Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2016
Much needed and arrived quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Thorough guide, Used for work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Very useful . I run a journalism course at a local college so comes in extremely handy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
A necessity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Needed for course work.looks good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Excellent text
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
I personnel did not find this book very helpful. But you may find this one better. I passed on to a friend who loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
This is simply -the- book to read if your job involves any form of writing. You'll never forget the lessons you'll learn from this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2012
I bought this book in second hand. I gave it to two members of my familly,asking them what could they tell about the book. I am please to say none of them could tell it was a second hand purchase. It also arrived earlier much earlier than expected.
About the book - I already knew it as it was lent to me by a former tutor. I haven't got into it yet.I found the section on writing positive sentences very challenging...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
Following in the tradition of the great teachers of good English style like George Orwell, I doubt there is a better book on the journalistic or writer's art, or good style in general than this. A few uncharitable reviews suggest the book is 'only for journalists': nonsense. A few of the chapters are clearly aimed at newspaper writers, but most of the book provides universal examples of good writing and editing techniques and best practice that will improve the quality of any writer's work, even fiction writers (perhaps them most of all, who often have no clue about good style and could do with going back to basics). For instance, there are several long lists of useless or misleading words and phrases that one sees in newspapers everyday, but which can easily be eliminated to improve readability, such as 'the fact that..' can normally be substituted by 'that' or 'regularly' instead of 'on a regular basis' and many other examples. It provides a general guide to the principles of good style, and as someone who writes in other languages besides English, I know these are universal. The book's structure allows you to dip in and out of it whenever you need tips or advice, and so functions as a readable reference work, but it can also be read cover-to-cover, which is worth doing at least once, as it's humorously written with lots of insightful examples. For instance, Evans explains how British journalism has paper rationing during and after the war to thank for becoming the most concise among the Anglo-Saxon countries, forcing writers and editors to ruthlessly cut excess verbiage, the surest way to improve readability and precision of a text as he demonstrates throughout.

This work is an essential companion for anyone involved in serious and regular writing or editing of any kind, and which provides the best exposition of good style in print today. One critical point is that some of the examples are somewhat dated and for the book to maintain its freshness and appeal to modern audiences, the publishers ought to consider taking examples from contemporary reporting, of which there are unfortunately plenty. That's why only 4 and not 5 stars. Finally, for those who are looking for a guide to fiction and story writing, they might consider Stephen King's On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.