, 26 Feb 2010
This review is from: Gardening Under Plastic: How to Use Fleece, Films, Cloches and Polytunnels (Cloche Gardening) (Paperback)
what a little gem - so much information and illustrated so well - worth every penny. would like to have seen an article showing how to design and build your own from off the shelf products - but other than that superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardening Under Plastic: How to Use Fleece, Films, Cloches and Polytunnels (Cloche Gardening) (Paperback)
Bought the book as a guide before buying a polytunnel and I've just started reading it, but so far I've picked up some excellent tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very very basic, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardening Under Plastic: How to Use Fleece, Films, Cloches and Polytunnels (Cloche Gardening) (Paperback)
As a keen but amateur allotmenteer with around 10 years experience, I found this book very disappointing. I don't consider myself an expert by any means but there was little I learnt from this book. It's a combination of common sense and the occasional opinion.
I have given it 2 stars because I suppose a beginner might learn something from it but it's certainly not for the outside gardener who wants to move indoors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practically Perfect, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Gardening Under Plastic: How to Use Fleece, Films, Cloches and Polytunnels (Cloche Gardening) (Paperback)
Other books focus too much on which polytunnel to get, where to put it and how to build it. Once you have your polytunnel, other books tend to be a bit lean and leave you needing another book for the long term.
This book goes much further and will be more useful.
This book gives what it promises. It includes all the basic things need to know about protected cultivation methods as well as detailed guides to the protected cultivation of vegetables, fruit and flowers. There's also a useful chapter on the garden nasties that may be attracted to this type of cultivation method.
It was not easy to source, but having perused a library copy (also like gold dust) we knew we needed it on our bookshelf.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Polytunnel novice, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Gardening Under Plastic: How to Use Fleece, Films, Cloches and Polytunnels (Cloche Gardening) (Paperback)
Good value book and great to use as a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars gardening under plastic, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardening Under Plastic: How to Use Fleece, Films, Cloches and Polytunnels (Cloche Gardening) (Paperback)
I was hopeing to find a book that was some thing that would give me some help and that i would be able to use week by week
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardening Under Plastic: How to Use Fleece, Films, Cloches and Polytunnels (Cloche Gardening) (Paperback)
Such a useful book, it has been very useful and given me inspiration for my allotment. Lots of good ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews