Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendously lifelike!
The one slightly cheating thing about this CD is the title, which really would have been better in the plural because it rather gives the impression that you'd be listening to a single dawn chorus right from the beginning. If you want that experience, look out the wonderful Dawn Chorus CD by Geoff Sample. Anyway, although you don't get that in this CD, you do get five...
Published on 10 Jan. 2009 by Philip Goddard

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seems to work quite well.
I bought this CD for my wife to help her get to sleep at night,she found very relaxing.
Published 6 months ago by pete


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendously lifelike!, 10 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Dawn Chorus: A Sound Portrait of a British Woodland at Sunrise (British Library - British Library Sound Archive) (Audio CD)
The one slightly cheating thing about this CD is the title, which really would have been better in the plural because it rather gives the impression that you'd be listening to a single dawn chorus right from the beginning. If you want that experience, look out the wonderful Dawn Chorus CD by Geoff Sample. Anyway, although you don't get that in this CD, you do get five immensely beautiful, clear and lifelike dawn chorus recordings - a total of 73 minutes.

The recordings are all in southern England, and, for those who have not experienced British late spring or early summer dawn choruses, these would be quite something - that is, even more 'quite something' than they are to a dyed-in-the-wool Southern Brit like myself! The birdsong in these choruses has a sweet, musical and varied quality that is quite unlike, say, tropical birdsong, at least what I've heard of it in recordings.

I can think of no better way to bring the joy of spring into your living space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "cheep" relaxation technique... (sorry!), 17 Feb. 2010
By 
S. Coleman "pootercommuter" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn Chorus: A Sound Portrait of a British Woodland at Sunrise (British Library - British Library Sound Archive) (Audio CD)
I bought this for a couple of reasons - one was to provide some relaxing, natural background sounds whilst sitting at the dining table doing painting or creative play on miserable winter days with my two-year-old (instead of having the dreaded telly on, or loud distracting music all the time - very welcome relief!). The other reason was just because, of course, birdsong is beautiful and relaxing to listen to, and mummy simply liked the thought of having the ability to listen to it at any time of day, rather than just at dawn!

There are a lot of recordings out there of individual bird's songs (to identify indivdual calls), but I just wanted the 'nature' sound of the dawn chorus for the reasons stated above, and this one was well worth the money. This is a lovely, clear recording. You really can picture yourself there in the woods at daybreak, mist lying low on the ground, the freshness in the air... and it was obviously recorded in a very tranquil spot, so no other noises to be heard (traffic etc.) - just the birds. Truly lovely. The running time is very good - it's nice, long tracks of continuous birdsong - not short bursts like some other CDs, so played on a loop, it's a lovely background track to a relaxing afternoon (or evening, or any time!)... If I didn't have a two-year-old, I expect I would lounge on the sofa with a good book, dog at my feet, a cup of tea on the side and a whole packet of hobnobs whilst listening to this instead... either way, a fantastic way to relax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very realistic, atmospheric and.., 26 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn Chorus: A Sound Portrait of a British Woodland at Sunrise (British Library - British Library Sound Archive) (Audio CD)
this cd really does make you feel like you are in the country if you close your eyes... which I wouldn't recommend doing if you are driving. I bought this for my mum last Mothers' Day as she had been talking about how she loves the sound of birds twittering, my sister in law had a similar recording playing at her recent garden party. She loves it and plays it every day in her car on her way to and from work and she says it is very relaxing. She must be right because she always used to have slight road rage at other drivers being 'right up her arse' on the b roads to work and back and when I've seen her (or heard her car full of birdsong from a mile away - she has tinnitus so plays it much too loudly)she always seems calm and serene. Oh, mentioning the tinnitus, she tells me that it is wonderful to distract from the constant ringing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely enchanting, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Dawn Chorus: A Sound Portrait of a British Woodland at Sunrise (British Library - British Library Sound Archive) (Audio CD)
I have owned this CD for many years now and absolutely adore it.

I was born and raised in the British countryside and have very fond memories of fresh Spring mornings and long summery evenings listening to the chorus of birdsong in my local woodlands.

I don't live in the UK anymore, and this CD induces such powerful feelings of nostalgia, that it transports me home instantly, back to my beloved British woodlands.

It's a totally enchanting compilation of the most beautiful birdsong you are likely to hear -- the quality of the recordings are clean and pure and do not contain any distracting man made background noise.

It's one of my all-time favourite compilations to listen to whether I am alone in the car, working away on my computer, or simply enjoying some peace and quiet at home.

If you love British birdsong as much as I do, then you can't be without this CD... It's quite literally, worth it's weight in gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, 29 April 2010
By 
Mrs. M. E. Wood "halfamo" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dawn Chorus: A Sound Portrait of a British Woodland at Sunrise (British Library - British Library Sound Archive) (Audio CD)
So rarely get to hear the full monty these days what with traffic and aircraft noise...except when there's volcanic ash around! Guaranteed to lift your spirits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dawn Chorus., 24 Jan. 2012
By 
M. Sherrard-griffith "bookworm" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dawn Chorus: A Sound Portrait of a British Woodland at Sunrise (British Library - British Library Sound Archive) (Audio CD)
For people like me living away from Britain and still missing the British birds this is a must. I play this in the garden in the hope the neighbours will wonder "what on earth is that bird". I love this dvd and will purchase more of its kind in the future. Yes a great and must have dvd for people who love the British birds and love the dawn chorus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 30 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn Chorus: A Sound Portrait of a British Woodland at Sunrise (British Library - British Library Sound Archive) (Audio CD)
I bought this because when you are feeling a bit down this calms and destresses you majorly. It makes you feel, in this wild and unpredictable world, that all is and will be well. Very beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely way to imagine a country garden.., 2 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Dawn Chorus: A Sound Portrait of a British Woodland at Sunrise (British Library - British Library Sound Archive) (Audio CD)
This is quality recording ..not a list of bird song (like some CDs avail) but a blend' of country sounds with natural and bright clear British countryside birdsong! .. very calming too if you play it while working at other tasks, driving, or for resting in bed..or yoga etc.
A delightful thing to have..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful recording, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn Chorus: A Sound Portrait of a British Woodland at Sunrise (British Library - British Library Sound Archive) (Audio CD)
I chose this to play at the end of my mums funeral - she wanted the dawn chorus, with the blackbird. It turns out that that track was recorded in the South East - where the family comes from.
Uplifting and clear sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dawn Chorus, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn Chorus: A Sound Portrait of a British Woodland at Sunrise (British Library - British Library Sound Archive) (Audio CD)
This is a delightful compilation of dawn birdsong from different locations around Britain. Really great for relaxing, and will fill that time during winter when the birds aren't singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews