Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

  • Jesus
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars27
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2000
Wilson's "Jesus" is a rather strange work: the author warns us first of all that any conclusions drawn are all at best probable, more likely merely possible. These conclusions themselves are generally exaggerated, and on occasion ridiculous. In spite of all this, however, the book achieves what it apparently sets out to: namely, to a) place the Gospels in their context, i.e. not works of either history nor deceit, but rather records of spiritual tradition intended to acheive a particular end; b) to show Jesus and his entourage as real people, products of their race, time and environment, each with a political agenda of their own, and not the faceless waifs we are presented with in the Gospels. The end result is therefore rather paradoxical, Wilson's sharp, witty and incisive mind ocassionally lapsing into (intentional?) inanity, nevertheless impressing the reader with a sense of being able to read between the verses.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
A very fine ,thought provoking,biography of Jesus.Keeps one's interest and I read it at one sitting.Obviously this book builds on other Jesus scholarship ,notably Geza Vermes many Jesus books. 'Jesus' coveris as much ground as one could wish for, in a single volume. As with most scholars taking the historical approach,the author is far more sceptical than I am.But I welcome such questioning as making me answer those questions by digging deeper than I had before.Or at least coming to terms with the fact I cannoy answer them by logic and reason alone.I'm sure I'll be referring to this book many times in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
this is a highly intelligent book about a fascinating character or person.it is much needed in an age when religion is lacking thought.

every page makes you think about the foundation faith of europe which today is losinjg out to brainless secular entertainment. a.n. wilson is an intelligent thinker. and a superb writer.

the writer clearly doubts the divinity of christ. he exposes the myths in christianity. and the anti jewish in the gospels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
As a beleiver i found it hard to take but well worth the read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
This Book would be valid but Wilson has since found his Faith again after he restudied Christ's words and realised there was an authentic voice there that couldn't be faked!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
Had read part of this book before and felt it was a must have. Excellent, deeply humbling and thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Excellent presentation as a paperback. Arrived in pristine condition. Most pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 September 2013
Wilson was already a well-known and respected literary critic and biographer when he wrote this book.
But he wasn't a theologian, he wasn't an historian, and as of 1989 he was no longer a Christian.
A good basis for writing an objective book about Jesus theChrist, you might think. But it isn't. In fact Tom Wright, sometime Bishop of Durham with a lengthy string of books to his name (and a new "full length" study of the life and work of Paul about to be published) has a neat little book out called "Who was Jesus?" which includes reviews of three books with "alternative views on the Christ and Christianity by Barbara Thiering, John Spong and ... (drum roll ... A.N. Wilson's 1992 book "Jesus", the follow up to his 1991 tirade against relion in general "Against Religion". (He seemed to like succinct tites).

But guess what. After sentencing himself to 20 years outside the Christian community, and after the veritable Tsunami of publicity at the time of his "unconversion", Wilson found his way back (a pretty courageous step in view of the previous publicity, even if it was twenty years in the past (i.e. in 2009).

So when other reviewers make remarks like "Christians won't like this book" they might want to consider in what context "Christians won't like it".

Personally, as someone who takes the so-called "New" atheists seriously (albeit often with tongue in cheek) I find books like this, Richard Dawkins' later efforts, Christopher Hitchens' rant, Victor Stenger's pseudo scientific approach (specifically "God: The Failed Hypothesis" and "The Folly of Faith") very necessary to my research into the "New" atheist mindset and how to respond to their claims.
55 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Brilliant service! 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
well written book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)