Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely Amazing Book
I have just finished reading this book and was never very interested in Afghanistan before this. But after reading this book I think those of us who don't live in war torn countries have a lot to be thankful for.
It was a wonderful book, yes, it was written in a funny way, but what this woman went through and to still be grateful for so much is truely amazing.
Published on 29 Jan. 2004

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good book on Afghanistan
One would have to either question Ms. Shakib's intentions while writing this book or question her sources. As an Afghanistani I found finding a lot of what she wrote suspect. She wanted to mention all the extreme casing ranging from the times of the Soviet to the Taliban era, which would cover a lot, too much in fact. In doing so, she messed up the timeline of the events...
Published on 10 Nov. 2007 by N. Naderi


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely Amazing Book, 29 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book and was never very interested in Afghanistan before this. But after reading this book I think those of us who don't live in war torn countries have a lot to be thankful for.
It was a wonderful book, yes, it was written in a funny way, but what this woman went through and to still be grateful for so much is truely amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational journey against all odds., 19 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep (Paperback)
This book kept me gripped to the end, I read it in two nights. Brilliant story but leaves you desperate to know where Shirin-Gol is today.
Exceptional insight into homeless refugees in their unending flight to find peace. Much suffering only shows Shirin-Gol as a rock to her husband and children and inspiration to anyone who feels the mountain of life is too hard to climb. I shall keep this one on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 9 Feb. 2004
By 
Kirsty McMahon (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep (Paperback)
I wish i had the time to go back and read this again. It is confusing at first, but then you get into the story. It is wonderful account of the life of a typical Afghan female - the book starts with the main character as a child. It shows her struggles as she tries to bring up a family - it really makes you want to do something to help.
An amazing book, well worth the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding the life of Afghanistan women, 8 April 2003
By 
Miss S Arisoy (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep (Paperback)
This book is written about the life of a typical woman in afghanistan. It moves through the hardships of war, of constant moves, and of struggling to keep her family together and alive.
With a harrowing account of childbirth on the floor of a makeshift hut, and the moving account of her son being turned away from the school he loved, this book really makes you want to weep. It also makes you appreciate just what you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an extraordinary and moving story, 4 Jan. 2002
By 
This review is from: Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep (Paperback)
where does shirin gol get her strength from? how does she survive rape humiliation fleeing? it is a story of love for her children and for her husband, a story of loyalty for her family. it gives a picture of the situation in afghanistan of the war and the taliban. every man and woman in the west should read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - must read, 12 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep (Paperback)
One woman's incredible history -- it's a disturbing, true story but reads almost like a novel... the kind you can't put down. At the same time, it is fairly impartial and is written in a very special sort of objective journalistic form. It also imparts a great deal of knowledge about the recent history of Afghanistan. One of the most moving and memorable books I have ever read. Read it and learn. Read it and weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supurb, 23 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep (Paperback)
This is a truely supurb book about shirin gol. An Afghan woman detailing her life, her love for her husband, how she gave all she had to support him and her family and how her country has been torn apart by war with the Russians and The interference of the English before them and you can't help but feel for her and her people and with the bombings after the twin towers it makes you wonder how these people manage to go on. The story is quite harrowing in places and it makes you appreciate the way of life you have in the western world. I've been reading the German version and it states that the book was originally a documentary made for Germany TV and financed by the TV company ARD. This may also be available to buy although i'm not sure if there is an English version (yet).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good book on Afghanistan, 10 Nov. 2007
By 
N. Naderi "book lover" (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep (Paperback)
One would have to either question Ms. Shakib's intentions while writing this book or question her sources. As an Afghanistani I found finding a lot of what she wrote suspect. She wanted to mention all the extreme casing ranging from the times of the Soviet to the Taliban era, which would cover a lot, too much in fact. In doing so, she messed up the timeline of the events and even the ages of some of the characters. The historical accuracy is off as well - though the events of what she wrote about are in fact true i.e. Soviets, Mujaheddin, Taliban, etc. there were a few things that she wrote during these eras that did not make sense - giving the idea that perhaps her sources were either lying to her or she filled in gaps without doing her own research.

Somtimes she would go on talking about or referring to a character without giving them a name, even a fake name to protect the identity of the person. It becomes tiresome to have to continuously read "tea house owner" or "this sister" or "that sister." Not only does it belittle the reader but it also downgrades the characters themselves to the point where they are just faceless identities who are not important.

A very important issue that she fails to even mention is the ethnic issue in Afghanistan. She calls everyone "Afghan" and goes on talk about Afghan this and Afghan that. In Afghanistan, there are many different ethnicities from Tajik, Pashtun, Uzbek, Hazara, and more and it has always been a major issue in the country. The ethnic issue was not mentioned at all.

What Ms. Shakib succeeded in creating is a book pushed by the organization of RAWA which has brainwashed the author, using her to promote their own agendas. It was extremely boring and though there are a few good lines sporadically throughout the book they were lost in the midst of all the inaccuracy and questionable details.

If you would like to read a good book on Afghanistan that is much closer to capturing the real events then I would recommend Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Sept. 2006
By 
M. Mukhtar "Moazma" (UK, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book. Its one of those books that are written in the style that has elegance and written for the character that is narrating depending on theit age at the time of writing. It starts of with Shirin Gol's character as a child and her way of thinking when she is younger questioning herself why? things occur. As she learns and develops from a teenager to a adult her experience travels with her and is shown in her personality and her personality that enables to answer those questions she asked her self as a child? She exploers her world and situations and is able to develop her own understanding of the world. This is a thorough account and as you read on you begin to get more enticed in the book and the style in which it is written. I loved it and found it difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, 23 Aug. 2006
By 
A. Adam (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep (Paperback)
Absolutely amazing. Could not put the book down, Read it in 1 day! Very moving, brings tears to eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep
Afghanistan, Where God Only Comes To Weep by Siba Shakib (Paperback - 4 April 2002)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews