Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot S.), 29 May 2003
This review is from: 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot) (Paperback)
THIS SERIES ABSOLUTELY ROCKS! The perfect thing to get young/begginer-intermediate saxers enthusiastic! id say i was grade 2ish when i started, but the difficulty varies up to maybe a 3 or 3 1/2.
its a special 2 cd compilation. Twenty jazz standards for sax in melody line arrangements with backing tracks. it has full performance versions of all the songs on one disc, and the sax bit is then blanked out from the other disc so you can play along with the band. IT REALLY DOES FEEL LIKE YOU'RE PLAYING IN A PROPER BAND, but of course you can pause/rewind whenever you like, and dont need the confidence to play with others...
songs on it are:
besame mucho
FEVER
fly me to the moon
FLYING HOME
god bless the child
harlem nocturne
HIT THE ROAD JACK
i wish i knew how it would feel to be free
i'm gettin' sentimental over you
is you is or is you ain't my baby?
JUMP, JIVE AND WAIL
li'l darlin'
mas que nada
perdido
PERHAPS, perhaps, perhaps
satin doll
straight no chaser
SWAY(quien sera)
take the 'a' train
the girl from ipanema
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Duplicates from Latin Book, 21 Nov. 2010
By 
Susie Parkinson (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot) (Paperback)
I agree with the other reviewer, but just wanted to point out that quite a few of the tracks also appear in other Guest Spot books.
i.e. girl from ipanema, Besame Mucho, Mas Que Nada, Sway, Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps, are all in the Latin Guest Spot Book.
So it's not such good value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 Jazz Greats, 10 Dec. 2011
This review is from: 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot) (Paperback)
I'm self taught, and have been playing Alto Sax for nearly 2 years. I think this book is great, There are some slow, and relatively easy songs; others are a bit more difficult, so gives me something to work up to. I bought this book on the strength of other reviews, and I'm not disappointed. Thanks to the reviewer who pointed out that tracks are duplicated in other books in the series. This is a big mistake by the publishers, as it will limit the amount of their books I will buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good music, poor spine, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot) (Paperback)
Good points: good selection of music. 2 CDs, one with solo instrument, one just backing track.
Bad points: spine is glued, consequently book tends not to stay open on the selected page. Need pegs. Also tracks are not numbered (minor point).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion "The Best value and content on offer. More to come hopefully!, 19 Aug. 2014
This review is from: 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot) (Paperback)
I have looked for, and tried, many Playalong books and have mainly been disappointed, however in my opinion this edition is the best value on offer. The backing tracks are really well done and one has the feeling of playing along with a live Big Band, especially tracks such as Harlem Nocturne, I Wish I Knew How it Would Feel to be Free, and Perdido which are exceptionally good. I am a retired professional Saxophonist and teacher and find this publication inspirational for pupils. Also when/if recorded for home use only, the result can be crticised and also give encouragement, or otherwise, for would be saxophonists. I only wish there were more publications of this standard and variety of content. My sincere thanks to the publishers, arrangers and tasteful playable jazz soloists! I only wish all similar publications would include ALL titles of pieces arranged.
OC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with fab songs and CD, 5 Oct. 2013
By 
Mrs. A Hughes "ilovetopaint" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot) (Paperback)
I have been learning the saxophone for six months and tried a few other books in this range and find having the CD helps to keep rhythm. This book has some really great songs and the backing CD enhances the overall sound. I am finding them more advanced and quite fast. But love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of Classic tunes., 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot) (Paperback)
Lovely collection of Jazz tunes to listen to and play along with. Great to have the CDs, I actually listen to the complete tracks as a music CD as well as using it as a backing track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good present!, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot) (Paperback)
Recipient of the present seemed to like it though I was disappointed that the book had become bent in the post. Packaging needs to be a bit better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 20 Jazz Greats, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot) (Paperback)
The music is a great range & the discs that accompany it are very good to play along with. I like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot) (Paperback)
Great Xmas gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

20 Jazz Greats: Playalong for Alto Saxophone (Guest Spot)
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews