Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed, love story, lightsabers, need I say more?
I have to hold my hands up and admit to having eagerly anticipated the release of this novelisation for many months now, and I think that the wait was worth it. The story revolves around the developing romance between Anakin and Padme, set against the backdrop of a crumbling republic. The Jedi Knights are stretched thin, and dissent amongst their ranks as to the proper...
Published on 24 April 2002

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anakin's character lacks conflict
While many reviewers focus on the long exposition and the flat acting in "The Attack of the Clones," the greatest failure of the new Star Wars movie is much more basic. The story ignores the character established for Anakin in "The Phantom Menace." Anakin was presented and described by other characters as an open, kind-hearted and empathetic child...
Published on 27 May 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed, love story, lightsabers, need I say more?, 24 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (Hardcover)
I have to hold my hands up and admit to having eagerly anticipated the release of this novelisation for many months now, and I think that the wait was worth it. The story revolves around the developing romance between Anakin and Padme, set against the backdrop of a crumbling republic. The Jedi Knights are stretched thin, and dissent amongst their ranks as to the proper course of action during the upcoming storm heralds the rise of the dark side of the force. We are presented with an insight into the charcter of Anakin, and the scene is certainly set for his descent into Darth Vader. Salvatore has managed to present a well-balanced mix of swords, sorcery and romance within the novel, however there were one or two instances where I became a little impatient for someone to grab a lightsaber and start doing some jedi force stuff! The fight scenes were themselves well structured, and have made my anticipation of the upcoming movie even more fevered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anakin's character lacks conflict, 27 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (Hardcover)
While many reviewers focus on the long exposition and the flat acting in "The Attack of the Clones," the greatest failure of the new Star Wars movie is much more basic. The story ignores the character established for Anakin in "The Phantom Menace." Anakin was presented and described by other characters as an open, kind-hearted and empathetic child. He befriended Qui-Gon Jinn and Padme with an open heart and risked his life for them. The Anakin in "Attack of the Clones" has none of those qualities. The writers and movie makers thus fail to explore the real conflict that they had previously set up for his character. The whole question to be answered by this trilogy, according to interviews with George Lucas, was to be "How could someone become a Darth Vader? What could happened to make someone turn from good to evil?" Had they followed Anakin's original character, we could have seen a character who was idealistic and struggling to do good, only to have his attempts met with frustration and treachery. The character could have had a joy for life and adventure that resulted in nothing but setbacks. We could watch as his illusions about the world crumbled until, totally disillusioned, he gave up in anger and frustration and turned to evil. While there are hints of this in the movie, there is no more than that. The death of his mother should have been the perverted result of dark forces in league to use him, while he naively trusted the world. Instead, her death was merely the result of living in this dangerous universe. When he kills her tormentors and admits the deed to Padme, we should see the same sort of conflict present in "Lawrence of Arabia", when Lawrence, torn with conflict, admits that the thing that bothered him most about executing a man was that "I enjoyed it." His basic goodness early on in the movie could have been the source of both humor and empathy for his character, both of which are notably absent, but which were abundant in prior Star Wars episodes such as "The Empire Strikes Back." This conflict in Anakin's character was to be the central theme of the movie. Because it is so sorely lacking, the movie loses both the depth and meaningfulness that it should have had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if the film is as good as the book it is worth a watch or 3, 2 May 2002
By 
Ian Mays "ianmays" (Newport Pagnell) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (Hardcover)
If you are a die hard star wars buff or just an occasional fan you will not be disapointed by this excellant novelistation, episode 2 is based 10 years after episode 1 but unfortunatly not a great deal has happened except that anakin is now a teenage jedi apprentice and queen amidala is now known as senator padme amidala, the book is very well written and does keep your attention (the only book i have ever read in two days), but it is mired (hopefully unlike the film) by nearly three chapters of lovey, dovey banter between the aforementioned 2 which is a bit of a shame as the relationship is so predictable even if you did not see episode 1, and the time could be spent developing other themes more, like anakin's mother or jango fett past (and these wont be answered in episode 3), but the action is always top notch especially the ending (i am not really giving anything away) with the clone & droid armys and the jedi going at it full tilt and the descriptions of yoda's skill's leave you with a new found appreciation of him (it), but unfortunatly like episode one it does suffer a tiny amount from lack of character definition (which maybe answered in episode 3) like what did count dooku do to be such a great jedi (and why he did what he did) and where did jango fett aquire the now famous armour, but except for this it is a brilliant read and well worth the money and does carry on a couple of small strings from the novellisation of episode 1 like anakin skywalker and the tusken raiders which i found gratifying.
But all in all it is a excellant novelisation of what promises (again) to be the best film of the year, read the book before you see the film and you may understand more of the events and what the future has in store.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ruins enjoyment of the film. Watch it first., 19 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (Hardcover)
I have been a Star Wars fan for many years, and am also an avid reader of the Expanded Universe series of books. After the slight disappointment of The Phantom Menace, I was really looking forward to the next chapter in the series.
Usually I read novels after I see the films, but this time I decided to do it the other way round. The only other book i had read by the author - R.A Salvator - was another Star Wars novel, Vector Prime. I didn't like what he done with the story - it felt like he had been handed an outline of the plot, but simply designed a basic story to fill the gaps, lacking emotion in the most important scenes. These traits seem to have been carried over to this book.
When I first saw the book, I was surprised at its size - just over 300 pages to cover a 2.5 hour film, plus extra scenes. Immediately I thought this would not be able to do the film justice.
Comparing the book to the film, the story did stay faithfully true to the action, and the extra bits in the book did add some new insight. But these extra bits also spoilt the experience, as they revealed too much too early, spoiling the suspense. The story may have stayed faithful, but it was also too brief. In a novel I expect there to be much more insight, and more explaination into a charactors actions and emotions. What I got was the bare outline of the story. Some scenes in the film were better at expressing emotion than the novel was - a trait that is often reversed in other cases.
The bottom line - watch the film first. Then, if you wish to fill in some of the gaps left by the script, read the book. And then pray Mr Salvatore stays well away from the Star Wars universe from now on. A potentially great film tie-in novel has been let down by flawed writing methods. Wait for the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy title and a welcome return to form, 17 May 2002
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (Hardcover)
Clearly influenced by the comments made on Episode 1, George Lucas is back on form with the story, and R.A Salvatore was the perfect person to pull off the novelisation.
Taking us one step closer to the birth of Darth Vader, this story investigates the motivations behind Anakin's fall to the dark side and develops how the seemingly innoccuous Chancelor Palpatine was able to forge his empire.
There are a number of Action scenes worthy of mention. Not the least of which involves Anakin weilding two lightsabers.
The most interesting part for me was the arrogance of Anakin. He suggests he is more powerfull than Yoda, yet it takes Yoda's control to save Anakin's life at one point. Clearly, it is this arrogance and Anakin's love for his mother that turns him into the helmet wearing monster we all know (and love!)
With the success of his New Jedi Order novels, R.A. Salvatore was the obvious choice for the novelisation and it paid off. By adding some extra narrative to the story to fill out the action a bit, he also added extra depth to the characters. Although I'm still puzzled as to why Padme Amidala would fall in love with a man who slaughtered all those tusken raiders! This isn't the only plot hole, but you can't blame Salvatore for this as it comes straight out of the screenplay.
Those few faults are massively overshadowed by the pace and excitement imbued in the novel. It more than captures the rip roaring action of the film and helps develop the story beyond that of the silver screen version.
Definatley a good purchase for any Star Wars fan, and well worthy of a read for anyone into fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well paced story with an action packed finale, 25 April 2002
By 
anvilsdancer@aol.com (Kings Lynn, Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (Hardcover)
An excellent addition to the star wars saga, the opening is carefully crafted to bring you up to date with the story and also straight into the action, the characters are true to what we previously knew of them but yet have grown and have become realistically more than what they were before, the new characters are very realistic and fit into the galaxy we know seemlessly.
The pace of the story builds nicely and slows mid term for the blossming of a relationship, but quickly increase's from this point to the finale.
The changing scenery of planet to planet fits this time as there is reasoning behind the movement and the movement works well to give the book the time span needed for all the events to take place.
The epiloge is an excellent piece of writing giving a half-finished, more to come, ending and an enlightening twist feel to cap the finale so the reader is left wanting / waiting for more but not left hanging, unfurfilled and letdown.
I can not recommend this book highly enough, the story is well thought out, well written and most of all highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN NOVELISATION OF THE MOVIE, 24 May 2002
By 
K. J. Verma - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (Hardcover)
I really love this book as I also love the movie itself. I love movies as much as I love books but unlike movies, books don't need a time restriction and therefore you really get a feel for the characters and can really understand where they are coming from, especially Padme, who's past and feelings aren't really dwelled upon at great depth in the movie. I think Salvatore really put across her character beautifully. However, I do think you should see the movie first because atleast then it won't get spoilt either way, bcos in the book there are alot more incidents that weren't in the movie. Also you get a real feel for Obi-Wan here aswell and amazingly cool Jango Fett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Clones have attacked!!!, 2 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (Hardcover)
Star Wars is back in the shape of Attack of the Clones. Yet the novel, written by RA Salvatore, isn't really the great start to getting to know this part of the story.
The novel is great at the beginning and sets the scene for this new chapter yet in some chapters notably the battle descriptions things lack. But nonetheless Salvatore gives us great insight to the new species introduced and gets inside the heads of Anakin and Padme on their journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones
Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones by R. A. Salvatore (Hardcover - 22 April 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews