Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grisham is finally back!
Greed is good or is it? These are the words that best describe 'The King of Torts'. Having read all of Mr. Grisham's previous books and been thoroughly disappointed by some of the most recent ones ('A Painted House' & 'The Summons') I didn't quite know what to expect this time. However, Mr. Grisham is after all the author of some of the most exiting legal thrillers I have...
Published on 10 Feb 2003 by Steen Soerensen

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Apathetic King of Torts
Having read most of John Grishams previous novels I eagerly awaited the 'King of Torts' the book starts of brilliantly with the excellent character development and pacey plot that Grisham fans expect. It wasn't until I was half way through that I started to realise this book was seriously below par.
Grishams books are hard to fault due to his extensive research and...
Published on 25 Feb 2003 by fooxman


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grisham is finally back!, 10 Feb 2003
By 
Steen Soerensen "Iceman" (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The King of Torts (Hardcover)
Greed is good or is it? These are the words that best describe 'The King of Torts'. Having read all of Mr. Grisham's previous books and been thoroughly disappointed by some of the most recent ones ('A Painted House' & 'The Summons') I didn't quite know what to expect this time. However, Mr. Grisham is after all the author of some of the most exiting legal thrillers I have ever read ('A Time to Kill', 'The Pelican Brief', etc.) and I therefore decided to give him another chance. Luckily he didn't let me down this time - 'The King of Torts' is without doubt the best Grisham book in years!
The book presents the often repeated and much used story-line "Lawyers are greedy, bottom-feeding sharks and generally a menace to society" - so there is nothing new here. Nevertheless, the story is interesting and the book in many parts proved to be a real page-turner.
The story centers around a bright young public defender, Clay Carter, who happens to be at the wrong place at the wrong time and therefore reluctantly ends up defending a young man charged with murder. Carter, who is overworked and underpaid, and to a certain extent scarred by his father's premature 'retirement' from the legal profession is fed up with his current job. His relationship with his long-term girlfriend (and her obnoxious parents) is also suffering and he is therefore easy prey for the mysterious Mr. Pace, who approaches him with a deal too good to turn down - a deal that could make him the new King of Torts.
Driven by his desire to succeed and the promise of massive cash rewards Carter soon finds himself attacking 'corporate evil' i.e. one of the largest pharmaceutical companies in the world, who knowingly has launched a faulty drug into the market.
Although Carter does not know it yet he will soon realize that he is in way over his head and that only a very thin line separates 'The King of Torts' from 'The King of Shorts'....
At times some parts were far fetched but overall I believe Grisham in 'The King of Torts' has found the balance of being descriptive without being too wordy and thorough without becoming boring.
This book is vintage Grisham - a good and suspenseful read that kept me interested the whole way and I would therefore recommend it to anyone interested in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reading!, 14 Mar 2003
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The King of Torts (Hardcover)
Clay Carter had worked at the Office of the Public Defender for too long. His uptown girlfriend, Rebecca, wanted to stop working, get married, buy a large home, and have children. Her parents keep sticking their rich noses into the situation also. Of course, this made the situation worse, especially when her daddy gets Clay a high paying job (thinking Clay would never be able to get a better one on his own) and expected Clay to snatch it up. But Clay refused to be beholden to her family or under their thumb, even if it meant losing Rebecca.
Things changed when Max Pace entered the picture. Max became Clay's source to getting several cases against pharmaceutical companies. Clay's settlements would change his life. Then he stumbled upon a conspiracy too horrible to believe!
**** While reading this book I kept being reminded of John Grisham's last novel. I now believe it was foreshadowing this book. There is nothing shocking to the reader here or any unexpected twists. Any reader with a lick of sense will easily be able to predict what is going to happen in the main character's near and distant future. However, the story is still pure joy to read and written in a way that only John Grisham can do. Recommended reading! ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Apathetic King of Torts, 25 Feb 2003
This review is from: The King of Torts (Hardcover)
Having read most of John Grishams previous novels I eagerly awaited the 'King of Torts' the book starts of brilliantly with the excellent character development and pacey plot that Grisham fans expect. It wasn't until I was half way through that I started to realise this book was seriously below par.
Grishams books are hard to fault due to his extensive research and brilliant writing style, he manages to twist and turn the plot without throwing the reader off, but this excellent writing style was completely lacking in the second half of the book.
Whilst I appreciate this is not supposed to be a 'thriller' (unlike most of his efforts) I found the book suddenly lost pace and became predictable after such a good start, it seemed like Mr Grisham had lost interest in the excellent tale he'd set out to tell and instead just switched off.
Rent this book from a library if you're a Grisham fan, it's not even worth the discounted price unfortunately...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars class action greed, 26 Jan 2005
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The King Of Torts (Paperback)
I'm a Grisham fan and unlike some, I wasn't disappointed by this book.
It details the story of a young lawyer, Clay Carter, who comes across the chance to sue a large company, via a class action suit, for a large financial reward.
Following through on his chance Clay is thrust into the big leagues of class action attourneys, and soon gets to meet fellow tort lawyers who have made their fortunes by signing up many clients and suing on their behalf, skimming off a hefty slice of the settlement for themselves.
He feels good about himself and getting carried away sees the opportunity to earn another bucket of money, and jumps in feet first .
This is a story of greed and excess at the expense of the people you should be there to protect. I feel its an example of how the focus today is on the quick and easy buck at the expence of what you may have initially set out to achieve, with a valuable lesson learned at the end.
All in all I think this is a solid enough read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars easy to put down, 21 Sep 2006
This review is from: The King Of Torts (Paperback)
This is my third book by Grisham (along with the Broker and the Firm). None of them have been great reads but this is the worst so far. The plot is weak and predictable, ALL the characters are unsympathetic (including the "hero"), and the writing is lifeless. Maybe the films are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 3 Jan 2005
This review is from: The King Of Torts (Paperback)
This is a classic rise-and-fall theme, beautifully delivered in a package bursting with suspence and excitement. The book contains many of the typical Grisham elements that make his work so incredibly readable; I had to pace myself so as not to finish off the book in a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointmnet, 13 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The King Of Torts (Paperback)
I have not read many of this authors books but had heard they were a good read. I settled down and quickly got into it but it never developed. There is a story in there somewhere. The characters were flat, there was absolutley no tension and the promised big finish just fizzled out. I cant believe this writer is so popular.
Best bits were where he brings in the parents of his girlfriend, they are beleivable but even his close work colleagues never once leave the page. As for the model, what a waste of what could have been a great character. We dont even get to hear what happens to her at the end. There are no real courtroom scenes which can be such a pleasure to read if handled well.Is this one of those hybrid books where parts of it are written by a student perhaps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves, 10 Dec 2003
By 
fivestarfrankie (chippenham, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The King Of Torts (Paperback)
If you read most of the reviews of the hardback edition then you'll find I am in total agreement with them. The first half of this book is Grisham at his best, the pages are turning at amazing speed. I wonder therefore if he got a not very competent pupil to write the second half, if not then it's Grisham at his worst!
Five stars for the first half and one for the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beyond belief, 26 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The King of Torts (Hardcover)
Having thoroughly enjoyed a previous Grisham book because although the plot was unlikely it was just the right side of plausible and not completely beyond probability.
However about 100 pages into this I just lost interest. The main character is entering into a make believe world where it so obvious that there will be a huge payback for his sudden rise to riches, yet he fails to spot it. This is not entertaining new fiction, it is just pure fairy tale with the Grimm like sting in the tail...be careful what you wish for, you may just get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grisham Back on Top Form, 12 Feb 2003
This review is from: The King of Torts (Hardcover)
Anyone who likes John Grisham and was dissapointed with " A Painted House " Will love this book as it is Grisham returning to top form, as good as "A Tim to Kill" & "The partner".
All the characters are instantly likeable particulary Clay Carter & Patton French, a measure of how good this book is, is that I was getting genuinely concerned about the number of Dyloft cases which would raise their head ( Read the book and find out)
Apart from being a brilliant story it is also an analysis of the way money and power corrupt and ultimatley destroy someone.
Nice One John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King of Torts
The King of Torts by John Grisham (Hardcover - 4 Feb 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews