Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
lovely book. Really well written and good quality. would recommend the other books in the series. a good price aswell
Published 22 months ago by joey

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Brace - I'm about to get scathing
Brace, I'm about to get scathing. Oh boy, I'm about to give my lowest rating of the entire year. And what book deserves this dubious honour? Duncton Found, by William Horwood, the third book in the Duncton Chronicles trilogy. In this book the Stone Mole has come, to lead moledom back to grace and the Silence of the Stone.

My biggest impression of this book is:...
Published on 15 Jan 2010 by A. L. Rutter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lovely book. Really well written and good quality. would recommend the other books in the series. a good price aswell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duncton Found, 6 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. A. Rhodes "angie" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duncton Found (Duncton chronicles) (Hardcover)
Rhese books by William Horwood, are fantastic, the moles, have great characters, It is hard to put into words, how great these storys are, but I recommend, you buy them, Duncton Wood is the first one, I now have them all,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sadness in end, 19 Nov 2007
By 
Ms. G. A. Golland "Rah" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duncton Found (Duncton chronicles) (Hardcover)
When I first read and fell in love with Duncton Wood it was through Horwood's first book of the series, and the romantic tale of Bracken and Rebecca. This book has moved on a LOT since then, both in plot, religion, and meaning.

Whereas Duncton Wood felt like a beautiful romance to me, with a hero and a heroine, conflict in the middle but a good resolution in the end, this book brought closure in a much harsher way. So many books today end happily and are quite predictable, but not Duncton Found. The twists and turns of this story made it un-putdownable, and I found myself in tears at several unexpected parts of the story. I daren't give away too much of the plot, because I feel that even giving away some of the characters' names might spoil it for any that hasn't read the first two books in the series!

It did feel in this book that it was harder to really fall in love with any of the new characters. My favourite characters had made their first appearance in the first two books, but then this book is about the sweeping change of moledom, and times were hard, and it was hard to be mole in those times. So maybe my difficulty in connecting with the new characters reflected moledom's difficulty in connecting with eachother? I don't know!

Whatever the case, I highly recommend this book, but only after you've first read Duncton Wood and then Duncton Quest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duncton Found (Duncton chronicles) (Hardcover)
Excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love this is was brill didnt thing i would get it so i was well impressed will use again in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duncton found is the best book of the chronicles., 11 May 1999
By A Customer
I think that the way william horwood has brought the Stone Mole character into these wonderful books is brilliant. Reading Duncton Found only made me what to read the follow-up book-of-silence series. ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read!, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommended to me by a friend and I must admit was rather hesitant as a book about moles did not rate highly on my reading list. Read the entire series in sequence (the 3 Chronicles and the 3 Silence) and I thoroughly enjoyed every book. Tended to think of the moles as being human rather than mole as you follow their lives of love, war and peace through the ages. Quite brutal in parts. William Horwood is an excellent writer and I would commend these books to anyone over the age of 18!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it arrived in good condition and on time and very well packaged it arrived in good condition and on time and very well packaged not muv
ch more to say its good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an excellent read. The dealer sent it well protected and on time. It was in excellent condition for the price, and I recommend this dealer to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tales for "Tolken" readers, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Those that like Tolken and have a love of reading great long tales should try reading these books, they won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duncton Found (Duncton chronicles)
Duncton Found (Duncton chronicles) by William Horwood (Hardcover - 1989)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews