Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb sneak preview into our true life here and over there
This is a superb read, you feel like a fly on the wall, reading everyone's actual testimonies into their encounters after an out of body, death experience. Completely fascinating and a valuable insight into our larger existance. Although it's 25 odd years old, it reads as fresh and modern as if it was last week or next month. Experiences involved being out of relativity,...
Published on 20 Nov. 2006 by Ms. Vanessa Wagstaff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
just ok
Published 4 days ago by P.Stewart-Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking., 27 Mar. 2013
By 
JLS "wingin' it" (Sunny South Tyneside) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
This is the first book I've read which lists comprehensively the experiences of those who have had NDE's. It also describes the various common elements in these experiences. The approach is professional but sympathetic and unbiased. I would recommend this for anyone wanting to learn more about what happens to us after we die. All that is required is an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clinical yet empathic way into near-death rudimentaries, 6 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
It may be 25 years old but it's not as seriously dated as you might think. Perhaps this is why Moody's work has become one of the seminal books on the near-death experience.
It is clinical, in that it is set out with the logic of a thesis but the use of case studies and quotes from the actual people he studied makes it very human and engaging. So much so, that I began to consider the experiences in light of my own life.
It's a good book to pick up if you are new to the area. Not only because of its definitive status but also because it doesn't pretend to know more than what it's presenting and it does question its own hypothesis. As it is the definitive title, you can see the beginnings of what is now the accepted lingo and knowledge. It's useful and interesting to read about the stages of the near-death experience in the context in which it was first explored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Denial of God has its consequences, 9 May 2015
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
Although a believer myself, I have always wondered why one should bother to be kind and good to one's fellow human beings if death was the end of it all. The personal experiences in this book give a vivid description of how life continues as a direct consequence of the kind of life one led here on earth. Light is also shed on the fate of unbelievers who have to wait "outside", so to speak, until they begin to search for God - sometimes a hard struggle! With the support and guidance of divine helpers, they eventually arrive at their rightful destination in the beyond. On the other hand, a noble life combined with good deeds will be rewarded.
In my opinion, this is a very comforting and encouraging book for those seeking a higher path. I recommend it highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting book, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
took this one to work to read a doctor getting all the stories of people going to the light and down the tunnel after ill health i went down the tunnel as a kid during an operation so good to read other people experiances
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary "medical" phenomenon, reported by a doctor, 14 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is so much part of our mythology, it has become part of our language: Your life "passes before your eyes" and you "see the light" but what is the truth about dying? After hearing so many stories himself, Raymond Moody decided to find out more. He interviewed some of the many hospital patients who had been through clinical death and returned. Their tales were all different, coloured by their individual preconceptions and expectations. To some, the light they saw was an angel or Jesus Christ himself, to others he was a spirit guide. Dr Moody examined the common elements of these narratives in a compelling account that cannot be ignored, whatever it tells us about the afterlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this books gives us hope, 5 April 2014
By 
MIGUEL J. CABRERA (WASHINGTON D.C., D.C. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
when a loved one is gone you want to know what happens to him or her
here you can begin todiscover different experiences that can give us hope in the afterlife and hope in mmeting the loved ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting but clinical look at near death experiences, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book about NDEs but as it is aiming to be a proper scientific account, it comes across as curiously flat for such an amazing subject. When the author recounts interviews verbatim, it is truly fascinating and heart warming but there is an awful lot of general summarising - a lot of people said they experienced this, and 75% of people experienced that, and so forth. However it gives a good general overview and the author is a medic who is trying to get other medics to look at NDEs as true experiences rather than side effects caused by brain damage or medication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a thought-provoking read, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
This is a well-written and intriguing book, full of fascinating accounts of NDE's. I recommend comparing the accounts with references to death, afterlife and resurrection in Holy Scripture. I am a Christian and did not find any conflict there. This book is greatly reassuring to anyone afraid of dying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 9 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
Probably the best book to read as a first stop in this subject. Absolutely riveting stories from those who have died and returned to tell the tale-and lots of them.
Simply written and clear, with the salient points discussed in between stories.The author goes to lengths to provide possible explanations for these encounters ,but they are all very personal experiences,told in their own words.
There is alot of evidence in this book,but you can take away whatever you wish from it,whichever camp you belong to-sceptic or believer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still a great book, intriguing and informative., 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Life (Paperback)
I first bought this book in the 1970s when it was first published. After purchasing the latest edition I can report that it has lost none of its original fascination and the accounts are just as valid and intriguing today as they were then. After all, these experiences do not change with age, the fact that this book is just as valuable in the information it delivers as a new book written today, shows that these NDE experiences must have some legitimacy. A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life After Life
Life After Life by Raymond A. Moody (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2001)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews