Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reference work, 27 Dec 2008
By 
J. Roberts (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falconry and Hawking (Hardcover)
Phillip Glasier's Falconry and Hawking is by far the best book on this little known art. His style of writing is as close to being mentored by the well versed hunter as you'll probably ever get! It really does read as though you are being taught, but never patronises the reader, it's a real pleasure to pick-up, and a problem to put down.
The book (now the 3rd Edition) is quite weighty, and contains just about everything to get you started and more. One peice of advice given by him is to get one book, and read that one only, and having ignored that (!) I have bought a few, but this is the one that knocks the rest into touch. It was recommended to me by my mentor with twenty years experience, and she was not wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible for falconers, 26 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Falconry and Hawking (Hardcover)
This is in fact a very popular hawking book which any beginer and consagrated falconer should have. All the topics are considered, from manuring to hunting. Language is esay to follow and many good pothographs and schemes will help you to success in and enjoy these art/sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buzz, 9 May 2010
By 
P. Kenyon "RedTail" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falconry and Hawking (Hardcover)
Had one before and lent it and never got it back .So i had to buy another one,I would highly recommend it to anyone who as a Bird of prey,or any one who is thinking of getting one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this book., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falconry and Hawking (Hardcover)
I was a complete novice when it come to falconry.
I bought this book to give me a better idea and insight in to this ancient skill.
This book is not only very detailed but has many sketches and photos to assist your understanding. It is obvious that it has been reprinted, but more modern techniques have been added as each print had been done.
I'm very happy with this book, and no longer feel like a complete novice when speaking to time served falconers.
But please don't think that after reading one book that you know enough to keep and fly a bird of prey, it's just a very good start in to the world of falconry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 29 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falconry and Hawking (Hardcover)
Superfast delivery and in excellent condition. This was for my mother and she was over the moon with this book. Would defo recommend x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book that covers every aspect of Falconry, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falconry and Hawking (Hardcover)
A must have for every falconer. Phillip Glasier was one of the most influential British falconers of all time & his experience is invaluable to the novice & expert alike. This book covers all birds your likely to come across in falconry, how to make a set up for your bird & train it for hunting. Very comprehensive but unfortunately doesn't go into enough detail for those wishing to really understand training techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth reading, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falconry and Hawking (Hardcover)
I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to learn about falconry or hawks as it is full of very good information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 30 Jan 2011
By 
T. Wilson (Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Falconry and Hawking (Hardcover)
My husband is impossible to buy for. I had the, what turned out to be, brilliant idea of booking a day's falconary training for him as his Christmas pressie. I bought this book to wrap up for under the tree.

Only problem was that I ordered it well within Amazon's delivery time, but they ended up not being able to supply it. so it was sourced via eBay.

A great book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!!!!!!, 7 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Falconry and Hawking (Hardcover)
I had only read one other falconry books before i purchased this understanding the bird of prey by nick fox he recommended this several times in his book which is a great book aswell this goes into great detail i am a beginner but i think any falconer would get something out of this book very easy to understand a great read just buy it!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars falconry and hawking, 1 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falconry and Hawking (Hardcover)
arrived in good time and in condition as described, I had trouble getting this in the past so I was pleased to see it was available again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Falconry and Hawking
Falconry and Hawking by Phillip Glasier (Hardcover - 31 Aug 1998)
28.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews