Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casssical Guitar (absolute beginners), 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classical Guitar (Absolute Beginners) (Paperback)
A very good beginners guide to understanding the basics when buying your first guitar.
the CD is also a tremendous aid and will help the student understand the basic sounds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great First Book, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classical Guitar (Absolute Beginners) (Paperback)
This is a great book for absolute beginners, beginners, and as an introduction to classical guitar playing. It's also useful to have a CD of the exercises, the demo and backing music, so you can have a go, when you are ready, as to how it should sound. Scarborough Fair seems to be my favourite piece! I have moved on to a more advanced book, but keep going back to this one for more practice, at sight reading and making a better sound. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic, clear, useful, 11 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classical Guitar (Absolute Beginners) (Paperback)
This is a good basic introduction, with clear instructions and a useful tuning cd inside the cover. It won't take you very far, but it's an excellent place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A guitar book that should be a Classic., 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classical Guitar (Absolute Beginners) (Paperback)
Having come back to the guitar after giving up for a while, this proved to be a refreshing new approach to
teaching the instrument. I once took a postal course (that dates me a bit!), which though very thorough was
plodding and old-fashioned. This is lively, largely pictorial, with the text brisk and informative. The illustrations
are especially helpful in exactly pinpointing each section, from reading music up to playing tunes in which I felt
I was making real progress. The best part is the way each of the six strings is dealt with, incorporating simple
pieces like La Paloma and Romanza as exercises. I recommend this for anyone who wants a fresh, modern
approach to the classical guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good place to start, 27 July 2009
By 
Mark Welsh "mark" (West Dunbartonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classical Guitar (Absolute Beginners) (Paperback)
This book is a good place to start for classical guitar beginners. I would only look at tabed music, but this books gets you to learn notation and fill in the tabs yourself. the cd is an excellent tool to let you hear what the piece should sound like so you begin to understand the tempo. i think there a few prnting erors wthin the book so again as you go you can spot these in the tab or notation. overall this has been a good starting point with some nice easy pieces to get into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good as a `starter`, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classical Guitar (Absolute Beginners) (Paperback)
A good intro` for the beginner. Doesn`t `snow you under` with `over your head ` stuff. Gives you the basics required to make a start with confidence. It won`t take you far but it really is ideal to get a beginner up and running. I like it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world, 12 Sep 2003
This review is from: Classical Guitar (Absolute Beginners) (Paperback)
been through the whole book and can play everytune with the excellent cd. As an ex-student of the author i'm a bit biased. BUT this book has it all because it starts off by eplaining in laments terms the whole world of guitar and explains things like standard notation, alog the the highly credited tab lay out. Rather than practising boring old scales, you play a basic tune, as the number of string you learn increase,so do the tunes. Building up to some wonderful masterpiece solos. definetly a must buy tution book, i'm waitng for the launch of his next progreesision book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classical Guitar (Absolute Beginners)
Classical Guitar (Absolute Beginners) by Gerald Goodwin (Paperback - 1 April 2003)
£7.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews