Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the first few years but something for everyone
Everyone has to start somewhere and Ron Brown makes the start clear for each season. Good as a quick reference book or "what do I do now" guide it also gives some excellent ideas what to do as you gain more confidence in handling the bees. The diagrams and references are very clear although do sometimes require you to jump to distant parts of the book. The style...
Published on 27 Jun 2002 by R Robinson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!
This is a reprint of a classic book for any budding beekeeper. Unfortunately the font size has been reduced and a number of photographs and diagrams removed. The outcome is a book which is difficult to read and rather unappealing. I would recommend the older version which I purchased and found far more user friendly.
Published on 17 Mar 2012 by Abandoned


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the first few years but something for everyone, 27 Jun 2002
By 
R Robinson "Greytech" (LISS, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beekeeping: A Seasonal Guide (Hardcover)
Everyone has to start somewhere and Ron Brown makes the start clear for each season. Good as a quick reference book or "what do I do now" guide it also gives some excellent ideas what to do as you gain more confidence in handling the bees. The diagrams and references are very clear although do sometimes require you to jump to distant parts of the book. The style is very much that of a practical beekeeper rather than a literary expert but is quite readable all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wasn't disappointed, 20 May 2011
By 
K. Jonas "Cobalt" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had heard about Ron Brown's book when it was published years before and this edition is beautifully presented. I like the feel of the hardcover and it is a pleasure to hold in one's hands. The format is simple and whatever one needs to find in any particular moment is easily found. I like particularly the way he has given advice for beginners and then for more experienced beekeepers. This is helpful as beekeeping information can seem very daunting for those just starting. I highly recommend it and it is a lovely gift to give too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brilliant clear book, produced in a lovely hardback edition, by a local beekeeper. Nicely laid out according the the season, and full of the kind of practical advice that is essential to us beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book by a beekeeper rather than a keeper of bees, 17 April 2012
By 
G A. Hood "Muswell Metro" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A pleasant read and informative style rather than the usual instruction books written by experience Bee farmers that dwell on the mechanics first rather than the experience. It is therefore ideal for those who wish a first book on beekeeping to read before taking the plunge into beekeeping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 17 Mar 2012
This is a reprint of a classic book for any budding beekeeper. Unfortunately the font size has been reduced and a number of photographs and diagrams removed. The outcome is a book which is difficult to read and rather unappealing. I would recommend the older version which I purchased and found far more user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good to read in conjunction with Ted Hooper, Guide To Bees and Honey., 22 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully presented, hard wearing book. Contemporarily laid out, good diagrams and procedural guides. Nicely structured for the developing beekeeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beekeeping: A Seasonal Guide
Beekeeping: A Seasonal Guide by Ron Brown (Hardcover - 30 May 1985)
Used & New from: £7.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews