Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good audio recordings of most garden bird songs
Songs of Garden Birds covers 52 species of birds that are common in UK gardens or attracted to our gardens by bird feeders.

The quality of most of the records is excellent and many species have several different clips covering song variants such as dawn song and alarm calls.

The booklet with the CD contains notes on each species covered on the CD and...
Published on 5 July 2009 by Invicta

versus
35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
Probably my own fault but it doesn't do what I expected.
I expected a recording of bird song with a 'voice over' (or voice under?) of identification.
Instead it is a succesion of different bird song with the necessity to refer to the CD cover to identify the bird, for which you need to keep tabs of exactly where you are in the CD running order.
Published on 9 July 2009 by K. Bryan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good audio recordings of most garden bird songs, 5 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds (Audio CD)
Songs of Garden Birds covers 52 species of birds that are common in UK gardens or attracted to our gardens by bird feeders.

The quality of most of the records is excellent and many species have several different clips covering song variants such as dawn song and alarm calls.

The booklet with the CD contains notes on each species covered on the CD and their relationship to our gardens. I prefer this to narration on the CD so you can focus on listening to the bird song itself.

I bought this collection to improve the number of birds I could identify by their song. The range of calls and quantity on the CD has greatly improved the chances of me identifying a bird by its song.

The only downside of this CD is the range of species covered is a little limited, e.g. two gulls are included but only one owl.

If you want a good audio guide to most of the garden species then this is a good buy, if you are looking for help to identify a specific bird in your garden then the complete set by the same publisher would be a better bet than this garden collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DWISOTT (Does What It Says on the Tin!), 25 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds (Audio CD)
What can I say, except what the title of the review says? I would have liked the names of the birds to have been announced as part of the audio, but there we are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 9 July 2009
By 
K. Bryan "Topmax" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds (Audio CD)
Probably my own fault but it doesn't do what I expected.
I expected a recording of bird song with a 'voice over' (or voice under?) of identification.
Instead it is a succesion of different bird song with the necessity to refer to the CD cover to identify the bird, for which you need to keep tabs of exactly where you are in the CD running order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically helpful and enjoyable, 29 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds (Audio CD)
I am delighted with this CD and personally feel it is much better NOT to have a voice-over. It is very easy to follow the track listing, but if you wish you can play a guessing game and see how many birds you can identify without referring to the guide! A great way to learn! It is also pleasurable to listen to - surely the best music of all time is nature's own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Songs of Garden Birds, 22 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds (Audio CD)
Disappointing. You need to follow the text in order to figure out which bird is singing. I would have preferred the birds to be identified on the track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No nightingale?, 23 May 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds (Audio CD)
Good length of tracks for each bird, but with Tawny Owl, Canada Goose etc, (not many in my garden) why not a nightingale?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instructive, restful, uplifting, 14 Aug 2011
By 
Lost John (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds (Audio CD)
This CD is aimed at aiding identification of birds seen and heard in the garden. The total number of birds recorded is 52, and for most there is a selection of calls, such as for the blackbird where we are offered both dawn and afternoon song and two different alarm calls. The booklet included with the CD explains which are which and offers notes on the circumstances in which less obvious 'garden' birds such as the Reed Bunting, Tawny Owl or Canada Goose may be seen in or heard from a garden.

On playing the CD, my knowledge and understanding of the sounds began to expand immediately. An early delight was to discover the wing claps of the wood pigeon, a notably sharp clapping sound, as if two pieces of wood were being brought together, or perhaps a handclap. I would not previously have thought it an 'official' part of the bird's repertoire, but having discovered that it is was thrilled to hear it in the flesh, so to speak, almost straightaway.

Fifty two different birds seems a lot, but living as I do on the fringe of a country village I feel a need for samples of the cries of more owls, and of birds of prey other than just the Sparrowhawk. The cuckoo is a surprising omission. Admittedly, though, we all know its early spring call and it is not usually heard from actually within a garden.

One sound heard on the CD is not the song or cry of a bird as such, but the hammering on a tree of the Great Spotted Woodpecker. I frequently hear what seems to be the identical sound, but does that mean the (unseen) woodpecker is necessarily the Great Spotted? Perhaps that demonstrates that a CD plus booklet, valuable as they are, is not all-sufficient; I need an instructor too.

Still, it's good to have this much - a great deal in itself - and as a bonus I find it both restful and uplifting to play the CD early in the day, whilst making breakfast, providing a background of birdsong at a time of the day and times of the year when the outdoor birds are not obliging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birdsong!, 28 July 2010
This review is from: Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds (Audio CD)
Brilliant CD with true bird sounds, when played with the window open, we got a response from the garden! prompt delivery and free postage thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grreat Reference Material, 2 May 2012
This review is from: Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds (Audio CD)
I had this bought for me and the first thing I did was transfer the recording to my smartphone. After inputing the titles from the CD cover I now have a mobile compendium of birdsong. Good CD which cover the basic birds most people come across. There will always be something missing that you hoped would be on there but for those try the RSPB website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars song birds, 18 May 2009
By 
Ben Tia (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds (Audio CD)
Good service provided, excellent condition and delivery, pity there was no commentry to advise details of each bird.

LPBennett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs of Garden Birds: The Definitive Audio Guide to British Garden Birds
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews