Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2002
Thinking about all the diversity there is in lace making styles, I wouldn't dare to call any book THE book on bobbin lace. However I believe that this book gives a nice ( and large) collection of patterns in Torchon, Bedforshire or Beds-Maltese, Cluny and Bucks Point lace. The first pages describe the basic stiches in lace making but is too limited too be seen as a tutor for beginners.
What is reay nice about this book is that the last chapter is about joining and mounting lace of fabrics or in frames. With his 188 pages, it is certainly one of the larger collections available and will easily give you several years of lace making pleasure.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
For me that is visually learner is does not have enough visual explanations. the contexts of the book is very good,
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
This book arrived promptly and is as described by the seller "used - in good condition". It is almost as new apart from slight yellowing of the cover due to age.
This is an excellent teaching manual for bobbin lace making with good explanations of the materials required. It covers various types of lace so is very useful for those starting out as opposed to books specialising in one particular type of lace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
As a returning lace-maker after a 30 year break, this is exactly what I needed to get me back into this wonderful hobby.
Clear, detailed instructions on a wide variety of techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
This book has a staple amount of basic designs and then builds upon this information,Great as a starting point with good descriptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
Not as clear and easy to follow as other instruction books for the novice but probably easier with practice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Bit older than wgat I thought but will read it to see the different techinques
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2009
i bought this book to take the place of one that went missing,it was like an old friend coming home.thank you for the very quick service.

kind regards,diane tecklenberg
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
Lovely book good fast service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)