Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasures to delight the eye and illuminate the mind
I love maps and I love London: what a combination!

This book is a companion to the exhibition held at the British Library in 2006-07. The book is split into four sections - London before the Great Fire, the age of elegance, the Victorian metropolis, and the shock of the new - and each section has a page or sometimes two pages devoted to particular aspects of...
Published on 7 Oct 2007 by Nicholas Casley

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pictures not maps
Very disappointing-there is a world of difference between maps and illustrations of maps-it is not possible to discern street names on any of the "maps",so their presence is a sort of pleasant curiosity.The text is excellent,but the representation of the book as one of a map guide is misleading.If you want to see Pepy's streets of the city-you won't find them in this.
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by d.hunt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasures to delight the eye and illuminate the mind, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London: A Life in Maps (Paperback)
I love maps and I love London: what a combination!

This book is a companion to the exhibition held at the British Library in 2006-07. The book is split into four sections - London before the Great Fire, the age of elegance, the Victorian metropolis, and the shock of the new - and each section has a page or sometimes two pages devoted to particular aspects of each theme. Thus we have various maps and plans of the Tower and Westminster Abbey mixed with representations of Civil War London in the first section; and visions of Wembley and the Festival of Britain in the final section.

The result is akin to a visual version of Peter Ackroyd's biography of the city. You can dip into this marvellous publication at various points and find treasures to delight the eye and to illuminate the mind, be the maps and plans devoted to the underground, Belgravia, Wren's plans for the post-Fire city or Tudor Smithfield. Each page is concise and self-contained, but, taken as a whole, the vision is panoramic.

As one would expect from a publication by the British Library, the quality of impressive. As well as reproductions of maps and plans, there are also engravings, paintings and photographs to enliven the page. Peter Whitfield's commentary is wise and engaging. He is not afraid to comment on the brutalist tendencies of the post-war era, and his text is the perfect accompaniment to the image presented.

No quibbles? Well, there are two: firstly, although detailed catalogue references are given to the illustrated maps, some maps are surprisingly without a date (for example the map of Epping Forest on page 164). My second quibble - I want these maps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pictures not maps, 24 Dec 2011
By 
d.hunt (bude, cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London: A Life in Maps (Paperback)
Very disappointing-there is a world of difference between maps and illustrations of maps-it is not possible to discern street names on any of the "maps",so their presence is a sort of pleasant curiosity.The text is excellent,but the representation of the book as one of a map guide is misleading.If you want to see Pepy's streets of the city-you won't find them in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just up my street!, 21 April 2010
By 
H. M. Kingston "gooner" (Worksop, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London: A Life in Maps (Paperback)
I collect books about London and this was one of the best additions to my collection. The quality of the reproductions, including the quality of the paper they're on, is excellent. A plus point is that Peter Whitfield has not just included old maps of the City and the West End but has also used, to name just a few examples, maps of Whitechapel and the East End (of particular interest to me as I was born there), south London's new bridges and roads of the 19th century, and Hoxton. The last section of the book is entitled 'The Shock of the New': the Underground and the transformation of Docklands are just two examples from this section.

In addition there is informative and interesting accompanying history, traditional and social.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting but slightly annoying., 17 Jun 2008
By 
M. Horton (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London: A Life in Maps (Paperback)
I also love London and love maps, and found this book interesting and informative. However it was possibly not very well edited as on at least three occasions I came across facts that had been given a few pages before. This repetition gave the feeling of the book having been written by several different authors and was almost a collection of short essays rather than a complete piece. Given the title it seemed odd that at least half the illustrations were pictures or photographs rather than maps or plans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent text, 14 Dec 2010
By 
Skylark (Chichester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London: A Life in Maps (Paperback)
I recommend this book. The text accompanying the maps is interesting and well written. The maps are good too, but the necessary reduction to book size make a few hard to read and I would like to have seen on some an outline overlay showing where the present major roads are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short review, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: London: A Life in Maps (Paperback)
Don't be misled by the title: this book is about much more than just maps! The illustrations, consisting of old prints, paintings and drawings are enriched by well-written, informative text subdivided into helpful sections spanning the period from medieval London to our own days. This is a book to dip into for years to come. Given the quality of the production, the price is surprisingly reasonable. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars London Mapped Out, 29 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London: A Life in Maps (Paperback)
A very comprehensive book of maps covering London and its growth as a city over the centuries. It is not as good as the Times London atlas recently published, but it is a good deal cheaper. If you only want one and you can afford it go for the Times atlas - it has a wealth of information not included here, however, this is still a very good book at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: London: A Life in Maps (Paperback)
Very easy to read and learn about London through maps from the first basic and inaccurate drawings. Fascinating to see how names evolved in London and how the city expanded around the iconic buildings and landmarks we sometimes take for granted. As this is pictorial and written word I found it easier to understand distances and get a feel for the areas due to the maps. I am getting this book for my brother in law for christmas. A great present for someone who likes maps and/or London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Story Well Told, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: London: A Life in Maps (Paperback)
This may not be the definitive story of our capital told in terms of maps but it is a creditable effort nonetheless.
Whilst it does not adhere to a strictly chronological format, the reader still feels a sense of living through the growing pains and evolution of a small town, then absorbing a collection of surrounding hamlets and villages to become one of the major cities of the world.
It is an ideal book for dipping into as most of the "chapters" consist of a single page of text accompanied by a map and/or illustrations - sometimes focussing on a single community, sometimes encompassing an era or a particular industry.
I echo the thoughts of another reviewer who complains that there are too many maps which are, in effect, not fit for purpose as the content is too miniscule to be of any practical use, which a shame as so much detail is lost. In the same vein, there are two many which fall into the crease between the two pages - sometimes with just an inch appearing on the facing page.
Better, surely, to make the map bigger and split the plates leaving a clear gap, but at least showing the whole content.
That said, this book was a most enjoyable read, full of both detail and atmosphere and springing a few surprises along the way. I have a feeling I shall read it again some time - and will enjoy it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
This review is from: London: A Life in Maps (Paperback)
1st class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London: A Life in Maps
London: A Life in Maps by Peter Whitfield (Paperback - 17 Nov 2006)
£11.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews