Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb sneak preview into our true life here and over there
This is a superb read, you feel like a fly on the wall, reading everyone's actual testimonies into their encounters after an out of body, death experience. Completely fascinating and a valuable insight into our larger existance. Although it's 25 odd years old, it reads as fresh and modern as if it was last week or next month. Experiences involved being out of relativity,...
Published on 20 Nov 2006 by Ms. Vanessa Wagstaff

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spoilt possibilities
Much as the bereaved need the solace of the convincing portrayal of the afterlife, and as well placed as Dr Kubler-Ross is to offer it, her over-reach in this work is all too obvious, and damages her ability to secure trust.
Published 7 months ago by Sophie Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
Probably the best book to read as a first stop in this subject. Absolutely riveting stories from those who have died and returned to tell the tale-and lots of them.
Simply written and clear, with the salient points discussed in between stories.The author goes to lengths to provide possible explanations for these encounters ,but they are all very personal experiences,told in their own words.
There is alot of evidence in this book,but you can take away whatever you wish from it,whichever camp you belong to-sceptic or believer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only half the story?, 17 April 2011
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
"Life after life" is Raymond Moody's classical book on near-death experiences (NDEs). It was originally published in 1975.

Unless I'm mistaken, the very term NDE was invented by Moody himself. I read the book during my most materialist-sceptical period, and was deeply intrigued by it, although I still came out as a non-believer in the end. I also read Sabom, Morse and Brinkley. How I reacted to the latter, you might as well imagine!

Today, Moody's book gives a strangely nave impression. Yes, really! He seems to have been genuinely convinced that the phenomenon he was describing was something more or less unheard of before. In reality, of course, NDEs in one form or another have been reported throughout recorded history. Indeed, Moody did find similar experiences when reading ancient religious or philosophical literature, including the famous "Tibetan Book of the Dead" and the writings of Emmanuel Swedenborg. Visions of departed loved ones are even more common, and detailed in a later book by the author, "Reunions".

Another nave trait of "Life after life" is the almost rational and logical way in which the author describes the near death experiences. In reality, many NDEs are (frankly) pretty weird, as the ones described by Moody's own assistant Brinkley in "Saved by the Light". Nor are all NDEs necessarily positive, although many of them are. For the darker side, see P.M.H. Atwater's "Beyond the Light".

Perhaps "Life after life" was written during a period when respectable society was still too secularized and materialist for the heavier stuff to be widely accepted? Even the author himself seems surprised by his findings. Yet, they simply confirm what "folk psychology" has always held true: for good or for worse, there is indeed life after life. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating research on an age-old topic, 7 Aug 2013
By 
F. M. M. Stott (Devizes, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
It is interesting that this book is still selling well, although it was originally written in 1975. I'm sure this is due to our (continuing) interest in the possibility of an afterlife, for although by now, the phenomenon of Near Death Experiences has been well documented, the subject never fails to fascinate.

Dr. Moody chronicles some of his hundreds examples of NDEs meticulously, and never tries to convince the reader of their authenticity. He simply lays the facts before us - together with all the arguments for and against - and allows us to draw our own conclusions.

And it is hard not to find the results of Dr. Moody's research interesting, at the very least, and at best, reassuring. The fact that Elizbeth Kubler-Ross (who spent a lifetime working with the dying) endorses the book and wrote the preface, adds strength to the theory that there is indeed life after life. I recommend this book to anyone facing death, whether their own or that of a loved relative or friend. And doesn't that, ultimately, include us all?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and reassuring, 24 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
Research giving accounts of the experiences of people who have "died" and returned to life.
Given in a clear and matter of fact manner. Helps to remove the fear and mystery surrounding the process of dying. Very helpful and surprisingly life asserting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
I got this for my dad, along with another book. He hasn't started reading this book yet, but I know he will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spoilt possibilities, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
Much as the bereaved need the solace of the convincing portrayal of the afterlife, and as well placed as Dr Kubler-Ross is to offer it, her over-reach in this work is all too obvious, and damages her ability to secure trust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars afterlife, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
not read yet so cannot give comment on this maybe get roung to it later when I retire ok see you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars life after life, 2 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived promptly,a little more used than I expected, despite the fact that I'd ordered a used copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life After Life
Life After Life by Raymond A. Moody (Paperback - 1 Mar 2001)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews