Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic expedition into the origin of human consciousness
I have been listening to Terrance Mckenna's podcasts and talks for the past four months or so but hadn't got round to reading his books thus I decided to pick Food of the Gods, his most prominent work some would say next to the Mushroom Growers' Guide. Although an extremely eloquent and astoundingly knowledgeable man, I had been dubious of his stoned ape theory. According...
Published 13 months ago by magijack777

versus
3 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did'nt enjoy!
Hi,
This is a good book,with informative information but most of it was'nt for me.I did find myself strongly agreeing with the author however with regards to drug use through the use of psycoactive plants etc and that this was theraputic and spiritual in nature to human beings,and that this is something that today's culture tries very hard to deny us,and when you...
Published on 15 Oct 2009 by Mr. David Neil Tait


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Life-changing, paradigm-shifting, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an enchanting journey through the history of mankind through plant hallucinogenic. A wonderful, enlightening account if the transcendental vistas wrought open by McKenna's insight into the transformational power of hallucinogenics and their sacred role in mankind's past and future. In short, a must read for anyone seeking a detailed account of drugs, their history and effects, and the particular benefits of hallucinogenics. If you are seeking to experiment with plant hallucinogenic, this is a wonderful guide written by a very gifted, scientifically-literate expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food Of The Gods: The Search for the Original Tree of Knowledge: A Radical History of Plants, Drugs and Human Evolution (Paperback)
nice book by terence mc kenna, the guy know what he's writing about
book for everyone who wants to know more about psychedelics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food Of The Gods: The Search for the Original Tree of Knowledge: A Radical History of Plants, Drugs and Human Evolution (Paperback)
I brought this as a gift and he said it was the best birthday present he got!!! So I've not read the entire book but the bits I did read were educated and resonated with the reader, Giving you have a keen interest in the theory and history of drugs. In other reviews the ideology is described as somewhat far fetched but I'd say it was more enlightening, giving a perspective adverse from the norm. I would reccomend this book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Belter!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Frum a yurkshurmuns punta view, t'book wa greet. Language ha neyer bin used before in mi presence t' describe psychedelics. Absolut bangin book it wa. 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food Of The Gods: The Search for the Original Tree of Knowledge: A Radical History of Plants, Drugs and Human Evolution (Paperback)
Very good condition.
Perfect reading. Incredible author.

A radical history to be read and taught by and to adolescents and adults, students and non students, but fundamentally and specially for skeptics (as I was).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Book - A Must Read!!, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food Of The Gods: The Search for the Original Tree of Knowledge: A Radical History of Plants, Drugs and Human Evolution (Paperback)
Now this is a good book, all books that was published by Terance McKenna I've found to always be very interesting, informative and packed with a punch. I would recommend any of his books (as there is a few), there alot of discussions of Terance McKenna on YouTube talking about physcoactive drugs but it's not the same as chilling out sitting down and delving into this book. I'd give this book a rating of 5*'s..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very inspiring and eye opening!, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food Of The Gods: The Search for the Original Tree of Knowledge: A Radical History of Plants, Drugs and Human Evolution (Paperback)
Terence McKenna simply elates the reader intellectually by criticising and building on the way modern society has forgotten its archaic roots and has shifted into a male-dominant society by doing so. He does this by combining facts and opinion which he has gathered from a lifetime learning of ethnobotany, metaphysics, shamanism, as well as heavily using and annotating the effects of psychedelic drugs, most notably; Psilocybin containing mushrooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it.., 4 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food Of The Gods: The Search for the Original Tree of Knowledge: A Radical History of Plants, Drugs and Human Evolution (Paperback)
. A once cherished book that grew legs and walked... Reading words of wisdom once again. A priceless gem. Recently read Thom Hartmann 'the last days of ancient sunlight'... A book with similar theme of an archaic revival in the context of current environmental crisis... Both books are highly recommended ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought....., 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A once cherished book that grew legs and walked... Reading words of wisdom once again. A priceless gem. Recently read Thom Hartmann 'the last days of ancient sunlight'... A book with similar theme of an archaic revival in the context of current environmental crisis... Both books are highly recommended ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food Of The Gods: The Search for the Original Tree of Knowledge: A Radical History of Plants, Drugs and Human Evolution (Paperback)
If you have an intrest into the world of the drug user from the mental prospective then this is the book for you, I enjoyed it greatly, recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews