Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive insight into the school boy band that spawned t, 25 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The "Quarrymen" (Paperback)
A thoroughly absorbing read. Whether you are a Beatles fan or not this book certainly entertains.
It is not just the story of six school boys , or five people who knew someone famous , it is a story of something we have all had - innocent childhood dreams.
I enjoyed it as a young Beatles fan not only for the fab four memories but more importantly for the appreciative testament it gives as to what growing up in the 1940's and 1950's must have been like , something i can only imagine.
The Quarrymen probably were the most famous band that never was - they never had a recording contract or it seems a concrete line-up for more than a few weeks.Yet they little knowingly helped paved the way in changing popular music.If the Quarrymen never were who knows if those amazing songs may have been written or what , if anything at all may have happened.
It's main strength has to be that it is by no means the tales of any one individual either. The entire story of the band is captured by either John , Rod , Len , Pete , Eric or Colin.
These are events which happened over 40 years ago , can you remember what you were doing this time last week ?! Yet were one member has forgotten , another has remembered.
I also liked each individual characters storys as to what happened to them in the 40 or so in-between years.
The one thing i perhaps didnt like is that during this period the book focussed more on Pete Shotton. Although he had the most exciting times as John's best friend and at one time head of Apple Records , he did not neccasarily deserve that much space. I wanted to hear more about Rod's travelling or some more details of Len's New Zealand emigration , things which were only briefly skimmed over. Then again there is a lot of important information which has been crammed into such a small book.
For the Beatles fans there is little known or previously vaguely explained stories , some controversial stuff (mainly from Pete) , plenty of facts and figures in a seperate section and a list of other notewothy resources.
The most interesting thing with regards to pictures has to be a recently found second photo of the now infamous Rosebery Street gig , previously unpublished.All of the known Quarrymen photos appear in the same place for once ! What may have been nice which was lacking though was photos of the locations as they are today , as this is something that Beatles fans should see - Rosebery Street in particularas it has changed so much.
It is nice to hear all about Woolton (where they all lived) as the middle-class suburb it really was. The Beatles were not all poor scousers and this is something i think is often foolishly overlooked.
Another thing i would like to have read is accounts (perhaps in a seperate section so as to not to distract completley from the main five guys) of other influentials of that period. We hear of Nigel Whalley who helped set up gigs and was an occasional member , piano player on the record John Duff Lowe for example. All of these people may have had the odd intersting bite to add to the Original Quarrymens story. After all so much happened in such a short space of time and so many band changes happened along the way.
Perhaps most interesting for non-Beatles fans is of the band being almost re-born after laying dormant for all that time. It is interesting to note there re-actions as to actually gaining a slice of the fame they had dreamed of as teenagers 40 years before. For some it is not as good as it is cracked up to be , others have enjoyed it enormously. But to an extent they have all enjoyed meeting up again after 40 years to share their stories and re-visit their youth - who wouldnt ??
It is a testament that the re-formed band is entirely original , as so many bands of those times feature perhaps two original members if that!
Another pleasing factor in the read is that each character has been identified - The leader and the most musically ambitous one as John , the studious and assertive true jazz/folk music one as Rod , the humorous one as Colin , the quiet one as Eric , the speak your mind , prankster one as Pete and the other one as Len.
Lets face it , if you are not a Beatles fan you probably havent even heard of the Quarrymen , but their story as Liverpool teenagers in the 1950's and 60 year old globetrotting gents , as told in this unique first time account is a pure joy to read.
I hope you like it as much as i do !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The band that never was!!!, 2 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The "Quarrymen" (Paperback)
Hunter Davies' 'The Quarrymen' is a success on two counts. Firstly it gives us something new on the Beatles, instead of dishing out the same story, told over a million times. No Hamburg, no Decca rejection, no Amercican conquest, Sgt. Pepper, drugs, Brian's death, Maharishi,Yoko Ono. Secondly it tells us about an unknown (or should I say lesser known) facet of the Beatles life - but actually so integral to their growth and development.
Hunter Davies succeeds in portraying a true picture of Britain in the 50s and how the social fabric of the country helped shape the destiny of 4 young men, who would in turn would shape the 60s. And actually hearing their tale from Len, Pete and other mates of the Beatles who were mates in the true sense and not just sycophants hanging in with the Fabs, makes it all more believable and fresh.
The Quarrymen is a story about friendship, values, bonds and above all life. And thats where it succeeds. More than the Beatles it shows us life in a different view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quarrymen, 12 Aug. 2010
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Quarrymen" (Paperback)
What an enjoyable book this is and such a shame it is now out of print! Having done the original biography of The Beatles (the first Beatles biography which I read in fact) Hunter Davies turns his attention to the original members of the Quarrymen, John Lennon's first band. Pete Shotton, Len Garry (both who have written books of their own), Rod Davis, Eric Griffiths and Colin Hanton. Some members of the band were successful, some had regrets and others got on with their life and forgot about it. Then, when the Cavern re-opened, the members of the band met again and re-formed for a gig. Later they even toured, played at Beatles conventions and released CD's. I have seen them live and they are great fun and, for Beatles fans, it is extremely interesting to see them play. It is interesting to see the different importance each member put on the Beatles influence in their life. Only Pete Shotton really had contact with the Beatles once they became famous and I feel that Len Garry (who had the unfortunate experience of contracting an illness and finding the band had moved on in his absence) really regretted not being part of the band. However, this is a must read for Beatles fans and a good book for anyone interested in music history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read, 13 Jun. 2010
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The "Quarrymen" (Paperback)
This is a very enjoyable read, tell me anything by Hunter Davies that isn't.

As you must know it is the story of The Quarrymen, John Lennon's first band, the skiffle group that gradually morphed into The Beatles over the course of a few years in the late 1950's. It is also the story of the lives of the former members as they dropped out of or were sacked. It follows their lives in detail and perhaps this is due to the skill of Hunter Davies but what interesting lives they have led. That said, it must be admitted that there is a certain amount of padding here and there to balance out the space given to the various subjects but in fact the book does not really suffer for all that.

I was very surprised to discover that this very enjoyable book is in fact now out of print. I would advise all Beatle fans or anyone who enjoys a well written and well researched book to do as I did and track down a copy right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beatles wish fulfilled!, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Quarrymen" (Paperback)
As a Beatles fan, I had wanted to own a copy of this for some time. I read it a few years ago (from the library) and looked into buying it then but the price was extortionate!!
I was thrilled when I saw it on Amazon from one of their sellers, and the price was right . It is in very good condition, appears to be signed by the author, Hunter Davies and has fulfilled one of my Beatle wishes (there are MANY!!)
Hunter Davies wrote the first official biography of the Beatles and is a very entertaining and knowledgeable author. He details the formative years of John Lennon, Paul McCartney & George Harrison very well and is a fascinating insight into the development of the Quarrymen and beyond! A wonderful book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From Skiffle to Rock 'n' Roll, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Quarrymen" (Paperback)
Very enjoyable read about the forerunners of the Beatles. Sadly since the book was first published Eric Griffiths has passed away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "Quarrymen"
The "Quarrymen" by Hunter Davies (Paperback - 2 July 2001)
Used & New from: £3.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews