Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn a classic quickly and easily!
This book is perfect for people who really want to learn classic songs on guitar that aren't too hard to play. It's also for those who don't want to rely on dodgy net tabs and chords. This book helps by being set out clearly with the lyrics and most songs fit on 1-2 pages, so you don't have to stop and turn the page! It includes a playing guide, full lyrics and chord...
Published on 25 Mar. 2002

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Intermediate
As a total beginner I wouldnt recommend this book. There is only one page of tips at the back and I was hoping for some step by step instructions for the total beginnner. On the plus side, there are some really good songs in the book. If you want easy play Knocking on Heavens Door, think there are only 4 chords in it. My boyfriend thought i was a real pro. Now need to...
Published on 10 Sept. 2001 by nowtie@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Intermediate, 10 Sept. 2001
As a total beginner I wouldnt recommend this book. There is only one page of tips at the back and I was hoping for some step by step instructions for the total beginnner. On the plus side, there are some really good songs in the book. If you want easy play Knocking on Heavens Door, think there are only 4 chords in it. My boyfriend thought i was a real pro. Now need to buy a Capo as a lot of the songs require use of a capo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn a classic quickly and easily!, 25 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This book is perfect for people who really want to learn classic songs on guitar that aren't too hard to play. It's also for those who don't want to rely on dodgy net tabs and chords. This book helps by being set out clearly with the lyrics and most songs fit on 1-2 pages, so you don't have to stop and turn the page! It includes a playing guide, full lyrics and chord boxes illustrating new chords and other interesting ways of playing simple chords. This book is packed with old classics from legends such as THE BEATLES, BOB DYLAN, VAN MORRISON, THE EAGLES, JAMES TAYLOR and many more! In all, 80 classics from the 60s and 70s, arranged in the original keys from the artist's recordings, perfect for beginners and more advanced players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little Deja-vu...?, 19 Mar. 2004
This review is from: The Big Acoustic Guitar Chord Songbook: Platinum Edition (Paperback)
I like these books, I really do, they easy to read, but a challange to play, and contain some good songs. Then you get another book in the 'Acoustic Guitar Songbook series', and realise some of the songs have been repeated. I have four of the books (Big, Platinum, Great, Greatest), and was a little disappointed to find that I had paid for quite a number of songs twice. Still, aside from this, I can't fault the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but some obscure chords, 19 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
The book is a good chord book but some of the chords are a little obscure and take a bit of learning. Having said that, there are some easy songs in there as well. Possibly suffers from trying to cater for everyone but overall a decent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing..., 9 July 2008
By 
Mr. James D. Tarran (Leeds, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Acoustic Guitar Chord Songbook: Platinum Edition (Paperback)
I bought the first Big Acoustic Guitar Chord Songbook a few years ago, it was good value and had plenty of well known tunes with only a few fillers. However, this Platinum edition has far too many rare and barely known songs for my liking. Out of the 80 tunes I reckon about 20 are well known classics, so its hardly great value for money..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Basic Chord Book, 8 Feb. 2005
By 
Craig Murray "jambocraig" (Telford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Acoustic Guitar Chord Songbook: Platinum Edition (Paperback)
This is a good buy for anyone that is in the beginner to intermediate reange of guitarist. There is nothing too demanding here and it is the simply lyric and chord layout (with handy chord boxes at the top of each song. For a bit of fun and a sing along, this series of books cannot be faulted. I do agree that there is a little duplication if you happen to buy every book in the series, but I can live with that!
As I say, for beginner to intermediate, if you fancy a strum, buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best I've bought so far!!, 26 May 2002
This review is from: The Big Acoustic Guitar Chord Songbook: Platinum Edition (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. Easy tunes to play from David Gray to Travis to Crowded House to the Stereophonics to Paul Weller etc. The list of top bands and tunes are endless. Up to date and class. I haven't been able to put it down since I bought it last week, and I'm driving everyone mad!!This is a must for any budding guitarist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good but..., 6 April 2002
By A Customer
A good selection of songs with a range of easy to hard(ish) chords to play. However there is no music in this book so if you don't know the melody you are stuck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is this the right book for you?, 1 Feb. 2008
By 
MaxC (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Use Amazon's 'Search Inside' feature to check the content; quite a good selection of classic pop numbers, 80's pop and reggae here. Some other books in the Big Acoustic series repeat these numbers, but my view is that you can't please everybody; if you wanted exactly the content to suit you, you'd need to buy your music one-by-one, and that would cost a great deal more than these books.
Then use the same 'Search Inside' feature to check out a music page; look - no score. Also, the suggested chords are very basic. For example, Paul Simon's "The Boxer" starts with an intricate bit of guitar picking over several bars; these bars are represented in the book by one basic, simple C chord. This could be good, or it could be bad, depending upon what you want to do.
If you just want to sing and strum along to the radio, then the absence of the staves makes things clearer. If you want to do your own interpretation of a number, the bare bones information given here is also good.
But if you don't know the number very well, or want to reproduce it note for note, then you need the score. Sorry folks, there isn't one.
Some spelling errors are annoying, but I can live with that. My conclusion; good value for money, but you need to already know and have an ear for the piece you're trying to play.
p.s. This may seem a nit-picking point but it may matter to you; because of the way the book is bound, you need a music stand to hold it open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the big acoustic guitar chord songbook, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Acoustic Guitar Chord Songbook: Platinum Edition (Paperback)
deffo not for an novis lot of the chord changes are very hard and a third of the songs you have 2 tune your guitar down also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Acoustic Guitar Chord Songbook: Platinum Edition
The Big Acoustic Guitar Chord Songbook: Platinum Edition by VARIOUS (Paperback - 26 Mar. 2001)
£10.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews