Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars56
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2014
This was a nice survey on drugs and society, everything from crack to LSD to sugar to TV. Very informative read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Now this is a good book, all books that was published by Terance McKenna I've found to always be very interesting, informative and packed with a punch. I would recommend any of his books (as there is a few), there alot of discussions of Terance McKenna on YouTube talking about physcoactive drugs but it's not the same as chilling out sitting down and delving into this book. I'd give this book a rating of 5*'s..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
Interesting theories: some really solid, other more speculative.

A good author: actually a legend in the psychedelic field.

A must read to put it straight. You can't get away with it: if you are interested in human evolution/development, anthropology, etc. or just curios about the subject and have some material to think about, then buy and read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
McKenna investigates the influence of naturally occurring psychedelics on the evolution of man in a way that is utterly absorbing and offers interesting, and unconventional, suggestions as to how humanity might get back on track to living sustainably on our planet instead of living off it, using it a a resource to be plundered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
Bought this book as a freind lent me a copy once upon a time(15-16 years ago). which sent me on a quest of self discovery. very interesting and informative. written from the perspective of someone who has actually experienced these substances rather than some alloof anthropologist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
This was the first of Terence Mckenna's work I had the pleasure of reading. It was very well written and terence comes across as a very articulate author, the book it very informative on the subject of the human drug relationship since its very beginning, and enchantingly worded!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
This book is an essential read for anyone interested in history, be it from an interest into ancient cultures, ethnobotany, ethnic oragins or simply looking to answer the question "Why are we who we are?".
Terrance McKenna is a fantastic author whos, even most trivial descriptions come accross as prose. His referaces to existing material is very well referanced and the overall book is presented superbly. His world view and perspective is one of someone who has great vision and insight into the workings of the human mind and condition.

The ideas contained in his book reflect on every aspect of who we beleive ourselves to be as a species in every aspect of humanity. The history presented is compelling, convincing and derived out of a unique insight into the world which few seldom attain.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Very good condition.
Perfect reading. Incredible author.

A radical history to be read and taught by and to adolescents and adults, students and non students, but fundamentally and specially for skeptics (as I was).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
A classic. If you have a curiosity for enlightenment, psychedelia, evolution (whatever it is) and the place of ritual our history then this book is well worth a read. It will surprise you though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
A brilliant, detailed, passionate and radical documentation of the beliefs and rituals of ancient shamanic amazonian people. His sheer depth of knowledge comes flooding through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)