Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great story of 'Keep Calm and Carry On'
I was not sure what I was expecting from my first free Kindle story. I have to say that I very pleasantly surprised, as Shackleton tells his story in a very matter of fact way that still fails to hide the sheer drama of what happened with his expedition. It would appear that almost every aspect of the expedition went awry from Day One, and yet he comes across as either...
Published on 19 Oct 2010 by N. Butt

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly interesting
This is a tale of courage of course but the first part is written in a beautifully descriptive way. The ice floes and natural effects are so well described that you can almost see them and feel the cold - I think that our everyday winter wear must be warmer than the gear worn by the explorers. Sir Edmund was certainly dedicated to his men and animals and just would not...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by Fengirl


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great story of 'Keep Calm and Carry On', 19 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was not sure what I was expecting from my first free Kindle story. I have to say that I very pleasantly surprised, as Shackleton tells his story in a very matter of fact way that still fails to hide the sheer drama of what happened with his expedition. It would appear that almost every aspect of the expedition went awry from Day One, and yet he comes across as either a compulsive optimist or else a prime example of the 'Keep Calm and Carry On' brigade. He tells his story by the facts, and it is up to the reader to add in the countless days between notable events or to understand the paucity of the food. What he does convey is the sheer enormity of the Antarctic, the remoteness, the simplicity of their equipment and the initiative of his men. It is far more than just a diary of events, and the imagery that it conjures up transforms this into a spectacular tale from an era where we were continuing to push the envelope of what man could achieve. I suppose that some people will also enjoy the opportunity to judge Shackleton as a leader of men, and this book certainly does give an insight into the loneliness of his position, the stark options that he had to choose between and the risks that he led his men into. After reading this book, I intend to re-visit the TV mini series with Kenneth Branagh as I remember this as a very strong portrayal of the expeditionShackleton [DVD] [2002].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars making life in 21st Century UK seem very easy., 16 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an epic story of a struggle against very harsh conditions by fifty-eight or so Antarctic explorers. As a tale it is very powerfully told because it is related in the manner of a mission report eliminating much of any emotional strain being felt by the author. Shackleton emerges as a superlative leader, surrounded by ordinary men caught up in an extraordinary feat of survival and endurance.

As a Kindle book it would have been greatly improved by the inclusion of maps and any illustrations mentioned in the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping account of the century's greatest survival story, 23 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: South: The story of Shackleton's last expedition 1914 - 1917: The Story of Shackleton's Last Expedition, 1914-17 (Paperback)
This is Shackleton's own account of the now legendary Antartic expedition, a story of one of the most astonishing feats of polar escapology. It is an intensely dramatic story, but what sets this new edition apart are the additonal notes by Peter King who has examined the latest research on the whole affair. This provides a fascinating insight into what actually occurred, as we learn about the oversights in the planning of the expedition that led to near-disaster. To accompany the prose are the stunning photographs taken by Frank Hurley, the expedition photographer. These now classic photos are in themselves a superb essay on composition, contrast and dramatic lighting. All in all, a thoroughly absorbing read, and the numerous photos and captions make it equally good for just dipping into now and then. The large format of this Pimlico edition making it ideal for the coffee table at Xmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a wonderfully illustrated adventure!, 26 Jun 2000
By 
This review is from: South: The story of Shackleton's last expedition 1914 - 1917: The Story of Shackleton's Last Expedition, 1914-17 (Paperback)
The account of Shackleton's outstanding expedition is extremely interesting to which the large collection of Hurley's photographies provide a wonderful illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent & informative book....terrible main review!!!, 27 Dec 2009
By 
A. Wytchard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South: The story of Shackleton's last expedition 1914 - 1917: The Story of Shackleton's Last Expedition, 1914-17 (Paperback)
this is an intresting read & an excellent first hand account for anyone intrested in polar travel. it is illustrated by some excellent & informative photographs. however i have written this review beacause of the terrible amazon review by john crane who obviously has little to no knowledge of shackleton, scott or polar travel. scott along with shackleton first pioneered to beardsmore galcier route during scotts first expedition, secondly shackleton got within 100 miles of the pole using ponys & manhauling which was the same method that scott later employed, dog travel would have almost certainly have met with failure due to the crevasse fields. thirdly it was the unseasonable & unforseen bad weather temperatures down to -40 with a windchill of -90 which fatally slowed scotts pace along with frostbite, injuries & a fuel shortage (caused by their pace slowing) that led to evans, oates, wilson, bowers & scotts deaths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Antarctica at its most amazing, 10 Aug 2011
Having no prior knowledge of this story, I was left dumbfounded and in awe at the tenacity of these explorers from the turn of the 20th century.

I spent two weeks talking incessantly about Antarctica while reading this book, looking at the continent's amazing geography on Google Maps and imagining how horrific the environment must have been for the crew of the Endurance. The author paints a realistic and objective look at the stuggles of his friends and compadres during their epic journeys and undertakings. The story really touched a nerve with me and I frequently found my head shaking, agog with disbelief at some of the elements that Shackleton jotted down.

This is a completely true tale, making this book one of the most affecting ones I have read for a long time. If you like adventure, history, geography or are just curious about the world I'd highly recommend. What an amazing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last great polar adventure, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Robin Monks "robinm0" (Glossop, Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is a contemporary account of the last great polar adventure of the early 20th century. It is an excellent read, particularly in the first two-thirds, when Shackleton is describing, first-hand, the trials and tribulations of the 'Endurance' party. The remainder, about the 'Aurora', which formed the other part of the expedition (laying depots for the intended trans-Antarctic journey, the original purpose), is a more fragmented narrative. The appendices can be safely skipped through, except for an early mention of the effects of whaling on the local populations of various species. As others mention, the lack of maps and illustrations prevents a 5 star rating for the Kindle edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shackletons story, 28 Sep 2010
Review of the free kindle version of this book. A very good read, even more so for being a true story. A bit harsh at times and makes you glad you can turn on the heating. The writing style and some of the attitudes are a bit dated, but i suppose this gives you additional background over a more moderm acount. As a free book its a pretty simple, to my mind, is it worth the effort to download it and then read it - i thought so. the only downside is the lack of pictures, maps in particular (in the kindle version)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly interesting, 23 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a tale of courage of course but the first part is written in a beautifully descriptive way. The ice floes and natural effects are so well described that you can almost see them and feel the cold - I think that our everyday winter wear must be warmer than the gear worn by the explorers. Sir Edmund was certainly dedicated to his men and animals and just would not give up.
I found the second part of the book (where he went off on another mission) less interesting as the beautiful descriptive phrases were not so abundant. I think that perhaps the script for this came from a different source; but it was still interesting enough to keep me hanging on until the end.
Not too many typos, all in all a pretty fair deal for free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 16 Jan 2011
What a great book the Edwardians in there most practical and stoic.

Perhaps if we were more like this nowadays life would be better for us all.

This was my first kindle read and was enjoyed very much.

Its interesting that even at the turn of the 20C some people had realised that over fishing of whales was a major and growing problem.

Recomended for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews