Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat out of date now but still an excellent place to start
Pomeroy's book was one of the first to tackle the real lives of Greek and Roman women, and though it has been superceded by a huge literature on the subject, it's still an excellent and worthwhile place to start.

Starting with the Greek and Roman pantheon of goddesses, she works through a historical survey of women's lives taken from both material and literary...
Published on 22 Dec 2006 by Roman Clodia

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intersting enough but not what I was expecting
Bought this book for myself hoping to read about the lives of women in antiquity. The book is about this topic but gives quite a huge amount of reference and talks a lot about reference. I got lost most of the time, lost interest and started skipping pages. The author goes on a bit for my liking, the book appears to be quite serious dissertation about classical works...
Published 11 months ago by Maria Tenor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat out of date now but still an excellent place to start, 22 Dec 2006
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Goddesses, Whores, Wives And Slaves: Women in Classical Antiquity (Paperback)
Pomeroy's book was one of the first to tackle the real lives of Greek and Roman women, and though it has been superceded by a huge literature on the subject, it's still an excellent and worthwhile place to start.

Starting with the Greek and Roman pantheon of goddesses, she works through a historical survey of women's lives taken from both material and literary evidence, starting with the Bronze age, working through classical Athens, the Hellenistic period, the Roman republic and through to the late empire and christianity.

Because of the vast time period covered, this is a book which surveys the reality of women's lives rather than going into specific details, but there are some excellent points made, and ample bibliography for scholars wanting more specific details. Altogether an easily-readable volume that packs a huge amount of relevant information into a very little space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Women's history isn't quite so simple..., 11 Jun 2011
This review is from: Goddesses, Whores, Wives And Slaves: Women in Classical Antiquity (Paperback)
I bought this for pleasure, I didn't expect my entire perception of Women and femininity to change upon encountering this. For too long I have been taught in my classics lessons that women did nothing more than look after their household, living like slaves. Pomeroy proves that simply is not the case! I would recommend it to any one with an interest in women's history, classics and even feminism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, well written, entertaining and informative, 13 Oct 2010
By 
Schneehase (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goddesses, Whores, Wives And Slaves: Women in Classical Antiquity (Paperback)
Despite the minimal amount of written evidence for women's lives in Classical Antiquity, Sarah Pomeroy has produced a book that brings those bits of information to fascinating life. This is a well written book that acknowledges the fact that there is little to go on, but Pomeroy makes the most of what's she's got to work with.
I highly recommend this book for anyone who's studying the Classics and for anyone who's interested in how people in the past lived their lives and for women who don't think feminism is relevant to their lives any more - have a look at this book and see how far feminism has brought you and be grateful!
Also, if, like me, you've ever wondered why the Greeks had to go to war to get Helen of Sparta back from Troy - Pomeroy has a very convincing explantion of that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goddesses, Whores, Wives And Slaves: Women in Classical Antiquity (Paperback)
I bought this book for my my son as background reading for his Classical Civilisation A level. It is well written and covers more than he really needs but I thought i might read it too when he has finished with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of fascinating information. Easy to read. Background info for A level classics. I would recommend this to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very readable, you dont feel like your learning., 4 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Goddesses, Whores, Wives And Slaves: Women in Classical Antiquity (Paperback)
This is a very good book, well written so that it is very easy to read. Its almost like reading a novel as you feel drawn in further to see what happend in the next century down the line. The book is structured chronologically starting with the bronze age and ending with the romans(1,500 years). It is as the title suggests about all women in antiquity, and apart from the pure fact includes and discusses many tales and writing, that bring the book even more to life. Also it does not presume you know latin. But includes all the refrence points you may want to look up if your studying this subject rather than just curious. What can I say but this is definately worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellant, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all i can say is .it was my kind of book ,could not put it down...lots of things to learn about woman through the ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intersting enough but not what I was expecting, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goddesses, Whores, Wives And Slaves: Women in Classical Antiquity (Paperback)
Bought this book for myself hoping to read about the lives of women in antiquity. The book is about this topic but gives quite a huge amount of reference and talks a lot about reference. I got lost most of the time, lost interest and started skipping pages. The author goes on a bit for my liking, the book appears to be quite serious dissertation about classical works. Must admit that didn't finish and I found it a bit disappointing. I would not recommend it as a light read about gender issues, it's quite difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goddesses, Whores, Wives And Slaves: Women in Classical Antiquity
Goddesses, Whores, Wives And Slaves: Women in Classical Antiquity by Sarah B Pomeroy (Paperback - 5 May 1994)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews