Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henry VIII Man and Monarch, 12 July 2009
By 
Harry Firth (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henry VIII: Man and Monarch (Paperback)
I consider this book is brilliant.
I have many books on the Tudors but this one provided me with
much more information, pictures and descriptions of people and documents that I have not seen before. I am not a professional historian but I have a keen interest in the subject (Tudor and Stuart history and events).
I would strongly recommend this book to anybody irrespective of a particular interest in the Tudors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive without being dull, 9 July 2009
By 
J. Hutchings "jjhutchings" (Framlingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henry VIII: Man and Monarch (Paperback)
I was lucky enough to catch the Henry VIII exhibition at the British Library. What a kaleidoscope - not only rich in artefacts and items, but one had the great pleasure of hearing Dr David Starkey deliver the audio track. An experience not easily forgotten.

This publication is beautiful. Not only does it list, as far as I can see, every item at the exhibition, but does so with plenty of space - it is not reduced to a mere list with pokey pictures. I could go on about how 'each item is lovingly reproduced', but really, this is a book to be seen rather than a review to be read, and it is a very reasonable price.

As for the content, the exhibition and thus the content focus hugely on Henry's early life. You are over halfway through before you hit any real scandal. Starkey and Co have managed to get their hands on some outstanding items, include Henry's prayer roll.

If you can't get to the exhibit, this book will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insight into henry viii, 10 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII: Man and Monarch (Paperback)
Anyone interested in history in particular the reign of Henry Viii will find this book informative and fascinating. The book supports the exhibition currently being held at the British Library. It shows picttures of the exhibits at this exhibition which date to the time of Henry. Many of the items have never been displayed to the public in this wAy before and the book provides a lasting reference to these many historical items which help to bring this period of history alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henry VIII -Man and Monarch, 2 Mar. 2010
By 
Champollion (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII: Man and Monarch (Paperback)
This book is a faithful, comprehensive, and exhilarating accompaniment to a wonderful exhibition. All items are recorded in the book and represent a treasure trove of Henry VIII and the Tudor world. Some exhibits, are difficult to access, so to have them all together is a great opportunity.
With David Starkey and Susan Doran overseeing it all you are guaranteed quality in terms of narrative authority and editorship.
For those interested in the world of the Tudors this is a must have!
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Sept. 2009
By 
Ms. C. T. Denham "catherine d" (Harold Park Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Henry VIII: Man and Monarch

Superb book. Wonderful photographs and illustrations. Complimetns the excellent exhibition. Fantastic insight to the Tudor history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henry VIII Man and Monarch, 26 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Henry VIII: Man and Monarch (Paperback)
Subject matter is well covered in this edition with good illustrations. Purchased for use in A level course and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Henry 8th. Man and Monarch' - Starkey, 30 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Henry VIII: Man and Monarch (Paperback)
Henry VIII: Man and Monarch

Absolutely excellent. Hard to put down. Great value for money and a quality product from every perspective! Wish I could meet Daid Starkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 21 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII: Man and Monarch (Paperback)
Not so much a history of the great man, than a visual treat. The text describing documents, pictures and items makes you feel much closer to the times and events of the period. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII: Man and Monarch (Paperback)
A good purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Henry VIII: Man and Monarch
Henry VIII: Man and Monarch by David Starkey (Paperback - 14 April 2009)
Used & New from: £15.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews